Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Department of Defense (DoD)

Through its Awards to Stimulate and Support Undergraduate Research Experiences (ASSURE) Program, the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) supports undergraduate research in DoD-relevant disciplines. For this purpose, since FY2003, DoD has contributed several million dollars per year (through an interagency agreement with NSF) to support particular REU Sites that focus on research relevant to DoD's interests. The Sites below, though managed by NSF, are supported by funds from DoD's ASSURE program. Most of these REU-ASSURE Sites are jointly funded by NSF and DoD; a few are entirely funded by DoD. (Each of these Sites is also listed in the "Search for an REU Site" directory of the NSF research unit/discipline that manages the REU-ASSURE Site award.)

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.coord@nsf.gov.


Search Again

34 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dept of Astronomy/Dept of Physics
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Dr. Eric Hooper
608-262-1249
reu@astro.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, space physics, space science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Old Dominion University
REU Site: Accelerator and Nuclear Physics
Physics
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Stephen Bueltmann
(757) 683-6401
sbueltma@odu.edu
Secondary: Hari Areti
(757) 269-7187
areti@jlab.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Accelerator and Nuclear Physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Clemson University
REU Site: Data-Intensive Computing
School of Computing
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Brian Dean
(864) 656-5866
bcdean@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: high-performance computing, big data, parallel and distributed computing, data management and analytics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Carnegie Mellon University
Robotics and Intelligent Systems Scholars
Robotics Institute
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rachel Burcin
(412) 268-4272
rburcin@andrew.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial intelligence, aerial robotics, autonomous navigation, field robotics, human-robot interaction, machine learning, manipulation, medical robotics, mobile robots, motion planning, multi-agent
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Oregon
Primary: Itchung Cheung
Itchung.Cheung@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Kaplan Yalcin
(541) 737-1230
YalcinK@science.orgeonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, ocean ecology and biogeochemistry, marine geology, physical oceanography and geophysics, atmospheric science, paleoclimatology, environmental geochemistry
Comments: This site has two locations; one at HMSC on the Oregon Coast in Newport and another on the main OSU campus in Corvallis. Application deadline: February 15, 2016. Program dates: June 13 - August 19,
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Dr. Richard Irving, Jr.
(419) 530-2589
rirving@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Professor Thomas Kvale
(419) 530-2980
thomas.kvale@utoledo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics (AMO), Condensed Matter, Photovoltaics, Material Science, Astronomy/Astrophysics, medical/health/biological physics and Plasma Physics
Comments: Ethics component
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Christiana Gooden
919-660-1506
casmm-reu@chem.duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rochester
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at Rochester
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rochester, New York
Primary: Connie Jones
(585) 275-5306
connie@pas.rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics Optics including: particle, nuclear, cosmic ray physics, optics, quantum optics, condensed matter, biological, plasma, astrophysics and geophysics.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
College of Staten Island (City University of New York)
REU Site: In Computational Methods in High Performance Computing with Applications to Computer Science
Computer Science
Staten Island, New York
Primary: Louis Petingi
(718) 982-2844
louis.petingi@csi.cuny.edu
Secondary: Xiaowen Zhang
(718) 982-3262
xiaowen.zhang@csi.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network reliability,Cryptography, and network security,Wireless ad-hoc, and sensor networks, Large-scale and complex system modeling and simulation, Image processing.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
(848) 445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Rutgers University
Research Internships in Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Primary: Gary Taghon
taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Lillian Lee
(732) 932-6555
rios@marine.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, oceanography, ecology, fish biology, geophysics, remote sensing, microbiology, geochemistry
Comments: The deadline for applications is March 1, 2016. Program Dates: June 1 to August 5, 2016.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish S. Nair
573-882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573)882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Kathryn Hollar
(617) 496-7479
hollar@seas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nano- and microstructures for biology and medicine; microfluidic devices; self-assembled structures
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Thomas D. Gilmore
617-353-2020
gilmore@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; Genes: Environment; Genomics; Molecular Biology; Environmental Studies; Evolution
Comments: Tina Fresta, urop@bu.edu, 617-353-2020
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
SAO Summer Intern Program
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Coordinator, SAO Intern Program
617-496-7996
intern@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, solar physics, planetary science, instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
University of Northern Iowa
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Hyperspectral Imaging (IDREHSI)
GeoInformatics Training, Research, Education, and Extension Center
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Primary: Dr. Bingqing Liang
(319) 273-3609
bingqing.liang@uni.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hyperspectral Imaging and Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Biology, Forestry, Physics,Chemistry, Computer Science, Geographic Information Science (GISc).
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
34 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page