Skip navigation and go to page content.
A Companion to Science and Engineering Indicators 2006.
 NSB 06-02 | February 2006

America's Pressing Challenge — Building a Stronger Foundation

National Science Board

Warren M. Washington, Chair, Senior Scientist and Section Head, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Diana S. Natalicio, Vice Chair, President, The University of Texas at El Paso
Dan E. Arvizu, Director, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Barry C. Barish, Linde Professor of Physics and Director, LIGO Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
Steven C. Beering, President Emeritus, Purdue University, West Lafayette
Ray M. Bowen, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University, College Station
G. Wayne Clough, President, Georgia Institute of Technology
Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Regents' Professor & Roger and Sherry Teigen Presidential Professor; Weathernews Chair of Applied Meteorology; Director, Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms; and Director, Sasaki Institute, University of Oklahoma, Norman
Delores M. Etter, ONR Distinguished Chair in S&T, Electrical Engineering Department, U.S. Naval Academy*
Nina V. Fedoroff, Willaman Professor of Life Sciences and Evan Pugh Professor, Huck Institutes of Life Sciences, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Kenneth M. Ford, Director, Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition
Daniel E. Hastings, Director, Engineering Systems Division and Professor, Aeronautics and Astronautics and Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Elizabeth Hoffman, President Emerita, University of Colorado System, Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, University of Colorado at Denver
Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Research Professor, Center for Solar-Terrestrial Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Alan Leshner, Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Jane Lubchenco, Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology and Distinguished Professor of Zoology, Oregon State University
Douglas D. Randall, Professor of Biochemistry and Director, Interdisciplinary Program on Plant Biochemistry and Physiology, University of Missouri-Columbia
Michael G. Rossmann, Hanley Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, Purdue University
Daniel Simberloff, Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Jon C. Strauss, President, Harvey Mudd College
Kathryn D. Sullivan, Science Advisor, Center of Science and Industry, Columbus, Ohio
Jo Anne Vasquez, Mesa, Arizona Public Schools (Retired)
John A. White, Jr., Chancellor, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor, Washington University in St. Louis

Member ex officio
Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Michael P. Crosby, Executive Officer, National Science Board, and National Science Board Office Director

Committee on Education and Human Resources, Subcommittee on Science and Engineering Indicators

Steven C. Beering, Chairman

G. Wayne Clough
Michael G. Rossmann
Jon C. Strauss
Kathryn D. Sullivan
Jo Anne Vasquez
John A. White, Jr.

NSB Subcommittee Staff:
Alan I. Rapoport, Executive Secretary
Jean M. Pomeroy, NSB Office Liaison

*Resigned November 2005

National Science Board.