text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Department of Defense (DoD)

Through its Awards to Stimulate and Support Undergraduate Research Experiences (ASSURE) Program, the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) supports undergraduate research in DoD-relevant disciplines. For this purpose, since FY2003, DoD has contributed several million dollars per year (through an interagency agreement with NSF) to support particular REU Sites that focus on research relevant to DoD's interests. The Sites below, though managed by NSF, are supported by funds from DoD's ASSURE program. Most of these REU-ASSURE Sites are jointly funded by NSF and DoD; a few are entirely funded by DoD. (Each of these Sites is also listed in the "Search for an REU Site" directory of the NSF research unit/discipline that manages the REU-ASSURE Site award.)

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.coord@nsf.gov.

42 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish S. Nair
573-882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573)882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Eugene Fiorini
732-445-0075
gfiorini@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
732-445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Rutgers University
Research Internships in Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Primary: Gary Taghon
taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Lillian Lee
732-932-6555 x5
rios@marine.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, oceanography, ecology, fish biology, geophysics, remote sensing, microbiology, geochemistry
Comments: The deadline for applications is March 1, 2015.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rochester
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at Rochester
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rochester, New York
Primary: Connie Jones
(585) 275-5306
connie@pas.rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics Optics including: particle, nuclear, cosmic ray physics, optics, quantum optics, condensed matter, biological, plasma, astrophysics and geophysics.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
College of Staten Island (City University of New York)
REU Site: In Computational Methods in High Performance Computing with Applications to Computer Science
Computer Science
Staten Island, New York
Primary: Louis Petingi
(718) 982-2844
louis.petingi@csi.cuny.edu
Secondary: Xiaowen Zhang
(718) 982-3262
xiaowen.zhang@csi.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network reliability,Cryptography, and network security,Wireless ad-hoc, and sensor networks, Large-scale and complex system modeling and simulation, Image processing.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Elizabeth City State University
REU Site: Arctic and Antarctic Project (AaA-REU) with Research Experience for Teachers (RET) Component
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Primary: Linda Hayden
(252) 335-3617
haydenl@mindspring.com
Secondary: Darryl Monteau
(785) 864-7797
reu@cresis.ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Polar, Glacier, Glaciology, Ice Sheets, Cyberinfrastructure, Remote Sensing, Geophysics
Comments: (785) 864-7797
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Polar Programs
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Christiana Gooden
919-660-1506
casmm-reu@chem.duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Tom Schmedake
704-687-4011
tschmeda@uncc.edu
Secondary: Banita Brown
704-687-4843
bbrown@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Dr. Richard Irving, Jr.
419-530-2589
rirving@utnet,utoledo.edu
Secondary: Professor Thomas Kvale
419-530-2980
tkvale@utnet.utoledo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics (AMO), Condensed Matter, Photovoltaics, Material Science, Astronomy/Astrophysics, medical/health/biological physics and Plasma Physics
Comments: Ethics component
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Primary: Professor Martin K. Ligare
570 577-1213
physreu@bucknell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics and Astronomy
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Carnegie Mellon University
Robotics and Intelligent Systems Scholars
Robotics Institute
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rachel Burcin
(412) 268-4272
rburcin@andrew.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial intelligence, aerial robotics, autonomous navigation, field robotics, human-robot interaction, machine learning, manipulation, medical robotics, mobile robots, motion planning, multi-agent
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rhode Island
Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships in Oceanography (SURFO)
Graduate School of Oceanography
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Primary: Ms. Kim Carey
401-874-6627
kcarey@gso.uri.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathleen Donohue
401-874-6615
kdonohue@gso.uri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine science, oceanography, biology, chemistry, physics, geology, coastal studies, ecology, geophysics, chemical oceanography, marine studies
Comments: To receive full consideration for the SURFO program all application materials should be received by February 21st. We will continue to process and review application materials received after the deadl
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Timothy Hanks
864-294-3373
Tim.Hanks@FURMAN.EDU
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Professor Keivan Stassun
615-322-2828
keivan.stassun@vanderbilt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics and Astronomy
Comments: International travel component
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Texas - Austin
Extensible Undergraduate Research Experience in Communications Applications (EURECA)
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Sriram Vishwanath
(512) 471-1190
sriram@ece.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless networking, communications, signal processing, image and video processing, control systems
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Texas Tech University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Cybersecurity, Robotics, and Software Engineering
Jointly hosted between Industrial Engineering and Computer Science City
Lubbock, Texas
Primary: Susan D. Urban
(806) 742-3543
susan.urban@ttu.edu
Secondary: Joseph Urban
(806) 742-3543
joseph.urban@ttu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: software specification for cybersecurity,secure software engineering,high-performance and cloud computing,data-intensive computing,image and pattern processing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Old Dominion University
REU Site: Accelerator and Nuclear Physics
Physics
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Stephen Bueltmann
757-683-6401
sbueltma@odu.edu
Secondary: Hari Areti
757-269-7187
areti@jlab.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Accelerator and Nuclear Physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Janet Branchaw
608-262-1182
branchaw@wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, genes, genetic, genomics, cell, molecular, plant
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
42 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page