National Science Foundation     |     Directorate for Engineering  (ENG)
Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, & Transport Systems  (CBET)  
Additional Program Information - 1406  
Program Director - Sumanta Acharya
Recent Research
Example Areas
of Research
Nuggets and
Research Images
and Workshops
Program Director
Sumanta Acharya Photo  
Image Credit:  Bob Gage, CBET
Sumanta Acharya holds the L. R. Daniel professorship and the Fritz & Francis Blumer professorship in the department of Mechanical Engineering at Louisiana State University (LSU).  He is the founding director of the Center for Turbine Innovation and Energy Research (TIER) which focuses on energy generation and propulsion research. He is currently at National Science Foundation (NSF) as the Program Director of the Thermal Transport Program.

Professor Acharya is a PhD from the University of Minnesota (PhD) following which he joined the faculty of mechanical engineering at LSU.  During his career at LSU, Prof. Acharya has developed a multifaceted research program in heat transfer with a focci on gas turbine heat transfer and computational heat transfer.  His scholarly contributions include mentoring nearly 80 graduate students, nearly 165 refereed journal articles, 10 edited chapters and over 210 refereed conference/proceedings papers.  Prof. Acharya’s research has been continuously supported by the federal funding agencies and industries with nearly 25 million dollars of funded research during his LSU career, and includes major efforts in the area of gas turbine heat transfer (internal and external cooling), combustion (dynamics, and performance improvements), computational fluid dynamics (advanced methods and algorithms; turbulence modeling) and fundamental heat transfer (natural and mixed convection; conjugate effects).
Professor Acharya has been selected for the best teacher award by the students on three different occasions during his tenure at LSU.  He has been recognized by LSU via the Distinguished Research Masters Award, the LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award, and the LSU Distinguished Faculty Award.  His work has been recognized through best paper awards including one from the ASME HTD Gas Turbine Division in 2006.  He is an ASME Fellow, and previous Associate Editor of ASME Journal of Heat Transfer and ASME Journal of Energy Resources Technology.  He was recently awarded the 2011 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the Science category.


Top of Page

Return to 1406 Synopsis Page

This page was Updated on 26 September 2012.