The Promise of Science and Engineering:
An Investment in the Future


National Science Foundation
Executive Staff

Office of the Director
Dr. Rita R. Colwell, Director
Dr. Joseph Bordogna, Deputy Director

Office of Equal Opportunity Programs
Ms. Ana A. Ortiz, Equal Opportunity Coordinator

Office of the General Counsel
Mr. Lawrence Rudolph, General Counsel

Office of the Inspector General
Mr. Philip L. Sunshine, Inspector General

Office of Integrative Activities
Dr. Nathaniel G. Pitts, Director

Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
Ms. Julia A. Moore, Director

Office of Polar Programs
Dr. Karl A. Erb, Director

Directorate for Biological Sciences
Dr. Mary E. Clutter, Assistant Director

Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Dr. Ruzena Bajcsy, Assistant Director

Directorate for Education and Human Resources
Dr. Luther S. Williams, Assistant Director

Directorate for Engineering
Dr. Eugene Wong, Assistant Director

Directorate for Geosciences
Dr. Robert W. Corell, Assistant Director

Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Dr. Robert A. Eisenstein, Assistant Director

Office of Budget, Finance and Award Management
Mr. Joseph L. Kull, Director

Office of Information and Resource Management
Ms. Linda P. Massaro, Director