Skip all navigation and go to page content

The National Science Board

Steven C. Beering, Chairman, President Emeritus, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
Patricia D. Galloway, Vice Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, Pegasus Global Holdings, Inc., Cle Elum, Washington

Mark R. Abbott, Dean and Professor, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University, Corvallis
Dan E. Arvizu, Director and Chief Executive, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), Golden, Colorado
Barry C. Barish,* Director, Global Design Effort for International Linear Collider, Linde Professor of Physics, Emeritus, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
Camilla P. Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development, Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee
Ray M. Bowen, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University, College Station
John T. Bruer, President, The James S. McDonnell Foundation, Saint Louis, Missouri
G. Wayne Clough, Secretary, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC
France A. Córdova, President, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Vice President for Research, Regents’ Professor of Meteorology and Weathernews Chair Emeritus, University of Oklahoma, Norman
José-Marie Griffiths, Professor, School of Information and Library Science, Director of Biomedical Informatics, TraCS Institute, School of Medicine, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Esin Gulari, Dean of Engineering and Science, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina
Elizabeth Hoffman,* Executive Vice President and Provost, Iowa State University, Ames
Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Research Professor of Physics, Center for Solar Terrestrial Research, Department of Physics, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark
Alan I. Leshner, Chief Executive Officer, Executive Publisher, Science, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, DC
G.P. "Bud" Peterson, President, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta
Douglas D. Randall, Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow, University of Missouri, Columbia
Arthur K. Reilly, Senior Director, Strategic Technology Policy, Cisco Systems, Inc., Ocean, New Jersey
Diane L. Souvaine, Professor, Department of Computer Science, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts
Jon C. Strauss, Interim Dean, Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering, Texas Tech University, Lubbock
Kathryn D. Sullivan, Director, Battelle Center for Mathematics and Science Education Policy, John Glenn School of Public Affairs, Ohio State University, Columbus
Thomas N. Taylor, Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Curator of Paleobotany in the Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center, The University of Kansas, Lawrence
Richard F. Thompson, Keck Professor of Psychology and Biological Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles

Member ex officio:
Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia
Craig R. Robinson, Acting Executive Officer, National Science Board, and Director, National Science Board Office

Committee on Science and Engineering Indicators

Louis J. Lanzerotti, Chairman
Camilla P. Benbow
John T. Bruer
G. Wayne Clough
France A. Córdova
José-Marie Griffiths
G.P. "Bud" Peterson
Arthur K. Reilly
Jon C. Strauss
Richard F. Thompson

Executive Secretaries
Rolf F. Lehming
Robert K. Bell

NSB Staff Liaison
Jennifer L. Richards


* Board Consultant


Globalization of Science and Engineering Research   Arlington, VA (NSB 10-03) | January 2010