text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


NSE/NER Awards

Prop ID

Institution Name

PI Name
Email
Telephone

Proposal Title (key words)

NSF
Funds

Awards with focus on Biosystems at the Nanoscale (7 awards; $585,390)

1

0210854

Univ of Arizona

Raymond Goldstein
gold@physics.arizona.edu
(520) 621-1065

NER: Dynamics of Flagellar Polymorphism

$99,911

divider line

2

0209687

PA St Univ University Park

William Hancock
woh1@psu.edu
(814) 863-0492-

NER: Oligonucleotide-directed alignment of cytoskeletal filaments for nanoscale assembly

$95,000

divider line

3

0210365

Virginia Commonwealth Univ

Jae-Hoon Jun
jun_77845@yahoo.com
(804) 827-1777

NER: Nanoengineering and Characterization of Electrospun Collagen Matrix

$90,479

divider line

4

0210384

Oregon State University

Gregory Rorrer
rorrerfl@che.orst.edu
(541) 737-3370

NER: Biosynthesis of Germanium Oxide Nanoparticles

$100,000

divider line

5

0210005

Iowa State University

Vladimir Tsukruk
Alex_Smirnov@ncsu.edu
(515) 294-6904

NER: Multi-nanolayered bio-inspired membranes

$10,000

divider line

6

0210656

North Carolina State Univ

Orlin Velev
odvelev@unity.ncsu.edu
(919) 513-4318

NER: Bioelectronic interfacing of living cells via self-assembled microwires

$90,000

divider line

7

0210220

Johns Hopkins University

Michael Yu
yu@jhu.edu
(410) 516-8935

NER: Biotemplate Directed Assembly of Nanocrystal Arrays

$100,000

Awards with focus on Nanoscale Structures, Novel Phenomena,
and Quantum Control (21 awards, $1,995,804)

8

0210689

SUNY Buffalo

Paschlis Alexandridis
palexand@eng.buffalo.edu
(716) 645-2911

NER: Manipulation and 3D Organization of Nanoparticles Using Dielectrophoresis

$100,000

divider line

9

0210840

Univ of Houston

Chengzhi Cai
cai@uh.edu
(713) 743-2710

NER: The First Rational Approach to the Preparation of Single Molecule AFM Tips

$60,000

divider line

10

0210207

PA St Univ University Park

Elizabeth Dickey
ecd10@psu.edu
(814) 865-9067

NER: Optically Active Rare Earth Doped Carbon Nanotubes

$100,000

divider line

11

0210249

SUNY Albany

Katharine Dovidenko
kdovidenko@uamail.albany.edu
(518) 437-4550

NER: FIB Micromachining and Advanced Characterization of Carbon Nanotube-Metal Junctions

$96,436

divider line

12

0210714

University of Michigan

Rachel Goldman
rsgold@engin.umich.edu
(734) 647-6821

NER: Role of Elastic Anisotropy in Semiconductor Nanopatterning

$100,000

divider line

13

0210485

Univ of Oklahoma

Brian Grady
bpgrady@ou.edu
(405) 325-4369

NER: Polymer Nanowires Synthesized on a Flat Surface Via a Surfactant Template

$99,987

divider line

14

0210508

University of Akron

Jun Hu
jhu@chemistry.uakron.edu
(330) 972-5343

NER: Bioengineering of Implantable Nanosize Optical Sensing Elements by Controlled Radical Polymerization

$100,000

divider line

15

0210460

Georgia Tech

Christopher Jones
chris.jones@che.gatech.edu
(404) 385-1683

NER: Molecular Design of Magnetic Nanocatalysts

$98,951

divider line

16

0210354

Illinois Inst of Tech

M.I. Khan
ishaque.khan@iit.edu
(312) 567-3431

NER: Novel Nanostructured Solids: Potential DeNOx Catalysts

$98,000

divider line

17

0210124

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Nikhil Koratkar
koratn@rpi.edu
(518) 276-2630

