Skip to main content
Email Print Share

NSE/NER Awards

Prop ID Institution Name PI Name
Email
Telephone
Proposal Title (key words) NSF Funds

Awards with focus on Biosystems at the Nanoscale (7 awards; $585,390)

1 0210854 Univ of Arizona Raymond Goldstein
gold@physics.arizona.edu
(520) 621-1065
NER: Dynamics of Flagellar Polymorphism $99,911
2 0209687 PA St Univ University Park William Hancock
woh1@psu.edu
(814) 863-0492-
NER: Oligonucleotide-directed alignment of cytoskeletal filaments for nanoscale assembly $95,000
3 0210365 Virginia Commonwealth Univ Jae-Hoon Jun
jun_77845@yahoo.com
(804) 827-1777
NER: Nanoengineering and Characterization of Electrospun Collagen Matrix $90,479
4 0210384 Oregon State University Gregory Rorrer
rorrerfl@che.orst.edu
(541) 737-3370
NER: Biosynthesis of Germanium Oxide Nanoparticles $100,000
5 0210005 Iowa State University Vladimir Tsukruk
Alex_Smirnov@ncsu.edu
(515) 294-6904
NER: Multi-nanolayered bio-inspired membranes $10,000
6 0210656 North Carolina State Univ Orlin Velev
odvelev@unity.ncsu.edu
(919) 513-4318
NER: Bioelectronic interfacing of living cells via self-assembled microwires $90,000
7 0210220 Johns Hopkins University Michael Yu
yu@jhu.edu
(410) 516-8935
NER: Biotemplate Directed Assembly of Nanocrystal Arrays $100,000

Awards with focus on Nanoscale Structures, Novel Phenomena, and Quantum Control (21 awards, $1,995,804)

8 0210689 SUNY Buffalo Paschlis Alexandridis
palexand@eng.buffalo.edu
(716) 645-2911

