Skip to Content

FUNDING > Antarctic Research

Division of Polar Programs

Vladimir Papitashvili
vpapita@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7425

Sonya Lyatsky
slyatsky@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4706

Thomas Wilch
twilch@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7956

Julie M. Palais
jpalais@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7419

Paul Cutler
pcutler@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4961
Room 785 S

Peter Milne
pmilne@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4714

Christian Fritsen
cfritsen@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7437

Michael E. Jackson
mejackso@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7120

Elizabeth L. Rom
elrom@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7709

Jessie L. Crain
jlcrain@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7457

Timothy M. McGovern
tmcgover@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4248
Room 755S

Solicitation 16-541

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  April 17, 2017

April 15, Annually Thereafter

Scientific research, along with operational support of that research, is the principal activity of the U.S. Antarctic Program in Antarctica. The National Science Foundation's Antarctic Sciences Section (ANT), Division of Polar Programs (PLR), fosters research on globally and regionally important scientific problems. In particular, the Antarctic Sciences Section supports research that expands fundamental knowledge of the region as well as research that relies on the unique characteristics of the Antarctic continent as a platform from which to support research.

Antarctic fieldwork will be supported for research that can only be performed or is best performed in Antarctica. The Antarctic Sciences Section strongly encourages research using existing samples, models, and data as well as research at the intersection between disciplines.

Antarctic Astrophysics and Geospace Sciences
Antarctic Earth Sciences Program
Antarctic Glaciology Program
Antarctic Integrated System Science
Antarctic Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
Antarctic Organisms and Ecosystems

USAP Information for Proposers on USAP.gov
USAP Proposal Preparation Information
Polar Ice
U.S. Antarctic Program portal
U.S. Antarctic Program Participant Guide
Grantee Deployment Packets and Information
OPP Guidelines and Award Conditions for Scientific Data
U.S. Antarctic Program Data Coordination Center

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

News

Funding Home