Minutes of the Meeting of the Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee

29 June 2006 National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA, via teleconference

Members attending: Garth Illingworth (Chair) Angela Olinto

Neta Bahcall Sterl Phinney

Wendy Freedman Catherine Pilachowski

Daniel Lester Abhijit Saha

Agency personnel: Eileen Friel, NSF-AST Kathy Turner, DOE-HEP

Dana Lehr, NSF-AST

Other participants: Rocky Kolb, U. Chicago Brian Dewhurst, NRC

Lloyd Knox, U. California-Davis

MEETING CONVENED 5:00 PM EDT, 29 JUNE 2006

The Chair called the meeting to order, and all participants identified themselves.

The Chair recalled that the Dark Energy Task Force (DETF) chair, Rocky Kolb, reviewed the full DETF report at the 11-12 May AAAC meeting. The Chair reported that the High Energy Physics Advisory Panel (HEPAP) subsequently provided comments that have been incorporated into the report, and he stated that the final version was ready for transmission to agencies. The Chair asked if any other issues with the report were outstanding, and none were raised. The Committee voted unanimously to approve and transmit the DETF report to the agencies.

The Chair thanked Dr. Kolb and the DETF members for their outstanding work. The Chair stated that he would draft both a thank-you letter to the DETF members as well as a transmittal letter to the agencies. He noted that the formal transmittal letter will be sent to the DETF charge letter signatories and that he would also send a separate letter accompanying the report to the AAAC annual report recipients (i.e., the NSF Director, the NASA Administrator and the Secretary of Energy). The report would be copied to OSTP as well as to the copied recipients of the AAAC annual report.

Dr. Lester suggested adding commentary in the transmittal letter about the report's implementation. The Chair acknowledged this suggestion and stated that a draft letter would be distributed for the members' comments.

The Chair asked for other items for discussion, and none were raised.

MEETING ADJOURNED AT 5:15 PM, 29 JUNE 2006