text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation HomeNational Science Foundation - Directorate for Geological Sciences (GEO)
Polar Programs (PLR)
design element
PLR Home
About PLR
Funding Opportunities
Career Opportunities
PLR Budget
Contact POLAR
Polar Programs site map
See Additional PLR Resources
View PLR Staff
GEO Organizations
Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS)
Earth Sciences (EAR)
Ocean Sciences (OCE)
Polar Programs (PLR)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional PLR Resources
Antarctic Sciences (ANT)
Antarctic Infrastructure and Logistics (AIL)
Arctic Sciences (ARC)
Polar Environment, Safety and Health (PESH)
PLR Subcommittee to the GEO Advisory Committee
Polar Program-supported workshops
Related Polar Links
Polar Publications list
POLAR webmaster
Guidelines and Award Conditions for Scientific Data

OPP Office Advisory Committee


November 9 – 10, 2009 • Stafford I — Room 1235


divider line
Time Topic OAC  Lead NSF/Other Lead
divider line
8:30 Introduction and Approval of Minutes Andrea Lloyd  
divider line
8:45 OPP Director’s Report Andrea Lloyd Karl Erb
divider line
9:15 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act Grants Andrea Lloyd Karl Erb
divider line
9:30 Arctic Science Drivers Marika Holland Simon Stephenson
divider line
10:00 Break    
divider line

Antarctic Science Drivers

Kevin Speer Scott Borg
divider line
11:00 Update on OPP's Polar Environment, Health & Safety Office Activities Andrea Lloyd Mike Van Woert
divider line
11:30 Strategic Planning Goals/Motivation Andrea Lloyd Karl Erb
divider line
12:00 Lunch    
divider line

Committee of Visitors Reports


  • Antarctic Sciences
Terry Wilson
Scott Borg
  • Antarctic Infrastructure & Logistics/Polar Environment, Health & Safety
Mark Engebretson
Brian Stone
Mike Van Woert
divider line
2:30 Break    
divider line

Committee of Visitors Reports

  • Arctic Sciences


Ben Fitzhugh


Simon Stephenson

divider line
4:00 OAC Comments on COVs Andrea Lloyd  
divider line
4:30 USAP and International Antarctic Programs: Cooperative Logistics & Infrastructure John Kovac Brian Stone
divider line
5:00 Communication and Transportation Challenges   Brian Stone
Simon Stephenson
divider line
5:30 Other Business Andrea Lloyd  
divider line


divider line
Time Topic OAC Lead NSF/Other Lead
divider line

Strategic Planning:

  • Defining OPP's Scope
  • Level of Detail
  • Key Categories
Eric Saltzman Karl Erb
divider line
10:00 Break    
divider line
10:30 Integration of Research and Education Bernice Joseph Martin Jeffries
Lisa CLough
divider line

Response to AC Letter

  • Data
  • Carbon Footprint Benchmarking
  • Logistics Group
Andrea Lloyd Karl Erb
divider line
11:15 Strategic Plan: Next Steps Gretchen Hofmann Karl Erb
divider line
11:45 Preparation for Lunch with NSF Director Andrea Lloyd  
divider line
12:00 Lunch with the NSF Director    
divider line
1:00 Defining High-Risk/High-Reward Research Criteria Marigold Linton

Scott Borg
Simon Stephenson

divider line
1:30 Other Business    
divider line
2:00 Wrap-up & Adjourn    
divider line
divider line

Last updated: 11/04/2009
Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page