text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation HomeNational Science Foundation - Directorate for Geological Sciences (GEO)
Polar Programs (PLR)
design element
PLR Home
About PLR
Funding Opportunities
Career Opportunities
PLR Budget
Contact POLAR
Polar Programs site map
See Additional PLR Resources
View PLR Staff
GEO Organizations
Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS)
Earth Sciences (EAR)
Ocean Sciences (OCE)
Polar Programs (PLR)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional PLR Resources
Antarctic Sciences (ANT)
Antarctic Infrastructure and Logistics (AIL)
Arctic Sciences (ARC)
Polar Environment, Safety and Health (PESH)
PLR Subcommittee to the GEO Advisory Committee
Polar Program-supported workshops
Related Polar Links
Polar Publications list
POLAR webmaster
Guidelines and Award Conditions for Scientific Data

OPP Office Advisory Committee


November 6-7, 2000 • Room 1235

Monday, November 6, 2000
Time Topic OAC Lead NSF/OPP Staff
8:30 Chair's Remarks and Director's Remarks Mary Albert Karl Erb
divider line
9:00 NSF Revised Strategic Plan   Maryellen Cameron
divider line

Arctic Update

  • Science Highlights and Plans

  • Science Support Infrastructure and Logistics: Long-range Planning


Jody Deming

Patricia Cochran


Thomas Pyle
divider line
10:00 Break    
divider line

Antarctic Update

  • Science Highlights and Plans

  • Logistics and Science Support


John Carlstrom

Michael Prentice


Dennis Peacock

Erick Chiang
divider line
11:15 COV Report Amanda Lynch Altie Metcalf
Maryellen Camero
divider line
12:00 Lunch    
divider line
1:00 Biocomplexity and the Environment Initiative Stephanie Pfirman Margaret Cavanaugh, O/D
Polly Penhale
divider line
2:00 (Reinvestment Initiative in Science and Engineering) Mary Albert All
divider line
3:00 Break   Neil Swanberg
divider line
3:15 Education and Outreach Douglas MacAyeal OPP Task Force
divider line
3:45 Annual Report (GPRA) — preliminary Amanda Lynch Altie Metcalf
divider line
4:30 Meet with Deputy Director Mary Albert Joseph Bordogna, O/D
divider line
5:30 Adjourn    

Tuesday, November 7, 2000
Time Topic OAC Lead NSF/OPP Staff
8:30 Annual Report (GPRA) (continued) Amanda Lynch  
divider line
9:30 Report on OPP Instrumentation Program   Dennis Peacock
Simon Stephenson
divider line
10:00 Break    
divider line
10:15 Meet with Director of Office of Legislative and Public Affairs   Curt Suplee
divider line

Specific Issues Raised by COV

  • Grant Size/Duration

  • Bipolar Opportunities — per COV

  • Implementing Review — Criterion #2
John Priscu


Karl Erb

Karl Erb

Karl Erb
divider line
11:30 Math Initiative John Carlstrom Robert A. Eisenstein,
divider line
12:00 Lunch    
divider line
1:00 Scientific Misconduct: IG Working Groups on Implementation of Policy Julius Jackson Christine C. Boesz, OIG
divider line
1:30 FastLane Mary Albert Craig R.Robinson
divider line
2:00 GPRA Wrap-up Mary Albert Altie Metcalf
divider line
2:30 Other Business    
divider line
2:45 Remarks by Outgoing OAC Members    
divider line
3:00 Adjourn    

See Notice for this meeting.

Polar Programs Advisory Committee Pages
Advisory Committee Home Page Advisory Committee Charter
divider line
Advisory Committee Members Advisory Committee Documents
divider line
Advisory Committee Meetings Committee of Visitors Documents
divider line
Advisory Committee Meeting Materials Polar Programs-supported Workshops

Office of Polar Programs SITE MAP!


Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page