Skip to Content

FUNDING > NSF/DOE Partnership in...

Division of Physics

Steven J. Gitomer
sgitomer@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2183
Room 1015 N

John Gillaspy
jgillasp@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7173
Room 1015 N

Therese Moretto Jorgensen
tjorgens@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8518
Room 775 S

Vyacheslav (Slava) Lukin
vlukin@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7382
Room 1015 N

Ann Orel
aorel@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2163
Room 1015 N

Nigel A. Sharp
nsharp@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4905
Room 1045 S

Ruey-Hung Chen
ruchen@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8695
Room 565 S

Ilia I. Roussev
iroussev@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8519
Room 775 S

Sean Finnegan
sean.finnegan@science.doe.gov, (301) 903-4920

Nirmol Podder
Nirmol.Podder@science.doe.gov, (301) 903-9536

Department of Energy Contacts:

Sean Finnegan, Program Manager, Fusion Energy Sciences, DOE/SC/FES, telephone: (301) 903-4920, email: sean.finnegan@science.doe.gov

Nirmol  Podder, Program Manager, Fusion Energy Sciences, DOE/SC/FES, telephone: (301) 903-9536, email: nirmol.podder@science.doe.gov

Solicitation 13-596

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 15-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after December 26, 2014. The PAPPG is consistent with, and, implements the new Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance) (2 CFR 200). Please be advised that the guidelines contained in NSF 15-1 apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Full Proposal Target Date:  October 2, 2015

First Friday in October, Annually Thereafter

The Directorates for Engineering (Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental & Transport Systems), Geosciences (Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences) and Mathematical and Physical Sciences (Divisions of Astronomical Sciences and Physics) of the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Office of Science/Office of Fusion Energy Sciences (SC/FES) of the Department of Energy (DOE) are continuing in FY2014 the joint Partnership in Basic Plasma Science and Engineering begun in FY1997 and continued in FY2000, FY2003, FY2006 and FY2009. As stated in the original solicitations (NSF 97-39, NSF 99-159, NSF 02-84, NSF 05-619, NSF 09-596), which are superseded by the present solicitation, the goal of the initiative is to enhance plasma research and education in this broad, multidisciplinary field by coordinating efforts and combining resources of the two agencies. The current solicitation also encourages submission of proposals to perform basic plasma experiments on the Large Aperture Plasma Device (LAPD) at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), a unique user facility designed to serve the needs of the broader plasma community.

EXPERIMENTAL PHYSICS: Funding Opportunities
THEORETICAL PHYSICS: Funding Opportunities

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Funding Home