text-only page produced automatically by Usablenet Assistive Skip all navigation and go to page content Skip top navigation and go to directorate navigation Skip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
design element
Search Awards
Recent Awards
Presidential and Honorary Awards
About Awards
Grant Policy Manual
Grant General Conditions
Cooperative Agreement Conditions
Special Conditions
Federal Demonstration Partnership
Policy Office Website

Award Abstract #1228325

MRI: Acquisition of an Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) Spectrometer for Research and Education in Chemistry and Physics

Division Of Chemistry
divider line
Initial Amendment Date: August 30, 2012
divider line
Latest Amendment Date: August 30, 2012
divider line
Award Number: 1228325
divider line
Award Instrument: Standard Grant
divider line
Program Manager: Robert Kuczkowski
CHE Division Of Chemistry
MPS Direct For Mathematical & Physical Scien
divider line
Start Date: September 1, 2012
divider line
End Date: August 31, 2015 (Estimated)
divider line
Awarded Amount to Date: $225,035.00
divider line
Investigator(s): Luis Echegoyen echegoyen@utep.edu (Principal Investigator)
Dino Villagran (Co-Principal Investigator)
Juan Noveron (Co-Principal Investigator)
Cristian Botez (Co-Principal Investigator)
Michael Eastman (Co-Principal Investigator)
divider line
Sponsor: University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso, TX 79968-0001 (915)747-5680
divider line
divider line
Program Reference Code(s): 100E, 1108, 1189, 1948
divider line
Program Element Code(s): 1189


With this award from the Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) program, Professor Luis Echegoyen from the University of Texas El Paso and colleagues Juan Noveron, Michael Eastman, Cristian Botez and Dino Villagran will acquire an electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) spectrometer. The proposal is aimed at enhancing research training and education at all levels, especially in areas such as (a) synthesis of and sampling the highest occupied and the lowest unoccupied molecular orbitals (HOMO and LUMO) of endohedral metallofullerenes (EMFs) and their derivatives; (b) parallel proton-coupled electron transfer (PCET) with dimolybdenum bimetallic units; (c) understanding the electronic structure of Ru2(5+) dimers; (d) coordination chemistry of paramagnetic centers in metal-organic supramolecular nanomaterials; (e) cyanide polymers; and (f) magnetic behavior of metal oxide nanoparticle ensembles.

EPR spectrometers detect electrons, more specifically, the energy necessary to excite an electron to a higher quantized energy state. This occurs when the spectrometer provides the energy necessary to flip the spin of an unpaired electron in the presence of an applied magnetic field. This information provides insight into the electronic structure and bonding of the material being studied, which can be utilized to understand its properties and how it might be used or improved. This spectrometer will provide faculty and research students with modern instrumentation not currently available at the institution advancing their research projects significantly. It will be used in an undergraduate laboratory course providing training in this analytical technique to large numbers of Hispanic-American students at an institution with a 78% undergraduate student body of Hispanic origin.


Note:  When clicking on a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) number, you will be taken to an external site maintained by the publisher. Some full text articles may not yet be available without a charge during the embargo (administrative interval).

Some links on this page may take you to non-federal websites. Their policies may differ from this site.

Chiarella, Gina; Cotton, F. Albert; Murillo, Carlos; Ventura, Karen; Villagrán, Dino; Wang,. "Manipulating Magnetism: Naked Ru25+ Paddlewheels Devoid of Axial Interactions," J. Am. Chem. Soc., v.136, 2014, p. 9580. 

Chiarella, Gina; Cotton, F. Albert; Murillo, Carlos; Ventura, Karen; Villagrán, Dino; Wang, Xiaoping. "Manipulating Magnetism: Naked Ru25+ Paddlewheels Devoid of Axial Interactions," J. Am. Chem. Soc, v.136, 2014, p. 9580. 

Ventura, Karen; Veleta, Jose M.; Metta-Magaña, Alejandro; Villagrán, Dino. "Stabilization of a W26+ Bimetallic Complex Supported by Two N,N?,N?? Triphenylguanidinate Ligands," Inorg. Chim. Acta., v.424, 2015, p. 286. 

Alexey A. Popov, Anastasia D. Pykhova, Ilya N. Ioffe, Fang-Fang Li, and Luis Echegoyen. "Anion Radicals of Isomeric [5,6] and [6,6] Benzoadducts of Sc3N@C80: Remarkable Differences in Endohedral Cluster Spin Density and Dynamics," J. Am. Chem. Soc., v.136, 2014, p. 13436. 


Please report errors in award information by writing to: awardsearch@nsf.gov.



Print this page
Back to Top of page
Research.gov  |  USA.gov  |  National Science Board  |  Recovery Act  |  Budget and Performance  |  Annual Financial Report
Web Policies and Important Links  |  Privacy  |  FOIA  |  NO FEAR Act  |  Inspector General  |  Webmaster Contact  |  Site Map
National Science Foundation Logo
The National Science Foundation, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-5111, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
  Text Only Version