text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.

151 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Elizabeth Losos
919-684-5774
elizabeth.losos@tropicalstudies.org
Secondary: Jonathan Giles
919-684-6188
jonathan.giles@tropicalstudies.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, tropical biology, ecology, conservation biology
Comments: REU particpation is restricted to sophomores and juniors from groups underrepresented in the sciences and from non-R1 research universities. Please contact OTS for additional information.
Abstract of Award
Eastern Kentucky University
REU Site: Disturbance Ecology in Central Appalachia
Department of Biological Sciences
Richmond, Kentucky
Primary: David Brown
(859) 622-2283
david.brown@eku.edu
Secondary: Stephen Richter
(859) 622-8688
stephen.richter@eku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, disturbance, restoration, conservation
Abstract of Award
Field Museum of Natural History
REU Site: Evolution of Biodiversity across the Tree of Life
Department of Science and Education
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Corrie Moreau
(312) 665-7743
cmoreau@fieldmuseum.org
Secondary: Thorsten Lumbsch
(312) 665-7881
tlumbsch@fieldmuseum.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, genomics, genetics, microbes, systematics, phylogenetics, paleontology, morphology, conservation biology
Abstract of Award
Florida A&M University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Program in Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformtics
Department of Biological Sciences
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Virginia A. Gottschalk
850-561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Secondary: Ramesh Katam
850-559-3134
ramesh.katam@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Biotechnology, Bioinformatics, Genomics, Proteomics
Comments: Lekan Latinwo, Ph.D. 850-599-3907 lekan.latinwo@famu.edu
Abstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research at the Intersection of Biology and Mathematics
Biological Sciences and Mathematical Sciences
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: David Carroll
321-674-7133
dcarroll@fit.edu
Secondary: Munevver Subasi
321-674-7486
msubasi@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Evolution, Cell and Molecular Biology, Data Mining, Applied Statistics, Stochastic Processes, Biomathematics, Mathematical modeling, Developmental Biology
Comments: Contact Info: David Carroll, (321) 674-7133, dcarroll@fit.edu or Munevver Subasi (321) 674-7486, msubasi@fit.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Fordham University
REU Site: Calder Summer Undergraduate Research (CSUR) Program in Conservation and Urban Ecology
Louis Calder Center  Biological Field Station
Armonk, New York
Primary: John D Wehr
914-273-3078, ext. 11
wehr@fordham.edu
Secondary: James D Lewis
914-273-3078 ex
jdlewis@fordham.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: field biology, urban ecology, conservation, environmental science, ecosystem biology
Comments: Contact: Alissa Perrone; REUatCalder@fordham.edu; 914-273-3078 ext. 27
Abstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew B Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Muskegon, Michigan
Primary: James McNair
616-331-3987
mcnairja@gvsu.edu
Secondary: Kevin Strychar
616-331-8796
strychak@gvsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, aquatic microbial ecology, carbon biogeochemistry, nutrient cycling, lake/stream metabolism, algal ecology, physiological/genetic determinants of animal behavior, crayfish behavior, ecologica
Abstract of Award
Harvard University/Harvard Medical School
REU Site: Cell and Molecular Biology and Genetics
Division of Medical Sciences
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Sheila Thomas
617-432-4980
sthomas@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cell biology, Molecular Biology,Genetics, Biochemistry, Omics, Stem Cells, Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Chemical Biology, Pathogens
Comments: Ms. KeyAnna Schmiedl; Contact information: shurp@hms.harvard.edu
Abstract of Award
Petersham, Massachusetts
Primary: Aaron Ellison
978-724-3302
aellison@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, NEON
Comments: For general information and questions about the program, please email hfapps@fas.harvard.edu.
Abstract of Award
Toppenish, Washington
Primary: Nina Barcenas
509-865-0430
Barcenas_n@heritage.edu
Secondary: Kazuhiro Sonoda
509-865-8584
Sonoda_k@heritage.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Microbiology, plant pathology, plant evolution, DNA barcoding, molecular ecology, fisheries biology
Comments: Coordinator/contact Nina Barcenas.
Abstract of Award
Arcata, California
Primary: Matthew Johnson
(707) 826-3218
mdj6@humboldt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, natural resources, fisheries, wildlife, forestry, ecology, conservation, water
Abstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura M. Hurley
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: CISAB
(812) 855-9663
cisab@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, animal behavior, psychology, anthropology, genetics, neuroscience
Comments: Point of contact: CISAB (812) 855-9663 cisab@indiana.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Millbrook, New York
Primary: Alan Berkowitz
(845) 677-7600
berkowitza@caryinstitute.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, plant, soils
Comments: Please send inquiries to: caryreu@caryinstitute.org
Abstract of Award
Bar Harbor, Maine
Primary: Robert E.Braun
207-288-6841
bob.braun@jax.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Functional Genomics
Comments: Contact Lisa John, Training Coordinator, (207) 288-6924, summerstudents@jax.org
Abstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Hai-Quan Mao
(410) 516-8792
hmao@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanobiotechnology, biotechnology, nanoparticles, nanotechnology, biology, biophysics, bioengineering, engineering, chemical engineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Visualization of Macromolecules in Biological Research
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
410-516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410)-516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: developmental biology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, imaging, electron microscopy, fluorescence, NMR, microscopy,
Comments: Program Coordinator: Jessica Kastner, jess.kastner@jhu.edu; Program Administrator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Kansas State University
REU Site: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology of Changing Environments: Integrating from Genomes to Biomes
Biology, Konza Praire Research Station, Ecological Genomics Institute
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Theodore Morgan
785-532-6126
biologyreu@ksu.edu
Secondary: Bruce Snyder
785-532-2430
biologyreu@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Ecology, Evolution, Genomics, Changing Environments, Grassland
Comments: Main contact is Dr. Snyder. Program email is biologyreu@ksu.edu
Abstract of Award
Union, New Jersey
Primary: Daniela Shebitz
908-737-3360
dshebitz@kean.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: tropical ecology; microbial ecology; tropical botany; medicinal plants; tropical zoology; restoration ecology; nutrient chemistry
Abstract of Award
Kent State University, Holden Arboretum
REU Site: Terrestrial-aquatic linkages in urban impacted ecosystems
Biological Sciences
Kent, Ohio
Primary: Mark Kershner
330-672-3713
mkershne@kent.edu
Secondary: Kurt Smemo
(440) 602-8011
ksmemo@holdenarb.org
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, behavior, terrestrial, aquatic, urban, insect, plant, soil
Abstract of Award
151 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page