Skip to main content
Email Print Share


NIRT Awards

Prop Id

Institution Name

PI Name
E-mail
Telephone Number

Proposal Title
(key words)

NSF Funds ($mil.)

Awards with focus on Biosystems (3 awards, $5.09 million)

1

0210777

U of PA

Eric Boder
boder@seas.upenn.edu
(215) 898-5658

Combinatorial Engineering of Nanomachines: Building Novel Membrane Proteins via De Novo Design and Directed Evolution

1.49

divider line

2

0210807

U of CA Davis

Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague
gervay@chem.ucdavid.edu
(530) 754-9577

Probing Viral Adhesion with Nanoengineered Biomembranes and Quantum Dots

1.85

divider line

3

0210690

U of CA Los Angeles

Leonard Rome
lrome@mednet.ucla.edu
(310) 825-0709

The Development of Vault Nano-Capsules

1.75

Awards with focus on Structures and Phenomena (18 awards, $24 million)

4

0210742

U of Rochester

Nicholas Bigelow
nbig@lle.rochester.edu
(585) 275-8544

Next Generation Atom Chips for Quantum Information Technology

1.60

divider line

5

0210120

Washington University

William Buhro
buhro@wachem.wustl.edu.edu
(314) 935-4269

Electrical and Mechanical Properties
of Boron and Metal-boride Nanowires,
and Nanoscale Devices Built from them

1.25

divider line

6

0210176

U of Cal Berkeley

Michael Crommie
crommie@socrates.berkeley.edu (510) 642-9392

Synthesis and Control of Molecular Machines

1.30

divider line

7

0210549

U of Nevada Reno

John Frederick
jhf@chem.unr.edu
(775) 784-1347

Synthesis and Characterization
of a Light-Driven Molecular Motor

1.17

divider line

8

0210579

Drexel University

Yury Gogotsi
gogotsi@drexel.edu
(215) 895-6446

Carbon Nanopipes for Nanofluidic Devices and In-situ Fluid Studies

1.65

divider line

9

0210785

Vanderbilt University

Richard Haglund
richard.haglund@vanderbilt.edu
(615) 322-2828

Size Dependence of Phase Transitions in Nanocrystalline Oxides

1.00

divider line

10

0210806

U of Wisconsin Madison

Robert Hamers
rjhamers@facstaff.edu
(608) 262-6371

Nanotubes and nanowires as biological sensors and actuators: Approaching the single-molecule limit

1.45

divider line

11

0210215

Johns Hopkins Univ.

Kevin Hemker
hemker@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4489

Uncovering
Deformation Mechanisms of Nanostructured
Materials

1.00

divider line

12

0210915

Montana State University

Yves Idzerda
idzerda@physics.montana.edu
(406) 994-7838

Template-Constrained Magnetic Nano-materials: Synthesis
and Characterization

1.00

divider line

13

0210519

U of Notre Dame

Boldizsar Janko
bjanko@nd.edu
(219) 631-8049

Formation and Properties of Spin-Polarized Quantum
Dots in Magnetic Semiconductors by Controlled Variation of Magnetic Fields on

1.80

divider line

14

0210298

Louisiana Tech University

Yuri Lvov
ylvov@coes.latech.edu
(318) 257-5144

Nanoengineered shells for encapsulation and controlled release

1.28

divider line

15

0210580

U of Florida

Charles Martin
crmartin@chem.ufl.edu
(352) 392-8305

For Biomedical Nanotube
Technology

1.60

divider line

16

0210588

U of Wisconsin Madison

Paul Nealey
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
(608) 265-8171

Dimension Dependent Material Properties of Nanoscopic Macromolecular Structures

1.00

divider line

17

0210321

MIT

Caroline Ross
caross@mit.edu
(617) 285-0223

Nanostructured
Surfaces with
Long-Range Order
for Controlled
Self-Assembly

1.20

divider line

18

0210284

U of Delaware

S. Ismat Shah
ismat@udel.edu
(312) 831-1618

Semiconductor
Metal Oxide Nanoparticles for
Visible Light Photocatalysis

1.10

divider line

19

0210383

U of Texas Austin

Chih-Kang Shih
shih@physics.utexas.edu
(512) 472-6603

FRG: Collective and Quasiparticle
Properties of Nanocrystals and
Nano-Arrays

1.80

divider line

20

0210835

U of New Mexico

Timothy Ward
tlward@unm.edu
(505) 277-2067

Nanostructural Engineering of
Complex Functional Particles

1.60

divider line

21

0210247

Washington University

Karen Wooley
klwooley@artsci.wustl.edu
(314) 935-7136

One-,Two- and
Three-Dimensional Superstructured Materials from Well-Defined, Complex Nanoscale Components

