Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Focused Research Groups in the Mathematical Sciences  (FRGMS)

CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Tomek  Bartoszynski tbartosz@nsf.gov (703) 292-4885  1025 N  
Eugene  C. Gartland egartlan@nsf.gov (703) 292-2279  1025 N  
Timothy  Hodges thodges@nsf.gov (703) 292-2113  1025 N  
Leland  M. Jameson ljameson@nsf.gov (703) 292-4883  1025 N  
Swatee  Naik snaik@nsf.gov (703) 292-4876  1025 N  
Christopher  W. Stark cstark@nsf.gov (703) 292-4869  1025 N  
Gabor  Szekely gszekely@nsf.gov (703) 292-8869  1025 N  
Frederi  G. Viens fviens@nsf.gov (703) 292-2858  1025 N  

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  16-577

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  September 27, 2016


SYNOPSIS

The purpose of the Focused Research Group activity is to support collaborative groups employing innovative methods to solve specific, major research challenges in the mathematical sciences. A major challenge is an outstanding problem of significant importance that requires the focused and synergistic efforts of a collaborative group to solve, and whose solution will have wide impacts in the mathematical sciences and potentially in other areas. Groups may include, in addition to statisticians and mathematicians, researchers from other science and engineering disciplines appropriate for the proposed research. Risky projects are welcome. Interdisciplinary projects are welcome. Projects should be timely, limited in duration to up to three years, and substantial in their scope and impact for the mathematical sciences. Funded projects that show substantial progress in their first two years may be recommended for a creativity extension for up to an additional two years.


RELATED URLS

Research Training Groups

REVISIONS AND UPDATES

THIS PROGRAM IS PART OF


What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program