National Science Board

FRANK H.T. RHODES, President Emeritus, Cornell University

Vice Chairman:
MARYE ANNE FOX, Vice President for Research, University of Texas at Austin

PERRY L. ADKISSON, Chancellor Emeritus and Regents Professor of Entomology, Texas A&M University

BERNARD F. BURKE, William A. M. Burden Professor of Astrophysics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

F. ALBERT COTTON, W.T. Doherty-Welch Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, and Director, Laboratory for Molecular Structure and Bonding, Texas A&M University

THOMAS B. DAY, President, San Diego State University

JAMES J. DUDERSTADT, President, The University of MichiganSanford D. Greenberg, Chairman & CEO, TEI Industries, Inc.

SANFORD D. GREENBERG, Chairman & CEO, TEI Industries, Inc.

PHILLIP A. GRIFFITHS, Director, Institute for Advanced Study

CHARLES E. HESS, Professor and Director of International Programs, University of California-Davis

JOHN E. HOPCROFT, Joseph Silbert Dean of Engineering, Cornell University

SHIRLEY M. MALCOM, Head, Directorate for Education and Human Resources Programs, American Association for the Advancement of Science

EVE L. MENGER, Director, Characterization Science & Services, Corning, Inc.

CLAUDIA I. MITCHELL-KERNAN, Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs and Dean, Graduate Division, University of California-Los Angeles

DIANA NATALICIO, President, The University of Texas at El Paso

JAIME OAXACA, Vice Chairman, Coronado Communications Corporation

JAMES L. POWELL, President and Director, Los Angeles County Museum of Natural History

IAN M. ROSS, President Emeritus, AT&T Bell Laboratories

HOWARD E. SIMMONS, Jr., Vice President Emeritus for Central Research and Development, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.

ROBERT M. SOLOW, Institute Professor, Department of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

WARREN M. WASHINGTON, Director, Climate & Global Dynamics Division, NCAR

JOHN A. WHITE, JR., Dean, College of Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

RICHARD N. ZARE, Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University

NEAL LANE (Member Ex Officio), Director, National Science Foundation

MARTA CEHELSKY, Executive Officer

National Science Board Subcommittee on
Science and Engineering Indicators - 1996

Phillip A. Griffiths
John E. Hopcroft
Robert M. Solow
John A. White, Jr.
Cora B. Marrett, NSF Liaison
Jennifer Sue Bond, Executive Secretary

The Subcommittee appreciates the substantial and continued involvement of Anne C. Petersen, Deputy Director, National Science Foundation and the following NSB members:

Eve L. Menger
Claudia I. Mitchell-Kernan
Jaime Oaxaca
Warren M. Washington