Appendix B
Contributors and Reviewers

The following people contributed to the report by reviewing chapters or sections, providing data, or otherwise assisting in its preparation. Their help is greatly appreciated.

James Adams, University of Florida
Lydia Candland Alexander, Friday Systems Services, Inc.
Carolyn B. Arena, National Science Foundation
Alexander W. Astin, University of California at Los Angeles

Joel L. Barries, U.S. Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad
Deanna Behring, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Mary Grace L. Belcher, Friday Systems Services, Inc.
Richard J. Bennof, National Science Foundation
William A. Blanpied, National Science Foundation
Mark Blaug, University of Exeter, U.K.
Myles G. Boylan, National Science Foundation
Kenneth M. Brown, National Science Foundation
Mary V. Burke, National Science Foundation
Lawrence Burton, National Science Foundation

Daryl E. Chubin, National Science Foundation
Joe Clark, U.S. Department of Commerce
Sheldon Clark, Oak Ridge Associated Universities
Linda Cohen, University of California
David C. Colander, Middlebury College
Carol Colby, National Science Foundation
Eileen L. Collins, National Science Foundation
France Cordova, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Susan E. Cozzens, National Science Foundation

John Daly, U.S. Agency for International Development
Robert C. Dauffenbach, University of Oklahoma
Lester A. Davis, U.S. Department of Commerce
Irina G. Dezhina, Analytical Center on Science and Industrial Policy, Russia
Paul Doremus, Office of Technology Assessment

Edna F. Einsiedel, University of Calgary
Kaarin A. Engelmann, Friday Systems Services, Inc.

Alan Fechter, Commission of Professionals in S&E
Jay S. Fein, National Science Foundation
Irwin Feller, Pennsylvania State University
T. Glyn Finley, Electronic Industries Association
Michael G. Finn, Oak Ridge Associated Universities
Richard Florida, Carnegie-Mellon University
Vincy Fon, George Washington University
Marye Anne Fox, University of Texas at Austin
Mary Frase, National Center for Education Statistics

John R. Gawalt, National Science Foundation
Marty Glick, Genentech, Inc.
Howard Gobstein, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Leonid Gokhberg, Center for Science Research and Statistics, Russia
Mary J. Golladay, National Science Foundation
Jennifer R. Gray, National Science Foundation
M.R.C. Greenwood, University of California at Davis

John Hagedoorn, MERIT, The Netherlands
Linda P. Hardy, National Science Foundation
Chris Hill, George Mason University
Susan T. Hill, National Science Foundation
Sarah Horrigan, Office of Management and Budget
James G. Huckenpöhler, National Science Foundation
E. Stephen Hunt, National Center for Education Statistics

Lyle Jones, University of North Carolina
Liu Junjia, Chinese Center for Science and Technology for Development

Kelly H. Kang, National Science Foundation
Simone Keith, National Science Foundation
So Young Kim, Friday Systems Services, Inc.
Megan Henley Kinney, Friday Systems Services, Inc.
Carlos E. Kruytbosch, National Science Foundation
Charlotte Kuh, National Research Council

Ann T. Lanier, National Science Foundation
Kelvin Lancaster, Columbia University
Charles F. Larson, Industrial Research Institute, Inc.
Leon Lederman, Fermi Laboratory
Albert N. Link, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

M. Marge Machen, National Science Foundation
Floretta Dukes McKenzie, The McKenzie Group
Edwin Mansfield, University of Pennsylvania
Colin McCormick, National Science Foundation
John McTague, Ford Motor Company
Ronald L. Meeks, National Science Foundation
Mary Ellen Mogee, Mogee Research and Analysis Associates
John H. Moore, George Mason University
Whitney Moore, National Opinion Research Center
Howard Moraff, National Science Foundation
Robert Morgan, Washington University
Richard E. Morrison, National Science Foundation
Genevieve Muzart, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Jane S. Myers, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Ishaq M. Nadiri, New York University
Francis Narin, CHI Research, Inc.
Richard R. Nelson, Columbia University
Steve Nelson, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Daniel H. Newlon, National Science Foundation
Norine Noonan, Florida Institute of Technology

Ronald L. Oaxaca, University of Arizona
Richard C. O'Brien, Hewlett-Packard Co.
Patti Ota, Lehigh University

Aaron M. Pallas, Michigan State University
Willie Pearson, Jr., Wake Forest University
Lynn A. Pollnow, National Science Foundation
Alan L. Porter, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sara Pula, Friday Systems Services, Inc.

Peggy Quinn, National Center for Education Statistics

J. Thomas Ratchford, George Mason University
Francisco O. Ramirez, Stanford University
Proctor P. Reid, National Academy of Engineering
J. David Roessner, Georgia Institute of Technology
Nathan Rosenberg, Stanford University
Roland W. Schmitt, Rennselaer Polytechnic Institute
Jack H. Schuster, The Claremont Graduate School
Harold T. Shapiro, Princeton University
Carl Shepherd, U.S. Department of Commerce
Carolyn F. Shettle, National Science Foundation
Tom W. Smith, National Opinion Research Center
Thomas Snyder, National Center for Education Statistics
Kimberly Stevens, CHI Research, Inc.
Donald E. Stokes, Princeton University
Joanne P. Streeter, National Science Foundation
A. Joseph Stribling, Friday Systems Services, Inc.
Judith Sunley, National Science Foundation

Joan Talbert, Stanford University
Gregory C. Tassey, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Albert Teich, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Roland Tibbetts, National Science Foundation
Eleanor C. Thomas, National Science Foundation
John Tsapogas, National Science Foundation
Alan R. Tupek, National Science Foundation

Nicholas S. Vonortas, George Washington University

Gunnar Westholm, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Gerald Wheeler, National Science Teachers Association
John S. Wilson, Information Technology Industry Council
Margaret L. Windus, National Science Foundation
Raymond M. Wolfe, National Science Foundation
Julian Wolpert, Princeton University
Andrew Wyckoff, Office of Technology Assessment

Alison Young, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development