text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual sites for application information and materials. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have specific eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed) for applicants in addition to those described here. Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees generally are not eligible.

Click on the name of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site.

Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution's state.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.sbe@nsf.gov.

20 items found, displaying all items.
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: John Rogan
508-793-7562
jrogan@clarku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geography, Human-Environment Interactions, Urban Planning, Remote Sensing, Species Distribution Modeling, GIS/Spatial Statistics
Abstract of Award
CUNY Baruch College
Engagement in the Basic and Applied Science of Psychology: Research Experience for Undergraduates at Baruch College
Department of Psychology/Weissman School of Arts and Sciences
New York, New York
Primary: Mindy Engle-Friedman
(646) 312-3815
Mindy.Engle-Friedman@baruch.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Social Psychology,Developmental Psychology, Clinical/Sleep Psychology, Environmental Psychology, Industrial/Organizational Psychology and Measurement
Abstract of Award
Brooklyn, New York
Primary: Laura A. Rabin
718-951-5601
lrabin@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Clinical, Cognitive, and Behavioral Neuroscience
Abstract of Award
Athienou, Cyprus, North Carolina
Primary: Michael K. Toumazou
704-894-2281
mitoumazou@davidson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Archaeology, Physical Anthropology, Geophysics, Chemistry, Classical Studies, Art
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Timothy Hawthorne
404-413-5771
thawthorne@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geography, Community Geography, Participatory GIS, Urban Geography, Geology, Public Health
Abstract of Award
Indiana University
REU Site in Animal Behavior
Department of Biology
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura M. Hurley,
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: CISAB
(812) 855-9663
cisab@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, animal behavior, psychology, anthropology, genetics, neuroscience
Comments: Point of contact: CISAB (812) 855-9663 cisab@indiana.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
DeKalb, Illinois
Primary: David Changnon
815-753-6835
dchangnon@niu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environment and Energy, Economy and Ethics
Abstract of Award
Suitland, Maryland
Primary: Christine France
301-238-1261
francec@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Museum Technical Studies, Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Syracuse University
Undergraduate Trauma Research Training Program
David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics
Syracuse, New York
Primary: Brooks B. Gump
(315) 443-2208
bbgump@syr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: trauma research
Abstract of Award
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Matthew Durington
410-704-5256
mdurington@towson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Anthropology
Abstract of Award
Birmingham & Fiji, Alabama
Primary: Sharyn Jones
205-975-6524
sharynj@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Anthropology, Archaeology, Historical Ecology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Michigan
Research Topics/Keywords: Social Science research
Abstract of Award
Reno, Nevada
Primary: Michael Collopy
mcollopy@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change, water resources, water quality, socioeconomic research, environmental research, watersheds
Abstract of Award
University of Northern Iowa
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Hyperspectral Imaging (IDREHSI)
GeoInformatics Training, Research, Education, and Extension Center
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Primary: Bingqing Liang
(319) 273  3609
bingqing.liang@uni.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hyperspectral Imaging and Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Biology, Forestry, Physics,Chemistry, Computer Science, Geographic Information Science (GISc).
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Prof. Umesh Garg
574-631-7352
garg@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Astronomy, Astrophysics, Biophysics, Cosmology, Condensed Matter Physics, High-Energy Physics, Network Science, Nuclear Physics and Physics education.
Comments: Ethics Component and large RET component. Co-funded with the Division of Social and Economic Sciences.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Douglas Wedell
803-777-4258
wedell@sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Behavioral Neuroscience, Cognitive and Developmental Neuroscience, Cognitive Science
Abstract of Award
Monteverde, Costa Rica, Florida
Primary: Nancy Romero-Daza
813-974-1205
daza@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Medical Anthropology, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Public Health
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), International Science and Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: David Kirk
dkirk@prc.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Race,Ethnicity,Crime,Punishment
Abstract of Award
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Primary: Nels Paulson
lakes@uwstout.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Water, Phosphorus, Sustainability, Sociology, Economics, Microbiology, Geology, Anthropology, Mathematics, Communications
Abstract of Award
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Diana Ridgwell
540-231-8577
dridgwel@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Behavioral Sciences, Computer Science, Communication, Psychology, Human Development, Sociology, Women's & Gender Studies, Africana Studies
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
20 items found, displaying all items.

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page