Skip to Content

FUNDING > Dear Colleague Letter:...

Division of Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems

This program has been archived.

Cheryl F. Albus
calbus@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7051

George Antos
gantos@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4997

Rathindra DasGupta
rdasgupt@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8353

Pradeep Fulay
pfulay@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8339

Deborah J. Jackson
djackson@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7499

Barbara H. Kenny
bkenny@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4667

Bruce M. Kramer
bkramer@nsf.gov, (703) 292-5348

George Maracas
gmaracas@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8339

Mary Toney
mtoney@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7008

Rosemarie D. Wesson
rwesson@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7070

PD 10-044

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Archived

See the Dear Colleague Letter, NSF 10-044, announcing this opportunity at http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2010/nsf10044/nsf10044.jsp

The goal of fundamental research in science and engineering is the discovery of new knowledge.  At the same time, there is an expectation that some of these discoveries will lay the foundation for new innovations that may eventually be used to develop new products and processes.  However, for a discovery to be successfully translated into a new product or process and attract the sponsorship of or additional support from the commercial/government practitioner communities, the champions of the technology must be able to identify and communicate a development plan linking the concepts at the fundamental level with feasible application scenarios.  Often this means additional research in the form of prototyping, proof of concept tests and/or scale-up or implementation.   To facilitate this objective, the TRAC program provides targeted resources to researchers aimed at translating fundamental research into commercial applications.  Existing NSF GOALI grantees whose research results have commercial potential can compete for support to help position their technology for translation. Funds will be provided for product or process definition, design, and testing.   

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Funding Home