Skip to main content
Email Print Share


Press Release 06-060

Waterproof Superglue May Be Strongest in Nature

Bacterial adhesive is 2-3 times stronger than common commercial glues

Aquatic bacteria attach to a surface, and each other, by their glue-secreting holdfasts.


Aquatic bacteria attach to a surface, and each other, by their glue-secreting holdfasts.
Credit and Larger Version


April 11, 2006

The glue one species of water-loving bacteria uses to grip its surroundings may be the strongest natural adhesive known to science. If engineers can find a way to mass-produce the material, it could have uses in medicine, marine technology and a range of other applications.

Researchers at Indiana University in Bloomington and Brown University in Providence, R.I., studied how much force they needed to tug the tiny, stalked Caulobacter crescentus off a glass plate. As the researchers reported in the Apr. 11, 2006, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, the bacteria grip with a force of 70 newtons per square millimeter--roughly 5 tons per square inch--or equivalent to the downward force exerted by three cars balancing on a spot the size of a quarter. While the researchers do not yet know if the substance is the strongest glue on Earth, it is stronger than cyanoacrylate superglues found on store shelves and may be rivaled only by a few synthetics.

Several NSF programs have supported the research. Funding for this study came from the Division of Materials Research in the Mathematics and Physical Sciences Directorate.

Additional information is available in the Indiana University press release linked below.

-NSF-

Media Contacts
Joshua A. Chamot, NSF, (703) 292-7730, jchamot@nsf.gov
Wendy Lawton, Brown University, (401) 863-1862, Wendy_Lawton@brown.edu
David Bricker, Indiana University, (812) 856-9035, brickerd@indiana.edu

Program Contacts
Maija M. Kukla, NSF, (703) 292-4940, mkukla@nsf.gov
Patrick P. Dennis, NSF, (703) 292-7145, pdennis@nsf.gov
Charles Bouldin, NSF, (703) 292-4920, cbouldin@nsf.gov
Sally E. O'Connor, NSF, (703) 292-8470, soconnor@nsf.gov
Wendy Fuller-Mora, NSF, (703) 292-4931, wfullerm@nsf.gov

Co-Investigators
Ben Freund, Brown University, (401) 863-1476, freund@brown.edu
Jay X. Tang, Brown University, (401) 863 2292, Jay_Tang@Brown.edu
Yves Brun, Indiana University, (812) 855-8860, ybrun@indiana.edu

Related Websites
Indiana University release: http://newsinfo.iu.edu/news/page/normal/3258.html
Yves Brun homepage: http://www.bio.indiana.edu/facultyresearch/faculty/Brun.html
Jay Tang laboratory homepage: http://biophysics.physics.brown.edu/
Ben Freund homepage: http://www.engin.brown.edu/faculty/freund/
Related National Public Radio news broadcast: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=5335766

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2016, its budget is $7.5 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 48,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $626 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page: https://www.nsf.gov
NSF News: https://www.nsf.gov/news/
For the News Media: https://www.nsf.gov/news/newsroom.jsp
Science and Engineering Statistics: https://www.nsf.gov/statistics/
Awards Searches: https://www.nsf.gov/awardsearch/