1.70

Awards with focus on Devices and System Architectures (12 awards, $16.6 million)

22

0210698

U of Texas Austin

Ananth Dodabalapur
ananth@mer.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1890

Nanoscale Organic Circuits and Sensors

1.60

divider line

23

0210693

Cornell University

James Engstrom
jre@cheme.cornell.edu
(607) 255-9934

Nanoscale Engineering of Inorganic-Organic Interfaces: Applications to Molecular Scale Electronics

1.30

divider line

24

0210449

U of Wisconsin Madison

Chang-Beom Eom
eom@engr.wisc.edu
(608) 263-6305

Epitaxial Magnetic Oxide Structures for Nanoscale Spin Devices

1.55

divider line

25

0210153

U of Notre Dame

Peter Kogge
kogge@cse.nd.edu
(219) 631-6763

Architectures and Devices for Quantum-dot Cellular Automata

1.00

divider line

26

0210533

Boston College

Michael Naughton
naughton@bc.edu (617) 552-3598

Nanoscale Magnetic Microscopy with Multi-Photon Absorption Polymers and Y-Junction Nanotubes

1.05

divider line

27

0210426

Harvard University

Hongkun Park
hpark@chemistry.harvard.edu
(617) 496-0815

Electron Transport Through Molecular Inorganic Clusters - A Convergent Approach Toward Molecular Electronic and Magnetic Devices

1.25

divider line

28

0210899

Stanford University

R. Fabian Pease
pease@cis.stanford.edu
(650) 723-0959

Properties and Applications of
Deformed Nanotubes

1.30

divider line

29

0210832

LA St U & A&M University

Elizabeth Podlaha
podlaha@che.lsu.edu
(225) 578-3056

Electrodeposition of Nanostructured Multilayers

1.30

divider line

30

0210445

Purdue University

Vladimir Shalaev
shalaev@purdue.edu
(765) 494-9855

Plasmonic Nanophotonics and Optoelectronics

1.30

divider line

31

0210843

U of IL Urbana-Champaign

Gregory Timp
gtimp@uinc.edu
(217) 244-9629

A Nanometer-Scale Gene Chip

1.30

divider line

32

0210752

Boston University

Selim Unlu
selim@bu.edu
(617) 353-5067

Advanced Characterization Techniques In Optics
for Nanostructures (ACTION)

1.30

divider line

33

0210736

Middlebury College

Susan Watson
swatson@middlebury.edu
(802) 422-5958

Nanotube and
Nanowire Based Quantum Computation

1.88

Awards with focus on Theory, Modeling and Simulation (2 awards, $2.3 million)

34

0210717

Georgetown University

James Freericks
freericks@physics.georgetown.edu
(602) 687-6159

Computational Design and Optimization of Nanoscale Spintronic and Thermoelectric Devices

1.20

divider line

35

0210095

Brown University

Vivek Shenoy
shenovv@engin.brown.edu
(401) 863-2864

Study of Self-organization in Strained Heteroepitaxial Nanostructures:
Multi-scale Modeling, Simulation and Experiment

1.10

Awards with focus on Environment (2 awards, $2.49 million)

36

0210839

U of Oklahom

Mark Nanny
nanny@ou.edu
(405) 325-4234

Bioavailability of Aromatic
Hydrocarbons and Dynamics of Their Interactions with
Humic and Fulvic
Acids: Linking
Molecular- and
Microbial-Scale
Interactions

1.10

divider line

37

0210865

Texas A&M U

Peter Santschi
santschani@tamug.tamu.edu
(409) 740-4476

The Role of Nano-Scale Colloids in Particle Aggregation and Trace Metal Scavenging in Aquatic Systems

1.39

Awards with Focus on Manufacturing (16 awards, $17.45 million)

38

0210173

U of California-San Diego

Robert Asaro
rasaro@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-6888

NIRT: Deformation Mechanisms and Manufacturing of Nanostructured
Materials Processed
by Severe Plastic Deformation (SPD)

1.00

divider line

39

0210590

Duke University

Robert Clark
rclark@duke.edu
(919) 660-5435

Fabrication of
Biomolecular and
Polymeric Nanostructures by Proximal Probes

1.20

divider line

40

0210850

U of Nebraska-Lincoln

Yuris Dzenis
ydzenis@unl.edu
(402) 472-0713

Manufacturing of
Novel Continuous Nanocrystalline Ceramic Nanofibers with Superior Mechanical Properties

1.00

divider line

41

0210366

Vanderbilt University

T.J. L. Davidson/
T. Fisher
jld@vsue.vanderbilt.edu
(615) 343-7886

Direct Power Generation by Electron Emission from Novel Carbon Nanostructures

1.52

divider line

42

0210585

Johns Hopkins Univ.

Lloyd Harriott
lrharttiott@virginia.edu
(434)243-5580

Merged CMOS/Molecular Integrated Circuit
(Mol-MOS) Fabrication, Analysis and Design

1.05

divider line

43

0210332

Florida State University

Seunghun Hong
shong@phy.fsu.edu
(805)644-7009

Development, Functionalization, and Assembly of Nanoscale Biological Sensors

1.05

divider line

44

0210844

U of Minnesota Twin Cities

Richard Kiehl
keihk@ece.mun.ed
(612)625-8073

Two- and Three-Dimensional Assembly
of Nanoelectronic Components by DNA Scaffolding

1.10

divider line

45

0210229

PA St U University Park

Seong Kim
shkim@engr.psu.edu
(814)862-4700

Nanoreactor Processes
for Manufacturing
Oriented Materials

1.10

divider line

46

0210238

Carnegie-Mellon U.

Prashant Kumta
kumta@cmu.edu
(412) 268-8739

Ink Jetting of Nanostructured Matrices for Controlled Gene Delivery

1.00

divider line

47

0210141

Texas Tech University

Michelle Pantoya
michelle.pantoya@coe.ttu.edu
(806) 742-2011

Nanocomposite
Reactions in the
Self-Propagating High Temperature Synthesis
of Materials

1.00

divider line

48a

0210400 (with 0210258)

Foundation @ NJIT

Robert Pfeffer
pfeffer@admin.njit.edu
(973)642-7496

Collaborative Research: Experimental and Computational Investigations of Fluid Interactions/Transport
in Nanodomains and
Around Nanoparticles

0.60

divider line

48b

0210258 (with 0210400)

Worcester Polytech Inst

Robert Thompson
rwt@wpi.edu
(508)831-5525

Collaborative Research: Experimental and Computational Investigations of Fluid Interactions/Transport
in Nanodomains and
Around Nanoparticles

0.62

divider line

49

0210223

U. of Delaware

John Rabolt
rabolt@udel.edu
(302) 831-4476

Enhancing the
properties of nanoscale electrospun polymer
fibers thru chemical architecture, surface texturing optimization processing protocols

1.10

divider line

50

0210517

U of Kentucky Res Fdn

Stephen Rankin srankin@engr.uky.edu
(859)257-9799

Tailored Fluorinated Surfactant Templates
for the Design of Ordered Nanoporous Ceramics

1.10

divider line

51

0210351

U of Cincinnati

Raj Singh
raj.singh@uc.edu
(513)556-5172

Manufacturing/Synthesis and Nanostructure of Superhard Thin Films/Materials

1.00

divider line

52

0210559

U of Kentucky Res Fdn

Robert Vallance
vallance@engr.uky.edu
(859)257-3304

Staggered Probes for Integrating Nano
Machining and Metrology

1.00

divider line

53

0209678

U of Southern California

Aristides A. Requicha
requicha@lipari.usc.edu
(213) 740-4502

Nanorobotics

1.01

Total

67.96