NER: Light-Weight Minimally-Intrusive Damping Films Featuring Carbon Nanotubes

$100,000

divider line

18

0210372

Univ of Texas Austin

Michael Krische
mkrische@mail.utexas.edu
(512) 997-7184

NER: Orthogonal Molecular Recognition Motifs for Nanoscale Assembly

$90,000

divider line

19

0210525

Univ of Washington

Vipin Kumar
vkumar@u.washington.edu
(206) 543-5535

NER: Creation of Polymeric Nanofoams based on Retrograde Vitrification

$99,910

divider line

20

0210479

Georgia Tech

Carson Meredith
carson.meredith@che.gatech.edu
(404) 385-2151

NER: Engineering Stable Nanoscale Conducting / Insulating Polymer Interfaces: Combinatorial Exploratory Research

$99,938

divider line

21

0210879

University of Utah

Jan Miller
jdmiller@mines.utah.edu
(801) 581-5160

NER: In-Situ Second Harmonic Generation Studies to Describe Nanoscale Phenomena at the Surfaces of Microparticles

$90,000

divider line

22

0210205

Carnegie Mellon University

James Schneider
schneider@cmu.edu
(412) 268-4394

NER: Chemical Probing of Biosensor Nano-environments using Dynamic AFM

$100,000

divider line

23

0210230

Texas Tech University

Sindee Simon
sindee.simon@coe.ttu.edu
(806) 742-1763

NER: Supercritical Carbon Dioxide Extraction Process for Forming Nanoporous Materials for Low-k and Biosensor Applications

$99,986

divider line

24

0210506

Univ of Georgia

John Stickney
stickney@sunchem.chem.uga.edu
(706) 542-1967

NER: Electrodeposition of Nanostructured Compound Semiconductors

$99,832

divider line

25

0210293

Ohio State Univ

Vish Subramaniam
subramaniam.1@osu.edu
(614) 292-6096

NER: Coulomb Crystals of Carbon Single-Walled Nanotubes (SWNTs); Manipulation, Separation, and Synthesis

$95,000

divider line

26

0210587

Rensselaer Polytechic Institute

Gwo-Ching
Wangwangg@rpi.edu
(518) 276-8387

NER: Exploring The Mechanical and Thermoelectric Properties of Composite Nano-Rods and Nano-Springs

$100,000

divider line

27

0210051

Univ of Nebraska Lincoln

Xinwei Wang
xinweiw@unlserve.unl.edu
(402) 472-3089

NER: Experimental Investigation of Heat Transfer in Individual Nanowires/Tubes

$76,764

divider line

28

0210395

VA Polytechnic Inst & State Univ

Gordon Yee
gyee@vt.edu
(540) 231-3090

NER: A Different Strategy for the Production of Molecule-Based Nanomagnets

$91,000

Awards with focus on Device and System Architecture (31 awards, $2,690,607)

29

0210282

Univ of Cal Riverside

Alexander Balandin
alexb@ee.ucr.edu
(909) 787-2351

NER: Enhancement of the Efficiency of Thermoelectric Devices via Engineering of the Electron-Phonon Interaction in Quantum Dot Superlattices

$79,999

divider line

30

0206950

Virginia Commonwealth Univ

Supriyo Bandyopadhyay
sbandy@mail2.vcu.edu
(804) 827-6275

NER: Novel Electrochemically Self Assembled Nanowire Infrared Photodetectors

$88,502

divider line

31

0210495

Univ of Ill Urbana Champaign

Paul Carney
carney@uiuc.edu
(217) 333-2186

NER: Investigation of carbon nanotube nano-optics

$87,250

divider line

32

0209279

Univ of Colorado Boulder

Steven Cundiff
cundiffs@jila.colorado.edu
(303) 492-7858

NER: Terahertz Detection of Electron Spin Precession

$95,000

divider line

33

0210415

Georgia Tech

Levent Degertekin
levent.degertekin@me.gatech.edu
(404) 385-1357

NER: Acoustic radiation pressure driven atomic force microscope for fast imaging and parallel sensing of biological and chemical processes at the nanoscale

