Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Earth Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.ear@nsf.gov.


Search Again

22 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Dr. Lily Claiborne
(615) 343-4515
lily.claiborne@vanderbilt.edu
Secondary: Dr. Nicholas Lang
(814) 824-2585
nlang@mercyhurst.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geology, Igneous Petrology, Magmatic Processes, Volcanology
Comments: This REU site is in collaboration with Mercyhurst University in Erie, Pennsylvania.
Abstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Robert de Groot
213-821-6340
degroot@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Information Technology, Earth Sciences, earthquakes, visualization methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Northern Iowa
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Hyperspectral Imaging (IDREHSI)
GeoInformatics Training, Research, Education, and Extension Center
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Primary: Dr. Bingqing Liang
(319) 273-3609
bingqing.liang@uni.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hyperspectral Imaging and Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Biology, Forestry, Physics,Chemistry, Computer Science, Geographic Information Science (GISc).
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Durham, New Hampshire
Primary: Dr. Ruth K. Varner
(603) 862-0853
neru@sr.unh.edu
Secondary: Erik Froburg
(603) 862-0297
neru@sr.unh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth Systems science, including Earth sciences, atmospheric science, oceanography and ecosystem studies
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Kansas City, Missouri
Primary: Dr. Tina M. Niemi
(816) 235-5342
niemit@umkc.edu
Secondary: Dr. Cathy Busby
(805) 893-4068
cathy.busby@ucsb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Tectonics, Sedimentology, Volcanology, Petrology, Geochemistry, Geochronology, Quaternary Geology
Comments: This REU site is in collaboration with the University of California - Santa Barbara
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Research Experience for Undergraduates Site on Sustainable Land and Water Resources
St. Anthony Falls Laboratory
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Dr. Diana Dalbotten
(612) 624-4608
dalbo001@umn.edu
Secondary: Dr. Antony Berthelote
(406) 250-5382
antony_berthelote@skc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Civil Engineering, Geology, Environmental Engineering, Hydrology, Sedimentation, Coastal Restoration, River Restoration, Ecology
Abstract of Award
Morris, Minnesota
Primary: Dr. James F.P. Cotter
(320) 589-6312
cotterjf@morris.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geology, Glacial Geology and Paleozoic Sedimentology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Claudia Grant
(352) 514-2690
cgrant@flmnh.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: paleontology, geology; biodiversity, evolution, climate change
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Colorado Boulder
REU Site: Research Experience for Community College Students (RECCS) in Critical Zone Science
Cooperative Institute of Research in Environmental Science (CIRES)
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Dr. Lesley Smith
(303) 735-1750
Lesley.Smith@colorado.edu
Secondary: Dr. Anne Gold
(303) 735-5514
anne.u.gold@colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Critical Zone Science
Abstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Dr. Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
(520) 621-8220
mzuckerman@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth system science, environmental science, ecology, hydrology, geosciences, soil science,
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
UNAVCO
LeAding Undergraduates in Challenges to Power Academic Development in Geosciences
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Dr. Aisha R. Morris
(303) 381-7488
morris@unavco.org
Secondary: Dr. Donna Charlevoix
(303) 381-7483
donnac@unavco.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Geosciences, community college students
Abstract of Award
Rutgers University Newark
REU Site: Dynamic Urban Environmental Systems and Sustainability in Newark, NJ
Dept. of Earth & Environmental Sciences
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Alexander Gates
(973) 353-5034
agates@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Sciences: Earth Sciences, Ecology, Environmental Geophysics, Soils, Environmental Geochemistry/BioGeochemistry
Abstract of Award
Pomona College
Keck Geology Consortium
Geology Department
California
Primary: Dr. Robert J. Varga
(330) 465-7184
bob.varga@pomona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: paleontology,structural geology,stratigraphy,petrology,geoch emistry,tectonics,hydrology,geophysi cs
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Dr. Maureen Feineman
(814) 863-7400
mdf12@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geophysics & Geochemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Pennsylvania State University
Critical Zone Observatory REU/RET Site
Earth and Environmental Systems Institute
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Dr. Timothy S. White
(814) 865-2213
tsw113@psu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Susan E Gill
(610) 268-2153
sgill@stroudcenter.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth Sciences, environmental sciences, biology, teachers
Comments: This REU site is in collaboration with Stroud Water Research Center.
Abstract of Award
Oklahoma State University
REU Site: Evaluating the Effectiveness of Stream Restoration Projects Based
Biosystems and Ag Engineering
STILLWATER, Oklahoma
Primary: Dr. Garey Fox
(405) 744-8423
garey.fox@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hydrological Sciences, Biological Sciences, Engineering
Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Basic and Environmental Soil Science Training (BESST)
Soil Science
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Josh Heitman
(919) 513-1593
jlheitman@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geosciences and Soil Science
Abstract of Award
National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
202-633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geology, Biology, and Anthropology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Primary: Dr. Mark J. Abolins
(615) 594-4210
Mark.Abolins@mtsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth Science, Environmental Science, Geology, Biology, and Chemistry, Pre-service teachers
Abstract of Award
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology
Undergraduate Summer Research in Seismology
Primary: Michael Hubenthal
607-777-4612
hubenth@iris.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Seismology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
22 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page