text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
Meetings Home
dividing line
All Archived Meetings and Minutes
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to USA.gov

Public Agenda

Committee on Programs and Plans

Public visitors must arrange for a visitor's badge in advance. Call 703-292-7000 to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitor's desk on the day of the meeting.

National Science Foundation
May 13, 2009
8:05 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Room 1235
1:00 p.m. - 3:45 p.m.
Room 1235

Open Session: 8:05 a.m. - 11:15 a.m., Room 1235

  1. Approval of February 2009 and March 2009 CPP Minutes

  2. Committee Chairman's Remarks
      Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, CPP Chairman

  3. Task Force on Sustainable Energy (SE):
      Drs. Dan Arvizu & Jon Strauss, SE Co-Chairmen
      Ms. Tami Tamashiro, SE Executive Secretary

    1. Task Force Co-Charmen's Remarks
    2. Review of Public Comments on Task Force Draft Report
    3. Discussion of Task Force Draft Report

  4. Subcommittee on Polar Issues (SOPI):
      Dr. Jon Strauss, SOPI Chairman
      Dr. Joan Frye, SOPI Executive Secretary

    1. SOPI Chairman's Remarks
    2. Arctic Post-International Polar Year (IPY) International Partnerships
    3. Antarctic 2009 Season Highlights
    4. Antarctic Liability Legistation

  5. NSB Information Item: Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES) Operations

  6. NSB Information Item (NSB/CPP-09-19): Award for Coherent Light Source Development

  7. NSB Information Item: Support for Design of Deep Underground Science and Engineering Laboratory (DUSEL)

  8. NSB Information Item: American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) Award for Purchase of 21 Tesla Magnet

  9. NSB Information Item: TeraGrid Extension Award

  10. NSB Information Item: Academic Research Infrastructure (ARI) / Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) Program Announcement(s)

  11. Discussion Item: Issues Raised by CPP for Committee Consideration in FY 2009 and Beyond & Proposed Revision to the Charge to the Committee.

Closed Session: 11:15 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., Room 1235

  1. Committee Chairman's Remarks
      Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, CPP Chairman

  2. NSB Action Item: Management and Operation of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO)

Closed Session: 1:00 p.m. - 3:45 p.m., Room 1295

  1. NSB Action Item: Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI)

  2. NSB Action Item: Research Infrastructure Improvement Program (RII) Awards from the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR)


Sonya Mallinoff
Executive Secretary


For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page NSF_NSB Twitter Follow Button Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
Jul 27, 2009
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009