text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation HomeNational Science Foundation - Directorate for Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences
Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences
design element
SBE Home
About SBE
Funding Opportunities
Awards
News
Events
Discoveries
Publications
Advisory Committee
Career Opportunities
See Additional SBE Resources
View SBE Staff
SBE Organizations
Behavioral and Cognitive Sciences (BCS)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES)
Social and Economic Sciences (SES)
SBE Office of Multidisciplinary Activities (SMA)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
  Introduction
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional SBE Resources
Exploring What Makes Us Human
Rebuilding the Mosaic Report
Bringing People Into Focus: How Social, Behavioral & Economic Research Addresses National Challenges
"Youth Violence: What We Need to Know" Report to NSF
Social, Behavioral and Economic Research in the Federal Context Report
Expedited Review of Social and Behavioral Research Activities Report
SBE Advisory Committee Web Site (for members only)


SBE Advisory Committee Members

Dr. AnnaLee Saxenian (Chair)
School of Information
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-4600
Phone: (510) 642-9980
Email: anno@ischool.berkeley.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2011
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2014
Assistant: Becky Coulter
Email: rcoulter@ischool.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-9980

Dr. Christopher H. Achen
Politics Department
Robertson Hall
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: (609) 258-0176
Email: achen@princeton.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2010
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2013

Dr. Ernst R. Berndt
MIT Sloan School of Management
50 Memorial Drive
MIT E52-452
Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone: (617) 253-2665
Fax: (617) 258-6855
Email: erberndt@mit.edu
BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2009
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2011
Assistant: Sarah Hufford
Phone: (617) 253-9746
Email: shufford@mit.edu

Dr. Susan L. Cutter (AC-ERE Liaison)
Director, Hazards & Vulnerability Research Institute
Department of Geography
University of South Carolina
Callcott, Room 312
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: (803) 777-1590
Fax: (803) 777-4972
Email: scutter@sc.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Summer 2008
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2014
Assistant: Charlie Faucette
Email: faucette@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Kaye Husbands Fealing
Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs
301 19th Avenue South, Suite 164
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: (612) 624-6449
Email: khf@umn.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2008
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2014

Sir Roderick Floud (EX OFFICIO)
Gresham College
Barnard's Inn Hall
Holborn
London EC1N 2HH
United Kingdom
Office: +44 20 7831 0575
Email: roderick.floud@btinternet.com
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2007
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2013
Assistant: Dawn Fulks
Email: d.fulks@gresham.ac.uk

Dr. Fred Gault
Professorial Fellow
UNU MERIT
Keizer Karelplein 19
6211 TC Maastricht
The Netherlands
Phone: +31 43 3884400
Email: gault@merit.unu.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2006
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2012

Dr. Morton Ann Gernsbacher
1202 West Johnson Street
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI 53706-1611
Phone: (608) 262-6989
Fax: (608) 262-4029
Email: MAGernsb@wisc.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2008
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2014

Dr. Janet A. Harkness
Director, Survey Research and Methodology Program
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
UNL Gallup Research Center
200 North 11th Street
P.O. Box 880241
Lincoln, NE 68588-0241
Phone: (402) 472-7768
Fax: (402) 458-2031
Email: jharkness2@unl.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Summer 2008
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2014
Assistant: Barbara Rolfes
Phone: (402) 472-7758
Email: brolfes3@unl.edu

Dr. Nina G. Jablonski
Head, Department of Anthropology
Penn State
413 Carpenter Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 865-2509
Fax: (814) 863-1474
Email: ngj2@psu.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Summer 2008
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2014
Assistant: Theresa Wilson
Email: Tmw119@psu.edu
Phone: (814) 867-0454

Dr. Robert Kaplan (EX OFFICIO)
National Institutes of Health
Office of Behavioral & Social Sciences Research
9000 Rockville Pike
Suite B1C19, Bldg. 31, MSC 2027
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-2027
Phone: (301) 402-1146
Email: robert.kaplan@nih.gov
BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2011
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2014
Assistant: Christina Bailey
Email: baileycm@mail.nih.gov
Phone: (301) 435-1982

Dr. Jon A. Krosnick
Department of Communication
Stanford University
432 McClatchyHall
450 Serra Mall
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: (650) 725-3031
Email: Krosnick@Stanford.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2011
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2014

Dr. Barbara Landau
Department of Cognitive Science
Johns Hopkins University
241 Krieger Hall
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: (410) 516-5255
Email: landau@cogsci.jhu.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2009
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2012

Dr. Emilio Moran
Anthropology Department
Indiana University
Blooming, IN 47405
Phone: (812) 855-6182
Email: moran@indiana.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2010
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2013
Assistant: Kristin Brand
Phone: (812) 855-6182
Email: kbrand@indiana.edu

Dr. Maria (Mia) Ong (CEOSE Liaison)
Director
Diversity Resource Group
TERC
2067 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02140
Phone: (617) 547-0430
Email: mia_ong@terc.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2009
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2013

Dr. David Poeppel
Department of Psychology
New York Univiersity
6 Washington Place
New York, NY 10003
Phone: (212) 992-7489
Email: david.poeppel@nyu.edu
Web Site, Blog and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2006
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2011

Professor Stanley Presser
Department of Sociology
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-1315
Phone: (301) 314-7836
Email: stanleyp@umd.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2009
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2012

Dr. Steven Ruggles
Director, Minnesota Population Center
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: (612) 624-4081
Email: ruggles.steven@gmail.com
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2010
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2013


Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page