Skip to Content

FUNDING > Paleo Perspectives on...

Directorate for Geosciences

David J. Verardo
dverardo@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8527

Candace O. Major
cmajor@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7597

Paul E. Filmer
pfilmer@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7858

William J. Wiseman
wwiseman@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4750

Alexandra Isern
aisern@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7581

Julie M. Palais
jpalais@nsf.gov, (703) 292-8033

Solicitation 13-576

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 15-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after December 26, 2014. The PAPPG is consistent with, and, implements the new Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance) (2 CFR 200). Please be advised that the guidelines contained in NSF 15-1 apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  October 15, 2015

October 15, Annually Thereafter

The goal of research funded under the interdisciplinary P2C2 solicitation is to utilize key geological, chemical, atmospheric (gas in ice cores), and biological records of climate system variability to provide insights into the mechanisms and rate of change that characterized Earth's past climate variability, the sensitivity of Earth's climate system to changes in forcing, and the response of key components of the Earth system to these changes. 

Important scientific objectives of P2C2 are to: 1) provide comprehensive paleoclimate data sets that can serve as model test data sets analogous to instrumental observations; and 2) enable transformative syntheses of paleoclimate data and modeling outcomes to understand the response of the longer-term and higher magnitude variability of the climate system that is observed in the geological and cryospheric records. 

OCE Ongoing Special Funding Opportunities

News

Funding Home