text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation HomeNational Science Foundation - Directorate for Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences
Behavioral & Cognitive Sciences (BCS)
design element
BCS Home
About BCS
Funding Opportunities
Career Opportunities
Human Subjects Guidance
Human Subjects FAQs
View BCS Staff
SBE Organizations
Behavioral and Cognitive Sciences (BCS)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES)
Social and Economic Sciences (SES)
SBE Office of Multidisciplinary Activities (SMA)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office

Cultural Anthropology Program History

The NSF Anthropology Program has supported basic research on human socio-cultural behavior and institutions since 1956, under the direction of its program officers and with the guidance of an advisory review panel. There has been a Cultural Anthropology program director since 1978.

Program Directors of the Anthropology (three-field) Program:

Albert Spaulding, 1959-63
Allan Smith, 1963-65
Richard Lieban, 1976-71
John Cornell, 1971-73
Iwao Ishino, 1973-75
Nancie Gonzalez, 1975-77
John Yellen, 1977 –

In 1978 a position for an Associate Program Director for Cultural Anthropology was created.

Cultural Anthropology Associate Program Directors:

Anne Fleuret, 1978-1980
Stephen Brush, 1980-83
Daniel Gross, 1983-85

In 1986 the position of Program Director for Cultural Anthropology was created

Stuart Plattner, 1985–2005
Ray Hames, 1993
Victoria Lockwood, 2000
Deborah Winslow, 2005-

In 2010, a position was created for a second Cultural Anthropology Program Director. Deborah Winslow continued as Program Director but she has been joined by:

Stephen J. Langdon, 2010-2011
Laura Ahearn, 2011-2012
Jeff Mantz, 2012-

Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page