NER: Manipulation and 3D Organization of Nanoparticles Using Dielectrophoresis $100,000
9 0210840 Univ of Houston Chengzhi Cai
cai@uh.edu
(713) 743-2710
NER: The First Rational Approach to the Preparation of Single Molecule AFM Tips $60,000
10 0210207 PA St Univ University Park Elizabeth Dickey
ecd10@psu.edu
(814) 865-9067
NER: Optically Active Rare Earth Doped Carbon Nanotubes $100,000
11 0210249 SUNY Albany Katharine Dovidenko
kdovidenko@uamail.albany.edu
(518) 437-4550
NER: FIB Micromachining and Advanced Characterization of Carbon Nanotube-Metal Junctions $96,436
12 0210714 University of Michigan Rachel Goldman
rsgold@engin.umich.edu
(734) 647-6821
NER: Role of Elastic Anisotropy in Semiconductor Nanopatterning $100,000
13 0210485 Univ of Oklahoma Brian Grady
bpgrady@ou.edu
(405) 325-4369
NER: Polymer Nanowires Synthesized on a Flat Surface Via a Surfactant Template $99,987
14 0210508 University of Akron Jun Hu
jhu@chemistry.uakron.edu
(330) 972-5343
NER: Bioengineering of Implantable Nanosize Optical Sensing Elements by Controlled Radical Polymerization $100,000
15 0210460 Georgia Tech Christopher Jones
chris.jones@che.gatech.edu
(404) 385-1683
NER: Molecular Design of Magnetic Nanocatalysts $98,951
16 0210354 Illinois Inst of Tech M.I. Khan
ishaque.khan@iit.edu
(312) 567-3431
NER: Novel Nanostructured Solids: Potential DeNOx Catalysts $98,000
17 0210124 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Nikhil Koratkar
koratn@rpi.edu
(518) 276-2630
NER: Light-Weight Minimally-Intrusive Damping Films Featuring Carbon Nanotubes $100,000
18 0210372 Univ of Texas Austin Michael Krische
mkrische@mail.utexas.edu
(512) 997-7184
NER: Orthogonal Molecular Recognition Motifs for Nanoscale Assembly $90,000
19 0210525 Univ of Washington Vipin Kumar
vkumar@u.washington.edu
(206) 543-5535
NER: Creation of Polymeric Nanofoams based on Retrograde Vitrification $99,910
20 0210479 Georgia Tech Carson Meredith
carson.meredith@che.gatech.edu
(404) 385-2151
NER: Engineering Stable Nanoscale Conducting / Insulating Polymer Interfaces: Combinatorial Exploratory Research $99,938
21 0210879 University of Utah Jan Miller
jdmiller@mines.utah.edu
(801) 581-5160
NER: In-Situ Second Harmonic Generation Studies to Describe Nanoscale Phenomena at the Surfaces of Microparticles $90,000
22 0210205 Carnegie Mellon University James Schneider
schneider@cmu.edu
(412) 268-4394
NER: Chemical Probing of Biosensor Nano-environments using Dynamic AFM $100,000
23 0210230 Texas Tech University Sindee Simon
sindee.simon@coe.ttu.edu
(806) 742-1763
NER: Supercritical Carbon Dioxide Extraction Process for Forming Nanoporous Materials for Low-k and Biosensor Applications $99,986
24 0210506 Univ of Georgia John Stickney
stickney@sunchem.chem.uga.edu
(706) 542-1967
NER: Electrodeposition of Nanostructured Compound Semiconductors $99,832
25 0210293 Ohio State Univ Vish Subramaniam
subramaniam.1@osu.edu
(614) 292-6096
NER: Coulomb Crystals of Carbon Single-Walled Nanotubes (SWNTs); Manipulation, Separation, and Synthesis $95,000
26 0210587 Rensselaer Polytechic Institute Gwo-Ching
Wangwangg@rpi.edu
(518) 276-8387
NER: Exploring The Mechanical and Thermoelectric Properties of Composite Nano-Rods and Nano-Springs $100,000
27 0210051 Univ of Nebraska Lincoln Xinwei Wang
xinweiw@unlserve.unl.edu
(402) 472-3089
NER: Experimental Investigation of Heat Transfer in Individual Nanowires/Tubes $76,764
28 0210395 VA Polytechnic Inst & State Univ Gordon Yee
gyee@vt.edu
(540) 231-3090
NER: A Different Strategy for the Production of Molecule-Based Nanomagnets $91,000

Awards with focus on Device and System Architecture (31 awards, $2,690,607)

