

## DAY 1 WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 23, 2019

- 12:30 Meeting Begins
- 12:30-12:45 Welcome, Introductions, and Agenda Darryll Pines, ENG Advisory Committee Chair Sarah Rajala, ENG Advisory Committee Co-chair Dawn Tilbury, Assistant Director for Engineering Linda Blevins, Deputy Assistant Director for Engineering
- 12:45-1:30 **Directorate for Engineering Report** Dawn Tilbury, Assistant Director for Engineering

## 1:30-1:45 NSF Budget Update

Caitlyn Fife, Division Director, NSF Budget Division

1:45-2:00 Reports from Advisory Committee Liaisons

Tilak Agerwala, Advisory Committee on Cyberinfrastructure Gilda Barabino, Committee on Equal Opportunities in Science and Engineering Mary Juhas, Subcommittee on the SBIR/STTR Program Jeanne VanBriesen, Advisory Committee on Environmental Research and Education

- 2:00-2:20 Science and Security Rebecca Keiser, Head, NSF Office of International Science and Engineering
- 2:20-2:30 Science and Security Discussion Led by Stefanie Tompkins, ENG Advisory Committee Member
- 2:30-3:00 **Preparation for Discussion with the Director's Office** Led by Darryll Pines, ENG Advisory Committee Chair
- 3:00-3:15 Break
- 3:15-4:00 **Perspective from the Director's Office** France Córdova, NSF Director Fleming Crim, NSF Chief Operating Officer Brian Stone, NSF Chief of Staff

## 4:00-4:10 NSB Visioning Leah Jamieson, ENG Advisory Committee Member

4:10-4:30 Engineering Visioning Summit and Beyond Deborah Crawford, Vice President for Research, George Mason University, Summit Co-Chair Lance Davis, Senior Advisor, National Academy of Engineering, Summit Co-Chair



- 4:30-5:15 Breakouts on Engineering Visioning
- 5:15-5:20 *Preparation for report out*
- 5:20-6:00 **Report Out and Discussion on Engineering Visioning** Led by Sarah Rajala, ENG Advisory Committee Co-Chair
- 6:00 *Meeting Adjourns for the Day*
- DAY 2 THURSDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2019
- 8:00-8:30 Light Refreshments
- 8:30 Meeting Resumes
- 8:30-8:45 Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental and Transport Systems (CBET) Overview Richard Dickinson, Division Director, CBET
- 8:45-9:00 CBET Committee of Visitors (COV) Report Christopher Roberts, Uthlaut Professor and Dean, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering, Auburn University, CBET COV Co-chair
- 9:00-9:15 **Division of Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation (CMMI) Overview** Robert Stone, Division Director, CMMI
- 9:15-9:30 CMMI Committee of Visitors (COV) Report Delcie Durham, Professor Emerita, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of South Florida, CMMI COV Chair
- 9:30-9:40 Discussion on CBET and CMMI COVs Led by Gregory Washington, ENG Advisory Committee Member Yannis Yortsos, ENG Advisory Committee Member
- 9:40-9:45 Vote on Acceptance of CBET and CMMI COV Reports
- 9:45-10:00 Break
- 10:00-10:20 **Mid-scale Research Infrastructure** Stephen Meacham, Section Head for Integrative Activities, NSF Office of Integrative Activities (OIA)



- 10:20-11:00 Discussion on Mid-scale Research Infrastructure Stephen Meacham, Section Head for Integrative Activities, OIA Paul Lane, Program Director, Division of Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems Usha Varshney, Program Director, Division of Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems
- 11:00-11:15Stopping HarassmentRhonda Davis, Head, NSF Office of Diversity and Inclusion
- 11:15-11:45Discussion on Stopping HarassmentLed by Gilda Barabino, ENG Advisory Committee Member
- 11:45-12:15 Roundtable on Strategic Recommendations for ENG Led by Darryll Pines, ENG Advisory Committee Chair
- 12:15-12:30 Closing Remarks and Wrap Up Darryll Pines, ENG Advisory Committee Chair Dawn Tilbury, Assistant Director for Engineering
- 12:30 Meeting Adjourns