text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation Home National Science Foundation - Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences (SBE)
Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences (SBE)
design element
SBE Home
About SBE
Funding Opportunities
Advisory Committee
Career Opportunities
See Additional SBE Resources
View SBE Staff
SBE Organizations
Behavioral and Cognitive Sciences (BCS)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES)
Social and Economic Sciences (SES)
SBE Office of Multidisciplinary Activities (SMA)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional SBE Resources
Exploring What Makes Us Human
Rebuilding the Mosaic Report
Bringing People Into Focus: How Social, Behavioral & Economic Research Addresses National Challenges
"Youth Violence: What We Need to Know" Report to NSF
Social, Behavioral and Economic Research in the Federal Context Report
Expedited Review of Social and Behavioral Research Activities Report
SBE Advisory Committee Web Site (for members only)
Other Site Features
Special Reports
Research Overviews
Multimedia Gallery
Classroom Resources
NSF-Wide Investments

Email this pagePrint this page

Press Release 08-214
Beginning Scientists Receive Presidential Awards

Twenty NSF nominees receive the government's highest honor for scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers

Photo of the White House

The 2007 PECASE winners are honored in a ceremony at the White House.
Credit and Larger Version

December 19, 2008

Embargoed until December 19, 2008, 3:30 p.m.

Twenty young scientists from among those taking part in the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) have received an additional distinction as winners of Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for the 2007 competition.

The PECASE program recognizes outstanding scientists and engineers who, early in their careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of knowledge. This Presidential Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. In addition to NSF's winners, there are 48 scientists nominated by other government agencies.

By receiving awards through the CAREER program, the PECASE winners had already demonstrated their success in integrating research and education within the context of the mission of their organization.

"We take great pride in the PECASE winners," said Kathie L. Olsen, NSF's deputy director. "It is important to support the transformational research of these beginning scientists, and to foster their work in educational outreach and mentoring."

A complete list of NSF's PECASE awardees and their institutions follows:

Sonia Altizer, Odum School of Ecology, University of Georgia

Maura J. Borrego, Department of Engineering Education, Virginia Tech University

Xi Chen, Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Columbia Universit

Kim M. Cobb, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Georgia Institute of Technology

Michael Elowitz, California Institute of Technology

Nicholas Feamster, College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology

Alexander Gamburd, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Santa Cruz

Jeremy Gray, Department of Psychology, Yale University

Sanjay Lall, Department of Aeronautics and Astronomics, Stanford University

André W. Marshall, Department of Fire Protection Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park

Mónica Medina, School of Natural Sciences, University of California, Merced

Katrina M. Miranda, Department of Chemistry, University of Arizona

Subhasish Mitra, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Stanford University

Stergios I. Roumeliotis, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota

Sanjit Seshia, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley

Aaron M. Thomas, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Idaho

Paul Torrens, School of Geographical Sciences, Arizona State University

Anastasia Volovich, Department of Physics, Brown University

Joan Walker, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Center for Global Metropolitan Studies, University of California at Berkeley

Michael Yu, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Johns Hopkins University


Media Contacts
Maria C. Zacharias, NSF, (703) 292-8454, mzachari@nsf.gov

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2014, its budget is $7.2 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 50,000 competitive requests for funding, and makes about 11,500 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $593 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov
NSF News: http://www.nsf.gov/news/
For the News Media: http://www.nsf.gov/news/newsroom.jsp
Science and Engineering Statistics: http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/
Awards Searches: http://www.nsf.gov/awardsearch/



Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page