29 0210282 Univ of Cal Riverside Alexander Balandin
alexb@ee.ucr.edu
(909) 787-2351
NER: Enhancement of the Efficiency of Thermoelectric Devices via Engineering of the Electron-Phonon Interaction in Quantum Dot Superlattices $79,999
30 0206950 Virginia Commonwealth Univ Supriyo Bandyopadhyay
sbandy@mail2.vcu.edu
(804) 827-6275
NER: Novel Electrochemically Self Assembled Nanowire Infrared Photodetectors $88,502
31 0210495 Univ of Ill Urbana Champaign Paul Carney
carney@uiuc.edu
(217) 333-2186
NER: Investigation of carbon nanotube nano-optics $87,250
32 0209279 Univ of Colorado Boulder Steven Cundiff
cundiffs@jila.colorado.edu
(303) 492-7858
NER: Terahertz Detection of Electron Spin Precession $95,000
33 0210415 Georgia Tech Levent Degertekin
levent.degertekin@me.gatech.edu
(404) 385-1357
NER: Acoustic radiation pressure driven atomic force microscope for fast imaging and parallel sensing of biological and chemical processes at the nanoscale $90,000
34 0210447 Univ of Ill Urbana Champaign Russell Giannetta
russg@uiuc.edu
(217) 333-5882
NER: Fabrication of MgB2 quantum devices $90,000
35 0210647 Carnegie Mellon University David Greve
dg07@andrew.cmu.edu
(412) 268-3707
NER: Silicide Quantum Dots for Nanoelectronics $90,000
36 0210033 PA St Univ University Park Craig Grimes
cgrimes@engr.psu.edu
(814) 865-9142
NER: Magnetically Activated Nanoporous Structures for Biomedical Applications $90,000
37 0210501 University of Michigan Lingjie Guo
guo@eecs.umich.edu
(734) 647-7718
NER: Field Effect Transistor Using Long Conjugated Semiconducting Molecular Wires $80,000
38 0210281 Univ of Cal Santa Barbara Elisabeth Gwinn
bgwinn@physics.ucsb.edu
(805) 893-2254
NER: Hybrid Organic-inorganic devices for future spintronics applications $90,000
39 0210877 Univ of Colorado Denver Martin Huber
martin.huber@cudenver.edu
(303) 556-3561
NER: High-Bandwidth Scanning DC SQUID Susceptometer for Characterization of Nanomagnetic Structures and Phenomena $99,883
40 0210738 Georgia Tech William Hunt
bill.hunt@ee.gatech.edu
(404) 894-2945
NER: Electron Beam Emitter SPR for Biosensor Applications Nanoscale Exploratory Research $80,000
41 0210428 Univ of Connecticut Faquir Jain
fcq@eng2.uconn.edu
(860) 486-3752
NER: Nanochannel FETs and Quantum Dot Based Nonvolatile Memory Cells using Site-Specific and Layer-by-Layer Self-Assembly Techniques $93,609
42 0210743 Cornell University Edwin Kan
kan@ece.cornell.edu
(607) 255-3998
NER: Novel Applications Based on Attractive and Repulsive Electrostatic Forces in Nanoscale $80,000
43 0210106 Univ of Colorado Boulder Stephen Leone
srl@cchem.berkeley.edu
(510) 643-5467
NER: Femtosecond Pump-Probe Confocal Microscopy of ZnO Nanowire Lasers $80,000
44 0210197 Univ of Minnesota Twin Cities David Lilja
lilja@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-5007
NER: Designing Reliable Computers Using Molecular Nanotechnology $70,000
45 0210094 Univ of Tennessee Knoxville Bruce MacLennan
maclennan@cs.utk.edu
(865) 974-5067
NER: Universally Programmable Intelligent Matter $64,117
46 0210626 Oregon Health Sciences Univ Jack McCarthy
jmccarthy@ece.ogi.edu
(503) 748-1176
NER: Massively Parallel electron Photoemitter Micro-arrays for Nanoscale Lithography, Imaging, and Inspection Applicaitons $99,999
47 0210279 SUNY Albany Serge Oktyabrsky
soktyabrsky@umail.albany.edu
(518) 437-8686
NER: Engineering of InAs Quantum Dot Ensembles Using Interference of Optical Surface Waves $90,344
48 0210373 Univ of Washington Mark Oskin
oskin@cs.washington.edu
(206) 543-1695
NER: Computer Aided Design of Silicon-based Quantum Computers $90,761
49 0210421 University of Notre Dame Wolfgang Porod
porod@nd.edu
(219) 631-6376
NER: Computing Architectures for Coupled Nanomagnets $87,552
50 0210574 University of Florida Andrew Rinzler
rinzler@phys.ufl.edu
(352) 392-5656
NER: Optical modulation by field gated transparency $82,750
51 0210225 Brown University John Savage
john_savage@brown.edu
(401) 863-7642
NER: Exploring the Computational Limits Imposed by Nanotechnologies $97,828
52 0204978 University of Utah Jing Shij
shi@physics.utah.edu
(801) 585-0792
NER: Nanoscale Molecular Spintronic Materials and Devices $85,000
53 0210283 Univ of Cincinnati Raj Singh
raj.singh@uc.edu
(513) 556-5172
NER: Synthesis of Boron Nitride Nanotubes for Nanoelectronics $80,000
54 0210438 Univ of MD College Park Igor Smolyaninov
smoly@eng.umd.edu
(301) 405-3255
NER: Nanofabricated Optical Devices Based On Single Photon Tunneling $85,000
55 0210583 Louisiana State U & A&M College Phillip Sprunger
phils@lsu.edu
(225) 578-4621
NER: Spin Injector for Nanomagnetics and Spintronics Research $85,000
56 0209422 New Jersey Institute of Technology Leonid Tsybeskov
tsybesko@adm.njit.edu
(973) 596-6594
NER: Efficient Light Emitters Based on Three-Dimensional GeSi Nanostructures $74,998
57 0210216 Ohio University Paul Van Patten
vanpatte@ohio.edu
(740) 517-8479
NER: AlGaN Quantum Dots for Short Wavelength Luminescent Devices $85,000
58 0210613 Texas Tech University Mark Vaughn
mark.vaughn@coe.ttu.edu
(806) 742-5158
NER: Developing a nanoscale strain gauge $98,015
59 0210453 Purdue University Steve Wereley
wereley@purdue.edu
(765) 494-5624
NER: Explorations in Biomedical Microdevices: Brownian Motion and Education $100,000

