Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Small Business Innovation Research Program Phase I Solicitation FY-2012  (SBIR)

This program has been archived.
CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Prakash  Balan pbalan@nsf.gov (703) 292-5341   
Juan  E. Figueroa jfiguero@nsf.gov (703) 292-7054   
Glenn  H. Larsen glarsen@nsf.gov (703) 292-4607   
Muralidharan  S. Nair mnair@nsf.gov (703) 292-7059   
Benaiah  Schrag bschrag@nsf.gov (703) 292-8323   
Ruth  M. Shuman rshuman@nsf.gov (703) 292-2160   
Anthony  Walters awalters@nsf.gov (703) 292-8772   
Grace  J. Wang jiwang@nsf.gov (703) 292-2214   

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  11-577

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

DUE DATES



Archived


SYNOPSIS

The Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Program stimulates technological innovation in the private sector by strengthening the role of small business concerns in meeting Federal research and development needs, increasing the commercial application of federally supported research results, and fostering and encouraging participation by socially and economically disadvantaged and women-owned small businesses.

The SBIR program solicits proposals from the small business sector consistent with NSF's mission. The program is governed by Public Law 112-17. A main purpose of the legislation is to stimulate technological innovation and increase private sector commercialization. The NSF SBIR program is therefore in a unique position to meet both the goals of NSF and the purpose of the SBIR legislation by transforming scientific discovery into both social and economic benefit, and by emphasizing private sector commercialization. Accordingly, NSF has formulated broad solicitation topics for SBIR that conform to the high-technology investment sector's interests.

The four broad topics are:

For detailed description of the four topics reference section V. Proposal Preparation and Submission Instructions, A.10. Research Topic.

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program