The following persons contributed to the report by reviewing chapters or otherwise assisting in its preparation. Their help is greatly appreciated.

James D. Adams, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and NBER
Nick Allum, University of Surrey
Kevin Amos, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Stuart Anderson, National Foundation for American Policy
Anthony Arundel, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
David Attis, Council on Competitiveness
Roland Bardon, SRI International
John Benskin, SRI International
Bianca Bernstein, Arizona State University
Vicki Bingham, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Richard Bissell, National Academy of Sciences
Rolf Blank, Council of Chief State School Officers
Myles Boylan, National Science Foundation
Douglas Braddock, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Sandi Bramblett, Georgia Institute of Technology
Prudy Brown, SRI International
Marie Burton, Statistics Canada
Daniel E. Byers, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Michael Carolina, Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology
Marta Cehelsky, National Science Foundation
David E. Chesebrough, COSI Columbus
Susan Choy, MPR Associates
Beatriz Chu Clewell, The Urban Institute
Alessandra Colecchia, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Joseph Costanzo, Office of Immigration Statistics
Keryl Cryer, ABET
Alfredo de los Santos, Arizona State University
Gerardo de los Santos, Maricopa Community Colleges
Suzie Dent, Higher Education Statistics Agency, Ltd., England
Doug Devereaux, U.S. Department of Commerce
James Duderstadt, University of Michigan, President Emeritus
Jules Duga, Battelle
Sarah Eby-Ebersole, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sarah Elgin, Washington University
John H. Evans, University of California at San Diego
Kira R. Fabrizio, Emory University
John H. Falk, Oregon State University
Jaquelina Falkenheim, National Science Foundation
Michael Finn, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education
James Fitzsimmons, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Dennis Fixler, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Norman Fortenberry, National Academy of Engineering
Mary Frase, National Science Foundation
Barbara Fraumeni, University of Southern Maine
Ron Freedman, Research Infosource, Toronto
Lisa Frehill, Commission on Professionals in Science and Technology
Carolyn L. Funk, Virginia Commonwealth University
Fred Gault, Statistics Canada
Thomas F. Gieryn, Indiana University
Leonid Gokhberg, State University-Higher School of Economics, Russia
Mary Lowe Good, University of Arkansas, Little Rock and Venture Capital Investors, LLC
Teresa Grimes, ORC Macro
Kerry Gruber, National Center for Education Statistics
Edward Hackett, National Science Foundation
Kim Hamilton, ipIQ Incorporated
Sharon Hayes, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Nancy Hensel, Council on Undergraduate Research
Diana Hicks, Georgia Institute of Technology
Jim Hirabayashi, US Patent and Trademark Office
John B. Horrigan, Pew Internet and American Life Project
Sally Hoskins, CUNY City College
Ned Howenstine, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Freeman Hrabowski, University of Maryland Baltimore County
Deh-I Hsiung, National Science Foundation
Ann-Barrie Hunter, University of Colorado Boulder
Kaye Husbands Fealing, National Science Foundation
Howard Jackson, University of Cincinnati
Harold Javitz, SRI International
Jolene Jesse, National Science Foundation
Nirmala Kannankutty, National Science Foundation
Darcy Kelley, Columbia University
Tomoe Kiyosada, SRI International
Edward B. Knipling, Agricultural Research Service
Kei Koizumi, American Association for the Advancement of Science
William Korn, University of California Los Angeles
Steven Landfeld, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Charles F. Larson, Innovation Research International
Lisa Lattuca, Pennsylvania State University
Sandra Laursen, University of Colorado Boulder
Lorraine Lewis, Department of State
Al Link, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Marcia Linn, University of California Berkeley
Joan Lorden, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Susan Carol Losh, Florida State University
Lindsay Lowell, Georgetown University
Aaron S. Manka, National Science Foundation
Rosemary Marcuss, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Catherine M. Millett, Educational Testing Service
Julia A. Moore, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
Cindy Moss, Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools
Mark D. Myers, U.S. Geological Survey
Patrick Natale, American Society of Civil Engineers
Matthew C. Nisbet, American University
Robert Norwood, National Science Foundation
Sumiye Okubo, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Charlie Oppenheimer, Department of State
Joel Parriott, Office of Management and Budget
Pierre Perrolle, National Science Foundation
Juan Cruz Perusia, UNESCO Institute for Statistics
George Peterson, ABET
Kent Phillippe, American Association of Community Colleges
Dirk Pilat, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Andrew Porter, Vanderbilt University
Prem Premakumar, Global Insight
Senta Raizen, Center for Improving Science Education/WestEd
Arthur Ramirez, Alcatel Lucent
Kenneth Redd, Council of Graduate Schools
Carol Robbins, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Stephen Rodi, Austin Community College
Philip L. Rones, Bureau of Labor Statistics
James Rudd, National Science Foundation
Susan Russell, SRI International
Martin Schaaper, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
F. M. Scherer, Harvard University
Dietram A. Scheufele, University of Wisconsin
Roland W. Schmitt, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, President Emeritus
Scott Sederstrom, National Opinion Research Center
Elaine Seymour, University of Colorado Boulder
Kazuko Shinohara, National Science Foundation, Tokyo Office
Robin Skulrak, SRI International
Tom Snyder, National Center for Education Statistics
Stanley S. Sokul, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Cheri St. Arnauld, Maricopa Community College
Neal Stolleman, Department of Treasury
Michael Summers, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Curtis B. Suplee, National Science Foundation
Phillip Swagel, Department of Treasury
Al Teich, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Michael Teitelbaum, Alfred Sloan Foundation
Toby A.Ten Eyck, Michigan State University
Nicholas Terrell, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Anthony J. Tether, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
John Thomasian, National Governors’ Association
Lori Thurgood, SRI International
Roger Tourangeau, University of Michigan
Adrian Tyler, SRI International
Andrew Tyndall, Tyndall Report
David A. Ucko, National Science Foundation
Bill Valdez, Department of Energy
Merna Villarejo, University of California Davis
Nicholas Vonortas, George Washington University
Ted Wackler, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Caroline Wagner, George Washington University
John White, University of Arkansas
Miles C. Wiley III, Department of Homeland Security
Kim Williams, National Opinion Research Center
Laura Williams, ORC Macro
Daniel J. Wilson, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Jim Woodland, Nebraska Department of Education
John Worth, Department of Treasury
Ting Yan, National Opinion Research Center
John Young, Defense Research and Engineering
Teresa Yuan, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office, Chicago
Linda Zimbler, National Center for Education Statistics