Awards with focus on Multi-scale, Multi-phenomena Theory, Modeling and Simulation at the Nanoscale (6 awards; $564,091)

60 0210551 University of Michigan Sharon Glotzers
glotzer@umich.edu
(734) 615-6296
NER: Simulation Strategies for Biomolecular Assembly of Nanoscale Building Blocks $100,000
61 0210487 North Carolina State Univ Keith Gubbins
keg@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-2262
NER: Molecular Modeling of Self-Assembled Nanostructures on Surfaces and in Narrow Pores $99,067
62 0210437 Harvard University Dudley Herschbach
herschbach@chemistry.harvard.edu
(617) 495-3218
NER: Mechanically "Tuning" and "Switching" the Dynamics of Molecular Motors $99,489
63 0210131 Univ of Ill Urbana Champaign Harley Johnson
htj@uiuc.edu
(217) 265-5468
NER: Coupled electronic and mechanical properties by conformational statistics tight-binding $95,000
64 0209915 PA St Univ University Park Sanat Kumar
sxk11@psu.edu
(814) 865-3294
NER: Microscopic Modeling of the Surfactant Mediated Reactive Assembly of Nanostructured Materials $75,000
65 0210288 Vanderbilt University Greg Walker
greg.walker@vanderbilt.edu
(615) 343-6959
NER: Understanding thermal transport in nano-devices via molecular modification $95,535

Awards with focus on Nanoscale Processes in the Environment (6 awards, $571,153)

66 0207709 Univ of Cal Davis William Casey
University of California Davis
NER: Can Aluminum Nanocluster Complexes Yield Rates of Ligand Exchange at Aluminous Mineral Surfaces? $93,930
67 0210681 Michigan State University Lawrence Drzal
drzal@egr.msu.edu
(517) 353-5466
NER: Biodegradable Green Nanocomposites for Automotive Applications $85,000
68 0209246 University of Delaware Chin-Pao Huang
huang@ce.udel.edu
(302) 831-8428
NER: Separation of Nano-sized Aquatic Particles by Electrically Assisted Tangential Flow Filtration: System Evaluation and Metal Speciation $83,900
69 0209610 University of Maryland College Park

University of Guelph

Steven Lower
lower@geology.umd.edu
(301) 405-4094

Terrance Beveridge
tjb@uoguelph.edu
(519) 837-1802

NER: Collaborative Research: Biologically inspired lithography $100,000

 

$14,163

70 0210819 Arizona State University Peggy O'Day
oday@asu.edu
(408) 965-4581
NER: Molecular-To-Microscale Investigation Of Microbial Habitats: Exploratory Studies Using Molecular Probes and Microcomputed Tomography and Fluorescence $94,735
71 0210820 University of New Mexico Huifang Xu
hfxu@unm.edu
(505) 277-7536
NER: Mesogeochemistry รน Geochemical Reactions and Mass Transfers in Nano-scale Pore Space Confinement $99,425

