Skip to Content

FUNDING > EMERGING FRONTIERS AND...

Emerging Frontiers and Multidisciplinary Activities

Dimitris Pavlidis
dpavlidi@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2216

Sohi Rastegar
srastega@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8305

Garie Fordyce
gfordyce@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4603

Bruce M. Kramer
bkramer@nsf.gov, (703) 292-5348

Charles Ying
cying@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8428

Rosemarie Wesson
rwesson@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7070

Keith Roper
kroper@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8769

Timothy Patten
tpatten@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7196

Rajesh Mehta
rmehta@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2174

William Olbricht
wolbrich@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2563

The following Program Officers may also be contacted for content specific questions on the EFRI 2014 topic:

  • Dimitris Pavlidis, (Topic Coordinator), NSF/ENG/ECCS, telephone: (703) 292-2216, email:  dpavlidi@nsf.gov

  • Bruce M Kramer, Program Director, NSF/ENG/CMMI, telephone: (703) 292-5348, email: bkramer@nsf.gov 

  • Charles Ying, Program Director, NSF/MPS/DMR, telephone: (703) 292-8428, email: cying@nsf.gov 

  • Timothy Patten, Program Director, NSF/MPS/CHE, telephone: (703) 292-7196, email: ltolbert@nsf.gov

  • Keith Roper, Program Director, ENG/EEC, telephone: (703) 292-8769, email: mailto:ltolbert@nsf.gov

  • Rajesh Mehta, Program Director, NSF/ENG/IIP, telephone: (703) 292-2174, email: rmehta@nsf.gov

  • William Olbricht, Program Director, NSF/ENG/CBET, telephone: (703) 292-2563, email: wolbrich@nsf.gov

AFOSR CONTACTS:

  • Kenneth C. Goretta Program Officer, USAF/AFOSR/GHz-THz Electronics, (703) 696-7349, email: kenneth.goretta@us.af.mil 
  • Joycelyn Harrison, Program Officer, USAF/AFOSR/Low Density Materials, (703) 696-6225, email: joycelyn.harrison@us.af.mil
  • Misoon Y. Mah, Director, USAF/AFOSR/Asian Office of Aerospace Research & Development, +81 (3) 6385-3282, email: misoon.mah@us.af.mil
  • Gernot Pomrenke, Program Officer, USAF/AFOSR/Optoelectronics and Photonics, (703) 696-8426, email: gernot.pomrenke@us.af.mil

Solicitation 15-502

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 15-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after December 26, 2014. The PAPPG is consistent with, and, implements the new Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance) (2 CFR 200). Please be advised that the guidelines contained in NSF 15-1 apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

The Directorate for Engineering at the National Science Foundation has established the Office of Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation (EFRI) to serve a critical role in focusing on important emerging areas in a timely manner. This solicitation is a funding opportunity for interdisciplinary teams of researchers to embark on rapidly advancing frontiers of fundamental engineering research.  For this solicitation, we will consider proposals that aim to investigate emerging frontiers in the following research area:

Two-Dimensional Atomic-layer Research and Engineering (2-DARE)

This solicitation is coordinated with the Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences within NSF.  Additionally, interest within other Federal agencies, specifically Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), may lead to an interagency effort.   Submitted proposals may be shared with interested representatives from AFOSR.

EFRI seeks proposals with transformative ideas that represent an opportunity for a significant shift in fundamental engineering knowledge with a strong potential for long term impact on national needs or a grand challenge.  The proposals must also meet the detailed requirements delineated in this solicitation.

Additional Funding Opportunities for the MCB Community
Cross Division/Directorate Funding Opportunities
Emerging Frontiers and Multidisciplinary Activites 2015 - Office Information

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

News

Discoveries

Funding Home