Skip to main content
Email Print Share

NIRT Awards

Prop Id Institution Name PI Name
E-mail
Telephone Number
Proposal Title (key words) NSF Funds ($mil.)
Awards with focus on Biosystems (3 awards, $5.09 million)
1 0210777 U of PA Eric Boder
boder@seas.upenn.edu
(215) 898-5658
Combinatorial Engineering of Nanomachines: Building Novel Membrane Proteins via De Novo Design and Directed Evolution 1.49
2 0210807 U of CA Davis Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague
gervay@chem.ucdavid.edu
(530) 754-9577
Probing Viral Adhesion with Nanoengineered Biomembranes and Quantum Dots 1.85
3 0210690 U of CA Los Angeles Leonard Rome
lrome@mednet.ucla.edu
(310) 825-0709
The Development of Vault Nano-Capsules 1.75
Awards with focus on Structures and Phenomena (18 awards, $24 million)
4 0210742 U of Rochester Nicholas Bigelow
nbig@lle.rochester.edu
(585) 275-8544
Next Generation Atom Chips for Quantum Information Technology 1.60
5 0210120 Washington University William Buhro
buhro@wachem.wustl.edu.edu
(314) 935-4269
Electrical and Mechanical Properties of Boron and Metal-boride Nanowires, and Nanoscale Devices Built from them 1.25
6 0210176 U of Cal Berkeley Michael Crommie
crommie@socrates.berkeley.edu
(510) 642-9392
Synthesis and Control of Molecular Machines 1.30
7 0210549 U of Nevada RenoJohn Frederick
jhf@chem.unr.edu
(775) 784-1347
Synthesis and Characterization of a Light-Driven Molecular Motor 1.17
8 0210579 Drexel University Yury Gogotsigogotsi@drexel.edu
(215) 895-6446
Carbon Nanopipes for Nanofluidic Devices and In-situ Fluid Studies 1.65
9 0210785 Vanderbilt University Richard Haglund
richard.haglund@vanderbilt.edu
(615) 322-2828
Size Dependence of Phase Transitions in Nanocrystalline Oxides 1.00
10 0210806 U of Wisconsin Madison Robert Hamers
rjhamers@facstaff.edu
(608) 262-6371
Nanotubes and nanowires as biological sensors and actuators: Approaching the single-molecule limit 1.45
11 0210215 Johns Hopkins Univ. Kevin Hemker
hemker@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4489
Uncovering Deformation Mechanisms of Nanostructured Materials 1.00
12 0210915 Montana State University Yves Idzerdaidzerda@physics.montana.edu
(406) 994-7838
Template-Constrained Magnetic Nano-materials: Synthesis and Characterization 1.00
13 0210519 U of Notre Dame Boldizsar Janko
bjanko@nd.edu
(219) 631-8049
Formation and Properties of Spin-Polarized Quantum Dots in Magnetic Semiconductors by Controlled Variation of Magnetic Fields on1.80
140210298Louisiana Tech UniversityYuri Lvov
ylvov@coes.latech.edu
(318) 257-5144
Nanoengineered shells for encapsulation and controlled release1.28
15 0210580 U of FloridaCharles Martin
crmartin@chem.ufl.edu
(352) 392-8305
For Biomedical Nanotube Technology 1.60
16 0210588U of Wisconsin MadisonPaul Nealey
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
(608) 265-8171
Dimension Dependent Material Properties of Nanoscopic Macromolecular Structures1.00
170210321MITCaroline Ross
caross@mit.edu
(617) 285-0223
Nanostructured Surfaces with Long-Range Order for Controlled Self-Assembly1.20
180210284U of DelawareS. Ismat Shah
ismat@udel.edu
(312) 831-1618
Semiconductor Metal Oxide Nanoparticles for Visible Light Photocatalysis1.10
190210383U of Texas AustinChih-Kang Shih
shih@physics.utexas.edu
(512) 472-6603
FRG: Collective and Quasiparticle Properties of Nanocrystals and Nano-Arrays1.80
200210835U of New MexicoTimothy Ward
tlward@unm.edu
(505) 277-2067
Nanostructural Engineering of Complex Functional Particles1.60
210210247Washington UniversityKaren Wooley
klwooley@artsci.wustl.edu
(314) 935-7136
One-,Two- and Three-Dimensional Superstructured Materials from Well-Defined, Complex Nanoscale Components1.70
Awards with focus on Devices and System Architectures (12 awards, $16.6 million)
220210698U of Texas AustinAnanth Dodabalapur
ananth@mer.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1890
Nanoscale Organic Circuits and Sensors1.60
230210693Cornell UniversityJames Engstrom
jre@cheme.cornell.edu
(607) 255-9934
Nanoscale Engineering of Inorganic-Organic Interfaces: Applications to Molecular Scale Electronics1.30
240210449U of Wisconsin MadisonChang-Beom Eom
eom@engr.wisc.edu
(608) 263-6305
Epitaxial Magnetic Oxide Structures for Nanoscale Spin Devices1.55
250210153U of Notre DamePeter Kogge
kogge@cse.nd.edu
(219) 631-6763
Architectures and Devices for Quantum-dot Cellular Automata1.00
260210533Boston CollegeMichael Naughton
naughton@bc.edu
(617) 552-3598
Nanoscale Magnetic Microscopy with Multi-Photon Absorption Polymers and Y-Junction Nanotubes1.05
270210426Harvard UniversityHongkun Park
hpark@chemistry.harvard.edu
(617) 496-0815
Electron Transport Through Molecular Inorganic Clusters - A Convergent Approach Toward Molecular Electronic and Magnetic Devices1.25