Awards with focus on Manufacturing Processing at the Nanoscale (15 awards, $1,390,081)

72 0210648 Rutgers Univ New Brunswick W. Roger Cannon
cannon@alumina.rutgers.edu
(908) 445-4718
NER: Hot Superplastic Powder Forging for Economic Nanocrystalline Ceramics $100,000
73 0210242 Clarkson University Cetin Cetinkaya
cetin@clarkson.edu
(315) 268-6514
NER: Exploring the Limits of Nanoparticle Removal with Pulsed Lasers $100,000
74 0210210 Duke University Daniel Cole
dgcole@duke.edu
(919) 660-5417
NER: Torque Spectroscopy for Nanosystem Characterization and Fabrication $99,994
75 0210240 University of Michigan Suman Das
sumadas@umich.edu
(734) 615-6646
NER: Nanofabrication Using Sub-wavelength Near-Field Nano-optical Laser Processing $99,981
76 0210681 Michigan State University Lawrence Drza
ldrzal@egr.msu.edu
(517) 353-5466
NER: Biodegradable Green Nanocomposites for Automotive Applications $85,000
77 0210195 Stevens Inst of Technology Henry Du
hdu@stevens-tech.edu
(201) 216-5262
NER: Fabrication of an Integrated Structure of 3D Macroporous Silica and Carbon Nanotubes $95,936
78 0210361 Univ of Cal Berkeley Costas Grigoropoulos
cgrigoro@me.berkeley.edu
(510) 642-2525
NER: Nanoscale Laser-assisted Deposition and Crystal Growth $99,516
79 0210058 North Carolina State Univ Hans Hallen
hans_hallen@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-6314
NER: Deposition
of Molecular Nanostructures with Controlled in-plane Orientation
$99,999
80 0210036 Drexel University Richard Knight
knightr@coe.drexel.edu
(215) 895-1844
NER: Feasibility Study on High Yield Thermal Plasma Synthesis of Carbon Nanotubes and Other Nanocrystalline Forms of Carbon $100,000
81 0210339 Univ of Tennessee Knoxville Philip Rack
prack@utk.edu
(865) 974-5344
NER: Nanoscale Electron Beam Stimulated Processing $99,688
82 0210554 Univ of Tennessee Knoxville J. Reece Roth
jrr@utk.edu
(865) 974-4446
NER: Increasing the Strength, Surface Energy, and Wickability of Polymeric Nanofabrics by Exposure to a One Atmosphere Uniform Glow Discharge Plasma (OAUGDP) $99,967
83 0210357 Univ of Wisconsin Madison Mark Saffman
msaffman@facstaff.uwisc.edu
(608) 265-5601
NER: Atomic lithography of arbitrary two-dimensional nanostructures $70,000
84 0210534 University of Florida Rajiv Singh
rsing@mail.mse.ufl.edu
(352) 392-1032
NER: Novel, High Throughput Continuous Nanoparticle Classifier (CNC) $70,000
85 0210670 Univ of Colorado Boulder Alan Weimer
alan.weimer@colorado.edu
(303) 492-3759
NER: Conformal Nanoencapsulation of Ultrafine Particles $70,000
86 0209556 Purdue University Xianfan Xu
xxu@ecn.purdue.edu
(765) 494-5639
NER: Development of a Novel Low Cost Nano-lithography Technique using a Nanometric High Transmission Optical Antenna $100,000

Awards with focus on societal implications (2 awards; $280,000)

87 210552 USC Davis Baird Philosophical and Social Dimensions of Nanoscale Research: Developing a Rational Approach to a Newly Emerging Science and Technology $180,000
88 0210452 University of Virginia Michael Gorman Social and Ethical Dimensions of Nanotechnology (Societal Implications theme) $100,000