$90,000

divider line

34

0210447

Univ of Ill Urbana Champaign

Russell Giannetta
russg@uiuc.edu
(217) 333-5882

NER: Fabrication of MgB2 quantum devices

$90,000

divider line

35

0210647

Carnegie Mellon University

David Greve
dg07@andrew.cmu.edu
(412) 268-3707

NER: Silicide Quantum Dots for Nanoelectronics

$90,000

divider line

36

0210033

PA St Univ University Park

Craig Grimes
cgrimes@engr.psu.edu
(814) 865-9142

NER: Magnetically Activated Nanoporous Structures for Biomedical Applications

$90,000

divider line

37

0210501

University of Michigan

Lingjie Guo
guo@eecs.umich.edu
(734) 647-7718

NER: Field Effect Transistor Using Long Conjugated Semiconducting Molecular Wires

$80,000

divider line

38

0210281

Univ of Cal Santa Barbara

Elisabeth Gwinn
bgwinn@physics.ucsb.edu
(805) 893-2254

NER: Hybrid Organic-inorganic devices for future spintronics applications

$90,000

divider line

39

0210877

Univ of Colorado Denver

Martin Huber
martin.huber@cudenver.edu
(303) 556-3561

NER: High-Bandwidth Scanning DC SQUID Susceptometer for Characterization of Nanomagnetic Structures and Phenomena

$99,883

divider line

40

0210738

Georgia Tech

William Hunt
bill.hunt@ee.gatech.edu
(404) 894-2945

NER: Electron Beam Emitter SPR for Biosensor Applications Nanoscale Exploratory Research

$80,000

divider line

41

0210428

Univ of Connecticut

Faquir Jain
fcq@eng2.uconn.edu
(860) 486-3752

NER: Nanochannel FETs and Quantum Dot Based Nonvolatile Memory Cells using Site-Specific and Layer-by-Layer Self-Assembly Techniques

$93,609

divider line

42

0210743

Cornell University

Edwin Kan
kan@ece.cornell.edu
(607) 255-3998

NER: Novel Applications Based on Attractive and Repulsive Electrostatic Forces in Nanoscale

$80,000

divider line

43

0210106

Univ of Colorado Boulder

Stephen Leone
srl@cchem.berkeley.edu
(510) 643-5467

NER: Femtosecond Pump-Probe Confocal Microscopy of ZnO Nanowire Lasers

$80,000

divider line

44

0210197

Univ of Minnesota Twin Cities

David Lilja
lilja@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-5007

NER: Designing Reliable Computers Using Molecular Nanotechnology

$70,000

divider line

45

0210094

Univ of Tennessee Knoxville

Bruce MacLennan
maclennan@cs.utk.edu
(865) 974-5067

NER: Universally Programmable Intelligent Matter

$64,117

divider line

46

0210626

Oregon Health Sciences Univ

Jack McCarthy
jmccarthy@ece.ogi.edu
(503) 748-1176

NER: Massively Parallel electron Photoemitter Micro-arrays for Nanoscale Lithography, Imaging, and Inspection Applicaitons

$99,999

divider line

47

0210279

SUNY Albany

Serge Oktyabrsky
soktyabrsky@umail.albany.edu
(518) 437-8686

NER: Engineering of InAs Quantum Dot Ensembles Using Interference of Optical Surface Waves

$90,344

divider line

48

0210373

Univ of Washington

Mark Oskin
oskin@cs.washington.edu
(206) 543-1695

NER: Computer Aided Design of Silicon-based Quantum Computers

$90,761

divider line

49

0210421

University of Notre Dame

Wolfgang Porod
porod@nd.edu
(219) 631-6376

NER: Computing Architectures for Coupled Nanomagnets

$87,552

divider line

50

0210574

University of Florida

Andrew Rinzler
rinzler@phys.ufl.edu
(352) 392-5656

NER: Optical modulation by field gated transparency

$82,750

divider line

51

0210225

Brown University

John Savage
john_savage@brown.edu
(401) 863-7642

NER: Exploring the Computational Limits Imposed by Nanotechnologies

$97,828

divider line

52

0204978

University of Utah

Jing Shij
shi@physics.utah.edu
(801) 585-0792

NER: Nanoscale Molecular Spintronic Materials and Devices

$85,000

divider line

53

0210283

Univ of Cincinnati

Raj Singh
raj.singh@uc.edu
(513) 556-5172

NER: Synthesis of Boron Nitride Nanotubes for Nanoelectronics

$80,000

divider line

54

0210438

Univ of MD College Park

Igor Smolyaninov
smoly@eng.umd.edu
(301) 405-3255

NER: Nanofabricated Optical Devices Based On Single Photon Tunneling

$85,000

divider line

55

0210583

Louisiana State U & A&M College

Phillip Sprunger
phils@lsu.edu
(225) 578-4621

NER: Spin Injector for Nanomagnetics and Spintronics Research

$85,000

divider line

56

0209422

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Leonid Tsybeskov
tsybesko@adm.njit.edu
(973) 596-6594

NER: Efficient Light Emitters Based on Three-Dimensional GeSi Nanostructures

$74,998

divider line

57

0210216

Ohio University

Paul Van Patten
vanpatte@ohio.edu
(740) 517-8479

NER: AlGaN Quantum Dots for Short Wavelength Luminescent Devices

$85,000

divider line

58

0210613

Texas Tech University

Mark Vaughn
mark.vaughn@coe.ttu.edu
(806) 742-5158

NER: Developing a nanoscale strain gauge

$98,015

divider line

59

0210453

Purdue University

Steve Wereley
wereley@purdue.edu
(765) 494-5624

NER: Explorations in Biomedical Microdevices: Brownian Motion and Education

$100,000

Awards with focus on Multi-scale, Multi-phenomena Theory, Modeling
and Simulation at the Nanoscale (6 awards; $564,091)

60

0210551

University of Michigan

Sharon Glotzers
glotzer@umich.edu
(734) 615-6296

NER: Simulation Strategies for Biomolecular Assembly of Nanoscale Building Blocks

$100,000

divider line

61

0210487

North Carolina State Univ

Keith Gubbins
keg@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-2262

NER: Molecular Modeling of Self-Assembled Nanostructures on Surfaces and in Narrow Pores

$99,067

divider line

62

0210437

Harvard University

Dudley Herschbach
herschbach@chemistry.harvard.edu
(617) 495-3218

NER: Mechanically "Tuning" and "Switching" the Dynamics of Molecular Motors

$99,489

divider line

63

0210131

Univ of Ill Urbana Champaign

Harley Johnson
htj@uiuc.edu
(217) 265-5468

NER: Coupled electronic and mechanical properties by conformational statistics tight-binding

$95,000

divider line

64

0209915

PA St Univ University Park

Sanat Kumar
sxk11@psu.edu
(814) 865-3294

NER: Microscopic Modeling of the Surfactant Mediated Reactive Assembly of Nanostructured Materials

$75,000

divider line

65

0210288

Vanderbilt University

Greg Walker
greg.walker@vanderbilt.edu
(615) 343-6959

NER: Understanding thermal transport in nano-devices via molecular modification

$95,535

Awards with focus on Nanoscale Processes in the Environment (6 awards, $571,153)

66

0207709

Univ of Cal Davis

William Casey
University of California Davis

NER: Can Aluminum Nanocluster Complexes Yield Rates of Ligand Exchange at Aluminous Mineral Surfaces?

$93,930

divider line

67

0210681

Michigan State University

Lawrence Drzal
drzal@egr.msu.edu
(517) 353-5466

NER: Biodegradable Green Nanocomposites for Automotive Applications

$85,000

divider line

68

0209246

University of Delaware

Chin-Pao Huang
huang@ce.udel.edu
(302) 831-8428

NER: Separation of Nano-sized Aquatic Particles by Electrically Assisted Tangential Flow Filtration: System Evaluation and Metal Speciation

$83,900

divider line

69

0209610

University of Maryland College Park

University of Guelph

Steven Lower
lower@geology.umd.edu
(301) 405-4094

Terrance Beveridge
tjb@uoguelph.edu
(519) 837-1802

NER: Collaborative Research: Biologically inspired lithography

$100,000

 

$14,163

divider line

70

0210819

Arizona State University

Peggy O'Day
oday@asu.edu
(408) 965-4581

NER: Molecular-To-Microscale Investigation Of Microbial Habitats: Exploratory Studies Using Molecular Probes and Microcomputed Tomography and Fluorescence

$94,735

divider line

71

0210820

University of New Mexico

Huifang Xu
hfxu@unm.edu
(505) 277-7536

NER: Mesogeochemistry Geochemical Reactions and Mass Transfers in Nano-scale Pore Space Confinement

$99,425

Awards with focus on Manufacturing Processing at the Nanoscale (15 awards, $1,390,081)

72

0210648

Rutgers Univ New Brunswick

W. Roger Cannon
cannon@alumina.rutgers.edu
(908) 445-4718

NER: Hot Superplastic Powder Forging for Economic Nanocrystalline Ceramics

$100,000

divider line

73

0210242

Clarkson University

Cetin Cetinkaya
cetin@clarkson.edu
(315) 268-6514

NER: Exploring the Limits of Nanoparticle Removal with Pulsed Lasers

$100,000

divider line

74

0210210

Duke University

Daniel Cole
dgcole@duke.edu
(919) 660-5417

NER: Torque Spectroscopy for Nanosystem Characterization and Fabrication

$99,994

divider line

75

0210240

University of Michigan

Suman Das
sumadas@umich.edu
(734) 615-6646

NER: Nanofabrication Using Sub-wavelength Near-Field Nano-optical Laser Processing

$99,981

divider line

76

0210681

Michigan State University

Lawrence Drza
ldrzal@egr.msu.edu
(517) 353-5466

NER: Biodegradable Green Nanocomposites for Automotive Applications

$85,000

divider line

77

0210195

Stevens Inst of Technology

Henry Du
hdu@stevens-tech.edu
(201) 216-5262

NER: Fabrication of an Integrated Structure of 3D Macroporous Silica and Carbon Nanotubes

$95,936

divider line

78

0210361

Univ of Cal Berkeley

Costas Grigoropoulos
cgrigoro@me.berkeley.edu
(510) 642-2525

NER: Nanoscale Laser-assisted Deposition and Crystal Growth

$99,516

divider line

79

0210058

North Carolina State Univ

Hans Hallen
hans_hallen@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-6314

NER: Deposition
of Molecular Nanostructures with Controlled in-plane Orientation

$99,999

divider line

80

0210036

Drexel University

Richard Knight
knightr@coe.drexel.edu
(215) 895-1844

NER: Feasibility Study on High Yield Thermal Plasma Synthesis of Carbon Nanotubes and Other Nanocrystalline Forms of Carbon

$100,000

divider line

81

0210339

Univ of Tennessee Knoxville

Philip Rack
prack@utk.edu
(865) 974-5344

NER: Nanoscale Electron Beam Stimulated Processing

$99,688

divider line

82

0210554

Univ of Tennessee Knoxville

J. Reece Roth
jrr@utk.edu
(865) 974-4446

NER: Increasing the Strength, Surface Energy, and Wickability of Polymeric Nanofabrics by Exposure to a One Atmosphere Uniform Glow Discharge Plasma (OAUGDP)

$99,967

divider line

83

0210357

Univ of Wisconsin Madison

Mark Saffman
msaffman@facstaff.uwisc.edu
(608) 265-5601

NER: Atomic lithography of arbitrary two-dimensional nanostructures

$70,000

divider line

84

0210534

University of Florida

Rajiv Singh
rsing@mail.mse.ufl.edu
(352) 392-1032

NER: Novel, High Throughput Continuous Nanoparticle Classifier (CNC)

$70,000

divider line

85

0210670

Univ of Colorado Boulder

Alan Weimer
alan.weimer@colorado.edu
(303) 492-3759

NER: Conformal Nanoencapsulation of Ultrafine Particles

$70,000

divider line

86

0209556

Purdue University

Xianfan Xu
xxu@ecn.purdue.edu
(765) 494-5639

NER: Development of a Novel Low Cost Nano-lithography Technique using a Nanometric High Transmission Optical Antenna

$100,000

Awards with focus on societal implications (2 awards; $280,000)

87

210552

USC

Davis Baird

Philosophical and Social Dimensions of Nanoscale Research: Developing a Rational Approach to a Newly Emerging Science and Technology

$180,000

divider line
88

0210452

University of Virginia

Michael Gorman

Social and Ethical Dimensions of Nanotechnology (Societal Implications theme)

$100,000

 

Back to Top of page