Skip to Content

FUNDING > Transforming...

Division of Undergraduate Education

This program has been archived.

Don L. Millard
dmillard@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4620
Room 835 N

Myles Boylan
mboylan@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4617
Room 835 N

Susan Finger
sfinger@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4639
Room 835 N

Terry Woodin
twoodin@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4657
Room 835 N

Proposers are encouraged to contact a DUE Program Director in their discipline:

Biological Sciences

  • V. Celeste Carter, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4651, email: vccarter@nsf.gov
  • Kathleen Bergin, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5171, email: kbergin@nsf.gov
  • William Grisham, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-2260, email: wgrisham@nsf.gov
  • Jose Herrera, Program Director, telephone: (703)-292-5128, email: jherrera@nsf.gov
  • Joan Prival, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4635, email: jprival@nsf.gov
  • Terry Woodin, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4657, email: twoodin@nsf.gov

Chemistry

  • David Brown, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-8831, email: drbrown@nsf.gov  
  • Joseph Grabowski, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4653, email: jgrabows@nsf.gov
  • Herbert Richtol, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4648, email: hrichtol@nsf.gov
  • Dawn Rickey, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4674, email: drickey@nsf.gov

Computer Science

  • Guy-Alain Amoussou, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-8670, email: gamousso@nsf.gov
  • Jane Prey, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4629, email: jprey@nsf.gov
  • Victor Piotrowski, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5141, email: vpiotrow@nsf.gov
  • Suzanne Westbrook, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4640, swestbro@nsf.gov

Engineering

  • Maura Borrego, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-7855, email: mborrego@nsf.gov
  • Louis Everett, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4645, email: leverett@nsf.gov
  • Susan Finger, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4639, email: sfinger@nsf.gov
  • Amy Chan Hilton, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4623, email: achanhil@nsf.gov
  • Don Millard, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4620, email: dmillard@nsf.gov
  • John Yu, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4647, email: zyu@nsf.gov

Geological Sciences

  • Peter Lea, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4643, email: plea@nsf.gov

Interdisciplinary

  • Corby Hovis, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4625, email: chovis@nsf.gov
  • Herbert Richtol, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4648, email: hrichtol@nsf.gov

Mathematics

  • Ron Buckmire, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5323, email: rbuckmir@nsf.gov
  • Michael Jacobson, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4641, email: mjacobso@nsf.gov
  • Lee Zia, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5140, email: lzia@nsf.gov

Physics / Astronomy

  • Joyce Evans, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5098, email: jevans@nsf.gov
  • Duncan McBride, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4630, email: dmcbride@nsf.gov
  • Gary White, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4618, email: gwhite@nsf.gov

Research / Assessment

  • Connie Della-Piana, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5309, email: cdellapi@nsf.gov

Social Sciences

  • Myles Boylan, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4617, email: mboylan@nsf.gov

Solicitation 10-544

Important Notice to Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG), NSF 13-1, was issued on October 4, 2012 and is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 14, 2013. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 13-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Please be aware that significant changes have been made to the PAPPG to implement revised merit review criteria based on the National Science Board (NSB) report, National Science Foundation's Merit Review Criteria: Review and Revisions. While the two merit review criteria remain unchanged (Intellectual Merit and Broader Impacts), guidance has been provided to clarify and improve the function of the criteria. Changes will affect the project summary and project description sections of proposals. Annual and final reports also will be affected.

A by-chapter summary of this and other significant changes is provided at the beginning of both the Grant Proposal Guide and the Award & Administration Guide.

Archived

The Transforming Undergraduate Education in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (TUES) program seeks to improve the quality of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education for all undergraduate students. This solicitation especially encourages projects that have the potential to transform undergraduate STEM education, for example, by bringing about widespread adoption of classroom practices that embody understanding of how students learn most effectively. Thus transferability and dissemination are critical aspects for projects developing instructional materials and methods and should be considered throughout the project's lifetime.  More advanced projects should involve efforts to facilitate adaptation at other sites.

The program supports efforts to create, adapt, and disseminate new learning materials and teaching strategies to reflect advances both in STEM disciplines and in what is known about teaching and learning.  It funds projects that develop faculty expertise, implement educational innovations, assess learning and evaluate innovations, prepare K-12 teachers, or conduct research on STEM teaching and learning. It also supports projects that further the work of the program itself, for example, synthesis and dissemination of findings across the program. The program supports projects representing different stages of development, ranging from small, exploratory investigations to large, comprehensive projects.

This program provides educational opportunities for

Undergraduate Students

.

This program provides indirect funding for undergraduate students or focuses on educational developments for this group such as curriculum development, training, or retention. To inquire about possible funding opportunities not directly from NSF, please look at the active awards for this program.

CCLI Evaluation Planning Webinars, April 2008
CCLI Conference
Project Information Resource System

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

News

Discoveries

Events

Funding Home