Skip to main content
Email Print Share
NSF Congressional Highlight

NSF under New Jurisdiction after House and Senate Reorganize Appropriation Subcommittees

March 9, 2005

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is under new jurisdiction after both the House of Representatives and Senate announced major restructuring of their respective appropriations committees for the 109th Congress.

On Feb. 9, 2005, Chairman Jerry Lewis (R-CA) announced a reorganization of the House Appropriations Committee that reduces the number of individual subcommittees from 13 to 10. The changes place NSF, NASA and the Office of Science and Technology Policy under the jurisdiction of the Subcommittee on Science, State, Justice, and Commerce, chaired by Frank R. Wolf (R-VA). The now defunct VA-HUD and Independent Agencies Subcommittee previously handled all three organizations.

On March 2, 2005, Chairman Thad Cochran (R-MS) announced a slightly different structure for the Senate Appropriations Committee. The programs and accounts previously handled by the VA-HUD and Independent Agencies Subcommittee were redistributed, reducing the number of subcommittees from 13 to 12. The Commerce, Justice and Science Subcommittee absorbed NSF, NASA and the Office of Science and Technology Policy. A member roster is not yet available.

See also: