text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
Office of the Director (OD)
design element
National Medal of Science
Image of National Medal of Science
Medal of Science Home
Nomination Information
President's Committee
Natl. Medal of Technology and Innovation
Natl. Science & Technology Medals Foundation
Privacy Act
Office of the Director
Office of the Director (OD)
Office of Diversity and Inclusion (ODI)
Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
Office of International and Integrative Activities (OIIA)
   - EPSCoR Office
Office of Legislative & Public Affairs (OLPA)

Email this pagePrint this page

The President's National Medal of Science: Recipient Details

Michael E. Debakey

Title: Director, DeBakey Heart Center
Affiliation:   Baylor College of Medicine
    Houston, Texas 77030 USA
Gender:   Male
Year Deceased:   2008
divider line
Award Discipline:   Biological Sciences
Award Year:   1987
Citation:   "For his pioneering medical innovations throughout his medical career and his unique ability to bring his vast professional knowledge to bear on public policy as a national and international medical statesman."
    Presented by President Reagan at a White House Ceremony on June 25, 1987.


Search Again


Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page