280210899Stanford UniversityR. Fabian Pease
pease@cis.stanford.edu
(650) 723-0959
Properties and Applications of Deformed Nanotubes1.30
290210832LA St U & A&M UniversityElizabeth Podlaha
podlaha@che.lsu.edu
(225) 578-3056
Electrodeposition of Nanostructured Multilayers1.30
300210445Purdue UniversityVladimir Shalaev
shalaev@purdue.edu
(765) 494-9855
Plasmonic Nanophotonics and Optoelectronics1.30
310210843U of IL Urbana-ChampaignGregory Timp
gtimp@uinc.edu
(217) 244-9629
A Nanometer-Scale Gene Chip1.30
320210752Boston UniversitySelim Unlu
selim@bu.edu
(617) 353-5067
Advanced Characterization Techniques In Optics for Nanostructures (ACTION)1.30
330210736Middlebury CollegeSusan Watson
swatson@middlebury.edu
(802) 422-5958
Nanotube and Nanowire Based Quantum Computation1.88
Awards with focus on Theory, Modeling and Simulation (2 awards, $2.3 million)
340210717Georgetown UniversityJames Freericks
freericks@physics.georgetown.edu
(602) 687-6159
Computational Design and Optimization of Nanoscale Spintronic and Thermoelectric Devices1.20
350210095 Brown UniversityVivek Shenoy
shenovv@engin.brown.edu
(401) 863-2864
Study of Self-organization in Strained Heteroepitaxial Nanostructures: Multi-scale Modeling, Simulation and Experiment 1.10
Awards with focus on Environment (2 awards, $2.49 million)
36 0210839 U of OklahomMark Nanny
nanny@ou.edu
(405) 325-4234
Bioavailability of Aromatic Hydrocarbons and Dynamics of Their Interactions with Humic and Fulvic Acids: Linking Molecular- and Microbial-Scale Interactions 1.10
370210865 Texas A&M UPeter Santschi
santschani@tamug.tamu.edu
(409) 740-4476
The Role of Nano-Scale Colloids in Particle Aggregation and Trace Metal Scavenging in Aquatic Systems1.39
Awards with Focus on Manufacturing (16 awards, $17.45 million)
380210173U of California-San DiegoRobert Asaro
rasaro@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-6888
NIRT: Deformation Mechanisms and Manufacturing of Nanostructured Materials Processed by Severe Plastic Deformation (SPD)1.00
390210590Duke UniversityRobert Clark
rclark@duke.edu
(919) 660-5435
Fabrication of Biomolecular and Polymeric Nanostructures by Proximal Probes1.20
400210850U of Nebraska-LincolnYuris Dzenis
ydzenis@unl.edu
(402) 472-0713
Manufacturing of Novel Continuous Nanocrystalline Ceramic Nanofibers with Superior Mechanical Properties1.00
410210366Vanderbilt UniversityT.J. L. Davidson/
T. Fisher
jld@vsue.vanderbilt.edu
(615) 343-7886
Direct Power Generation by Electron Emission from Novel Carbon Nanostructures1.52
420210585Johns Hopkins Univ.Lloyd Harriott
lrharttiott@virginia.edu
(434) 243-5580
Merged CMOS/Molecular Integrated Circuit (Mol-MOS) Fabrication, Analysis and Design1.05
430210332Florida State UniversitySeunghun Hong
shong@phy.fsu.edu
(805) 644-7009
Development, Functionalization, and Assembly of Nanoscale Biological Sensors1.05
440210844U of Minnesota Twin CitiesRichard Kiehl
keihk@ece.mun.ed
(612) 625-8073
Two- and Three-Dimensional Assembly of Nanoelectronic Components by DNA Scaffolding1.10
450210229PA St U University ParkSeong Kim
shkim@engr.psu.edu
(814) 862-4700
Nanoreactor Processes for Manufacturing Oriented Materials1.10
460210238Carnegie-Mellon U.Prashant Kumta
kumta@cmu.edu
(412) 268-8739
Ink Jetting of Nanostructured Matrices for Controlled Gene Delivery1.00
470210141Texas Tech UniversityMichelle Pantoya
michelle.pantoya@coe.ttu.edu
(806) 742-2011
Nanocomposite Reactions in the Self-Propagating High Temperature Synthesis of Materials1.00
48a0210400(with 0210258)Foundation @ NJITRobert Pfeffer
pfeffer@admin.njit.edu
(973) 642-7496
Collaborative Research: Experimental and Computational Investigations of Fluid Interactions/Transport in Nanodomains and Around Nanoparticles0.60
48b0210258 (with 0210400)Worcester Polytech InstRobert Thompson
rwt@wpi.edu
(508) 831-5525
Collaborative Research: Experimental and Computational Investigations of Fluid Interactions/Transport in Nanodomains and Around Nanoparticles0.62
490210223U. of DelawareJohn Rabolt
rabolt@udel.edu
(302) 831-4476
Enhancing the properties of nanoscale electrospun polymer fibers thru chemical architecture, surface texturing optimization processing protocols1.10
500210517U of Kentucky Res FdnStephen Rankin
srankin@engr.uky.edu
(859) 257-9799
Tailored Fluorinated Surfactant Templates for the Design of Ordered Nanoporous Ceramics1.10
510210351U of CincinnatiRaj Singh
raj.singh@uc.edu
(513) 556-5172
Manufacturing/Synthesis and Nanostructure of Superhard Thin Films/Materials1.00
520210559U of Kentucky Res FdnRobert Vallance
vallance@engr.uky.edu
(859) 257-3304
Staggered Probes for Integrating Nano Machining and Metrology1.00
530209678U of Southern CaliforniaAristides A. Requicha
requicha@lipari.usc.edu
(213) 740-4502
Nanorobotics1.01
Total67.96