Skip to Content

FUNDING > National Robotics...

Jeff Trinkle
jtrinkle@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8327

Jack Snoeyink
jsnoeyin@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8910

Hector Munoz-Avila
hmunoz@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8930

Ralph Wachter
rwachter@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8950

Jie Yang
jyang@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4768

Ephraim P. Glinert
eglinert@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8930

David L. Haury
dhaury@nsf.gov, (703) 292-5102

Alexander Leonessa
aleoness@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2678

Tatiana Korelsky
tkorelsk@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8930

Jordan M. Berg
jberg@nsf.gov, (703) 292-5365

Frederick M. Kronz
fkronz@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7283

Radhakishan Baheti
rbaheti@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8339

 

National Institutes of Health

Grace C.Y. Peng, Ph. D.
Program Director
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
National Institutes of Health
6707 Democracy Blvd, Suite 200 
Bethesda, MD 20892-7510

Electronic Mail: grace.peng@nih.gov
Office: 301-451-4778
Fax: 301-480-1614

 

United States Department of Agriculture

Daniel Schmoldt, Ph.D.
National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Waterfront Centre, Ste. 3328
800 9th Street SW
Washington DC 20024

Electronic mail: dschmoldt@nifa.usda.gov
Telephone: 202-720-4807

 

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Dr. Robert O. Ambrose
2101 NASA Parkway
Mail Code ER1
NASA Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX 77058

Electronic mail: robert.o.ambrose@nasa.gov
Telephone: 281-244-5561

 

Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency

Dr. Reza Ganadan
DARPA/Defense Sciences Office
675 N. Randolph Street
Arlington, VA 22203

Electronic mail: reza.ganadan@darpa.mil
Telephone: (703) 526-2850

 

Air Force Office of Scientific Research

Dr. Benjamin A. Knott
Air Force Office of Scientific Research
Program Officer - Trust and Influence
875 N. Randolph Street
Arlington, VA 22203

Electronic mail: benjamin.knott.2@us.af.mil

Telephone: (703) 696-1142

 

Department of Energy, Office of Environmental Management

Rodrigo V. Rimando, Jr.
U.S. Department of Energy, Headquarters
1000 Independence Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20585

Electronic mail: rodrigo.rimando@em.doe.gov
Telephone: (240) 676-6470

 

Solicitation 16-517

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  January 12, 2017

Second Thursday in January, Annually Thereafter

 

The goal of the National Robotics Initiative is to accelerate the development and use of robots in the United States that work beside or cooperatively with people. Innovative robotics research and applications emphasizing the realization of such co-robots working in symbiotic relationships with human partners is supported by multiple agencies of the federal government including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD). The purpose of this program is to support the development of this next generation of robotics, to advance the capability and usability of such systems and artifacts, and to encourage existing and new communities to focus on innovative application areas. It will address the entire lifecycle from fundamental research and development to manufacturing and deployment. Questions concerning a particular project's focus, direction and relevance to a participating funding organization should be addressed to that agency’s point of contact listed in section VIII of this solicitation.

Methods for the establishment and infusion of robotics in educational curricula and research to gain a better understanding of the long-term social, behavioral and economic implications of co-robots across all areas of human activity are important parts of this initiative. Collaboration between academic, industry, non-profit and other organizations is strongly encouraged to establish better linkages between fundamental science and technology development, deployment and use.

Only one class of proposals will be considered in response to this solicitation; there will not be separate competitions for small, medium, and large proposals. Please refer to section III of this solicitation for budget size information.

 

NSF Announcement of 2013 NRI Awards
NIH Announcement of 2013 NRI Awards
USDA Announcement of 2013 NRI Awards
NSF Announcement of 2012 NRI Awards
NIH Announcement of 2012 NRI Awards
NASA Announcement of 2012 NRI Awards
White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Blog Post on 2012 NRI Award Announcement
NRI webinar for Solicitation NSF 11-553 (Sept 13, 2011)

Additional Funding Opportunities for the IIS Community

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

News

Discoveries

Funding Home