Skip to Content

FUNDING > Presidential Awards for...

Division of Human Resource Development

Nafeesa Owens, (703) 292-5120
Room 815

Martha L. James, 703-292-7772
Room 815

Shanelle Clay, 703-292-5389
Room 815

Jim Colby, 703-292-53331
Room 885

Nicole Godwin, 703-292-8378
Room 815

YeVonda N. McIlwaine, (703) 292-7022
Room 815

Alfred W. Wilson, (703) 292-4835
Room 815

Solicitation 15-551

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 15-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after December 26, 2014. The PAPPG is consistent with, and, implements the new Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance) (2 CFR 200). Please be advised that the guidelines contained in NSF 15-1 apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Full Proposal Window:  March 6, 2015 - June 19, 2015

Call for Nomination Open Period

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  June 19, 2015

Nomination Deadline

Complete nominations must be submitted in FastLane or before the deadline of Friday, June 19, 2015. 

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM) is a Presidential award established by the White House in 1995.  The PAESMEM program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).

Nominations, including self-nominations, are invited for "Individual" and "Organizational" PAESMEM awards.  Individuals and organizations in all public and private sectors are eligible including industry, academia, K-12, military and government, non-profit organizations, and foundations.  Nominations are encouraged from all geographical regions in the U.S. including its territories and particularly jurisdictions designated by Congress under NSF's Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR).  NSF EPSCoR-designated jurisdictions are:  Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Each "Individual" or "Organizational" PAESMEM awardee will receive a $10,000 award and a commemorative Presidential certificate.  Awardees are also invited to participate in an award recognition ceremony in Washington, DC which includes meetings with STEM educators, researchers and policy leaders.  Up to 16 awards may be made from the nominations received on or before June 19, 2015.

PAESMEM awardees serve as leaders in the national effort to develop fully the nation's human resources in STEM.  To locate PAESMEM awardees in your state, please visit

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)



Funding Home