text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
design element
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
About Us
ODI Staff
Laws and Regulations that govern EEO and Civil Rights
Diversity Initiatives
bullet Special Emphasis Observances
bullet Equal Opportunity Liaisons
bullet Diversity Dialogue Speaker Series
bullet Broadening Participation
ODI Training
Related Links
Glossary of EEO Terminology

Special Emphasis Program Observances

The following observances take place each year and are mandated through Presidential Executive Orders.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – (January)                         
African American History - (February)      
Women's History – (March)
Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month – (May)
Womens Equality Day - (August)

Hispanic Heritage – (September 15 – October 15)

  • Hispanic Heritage Month begins on September 15 because this day marks the anniversary of independence for five Hispanic countries - Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Other Hispanic American Countries of Origin are Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico and Spain. In addition, on September 16, 1810, Mexico proclaimed independence from Spain on September 16, 1810, but acquired their independence in 1821.

Disability Employment Awareness – (October)
Native American Heritage – (November)



Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page