Skip to main content
Email Print Share

NIRT/NER Awards

Award# Institution name PI name E-mail, Phone number Proposal title NSF funds ($)
FY 2001 NIRT Awards
1 0103447 Univ. of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Univ. Joseph Lyding
jlyding@casper.beckman.uiuc.edu
(217) 333-8370
Protein Logic $1,150,000
2 0103473 Texas - Austin, Univ. of Angela Belcher belcher@mail.utexas.edu
(512) 471-1154;
has moved to MIT
Biologically Based Assemblies of Electronic Materials at the Nanoscale; Improving on Nature $1,500,000
3 0103174 Rice University Vicki Colvin
colvin@rice.edu
(713)348-5741
Protein Crystals: New Templates for the Construction of Nanostructured Solids $1,200,000
4 0102662 Univ. of California-Davis I Ian Kennedy
imkennedy@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-2796
Application of Quantum Dots toEnvironmental and Cell Biology $1,001,117
5 0103002 New York University Nadrian Seeman
ned.seeman@nyu.edu
(212) 998-8395
DNA-Based Nanomechanical Devices $1,500,000
FY 2001 NER Awards
6 0103549 Univ. of California- Los Angeles Todd Yeates
yeates@mbi.ucla.edu
(310) 206-4866
Exploration of a Method for Designing Protein Nanomaterials $95,497
7 0103080 Illinois Institute of Tech. Rong Wang
wangr@iit.edu
(312)567-3121
Dynamic Behavior of Ligand-Receptor Interactions in Living Cells on the Nanoscale $99,945
8 0103076 Univ. of Maryland Cheng Lee
CL143@umail.umd.edu
(301) 405-1020
Flow Control Networks for Nanoscale Biofluidics $99,999
9 0103556 Univ. of California- Davis Stephen Kowalczykowski
sckowalczykowski@ ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-5938
Biological Nanomachines: Assembly and Function of Protein-DNA Nanostructures at the Single-Molecule Level $100,000
10 0103232 Akron, University of Ping Wang
wangp@uakron.edu
(330) 972-2096
Construction of Bioactive Nanoparticles and Investigation of the Relationship Between Particle Size and Enzyme Activity $100,000
11 0103414 Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Univ. of Jeffrey White
white5@uiuc.edu
(217) 333-8876
Fluorescence Microscopy with 5nm Resolution for Imaging the Membrane of a Living Cell $99,367
12 0103468 California-Berkeley, University of Susan Muller
muller2@socrates.berkeley.edu
(510) 642-4525
Synthesis and Characterization of Genetically Engineered Protein Polymers: Effects of Sequence Disorder on Structure-Property Relationships $99,825
13 0103037 VA Polytechnic Inst. Of Technology Kevin Van Cott
kvancott@vt.edu
(540) 231-4257
Detection of Specific Biomoleule Adsorption in Ionically Self-Assembly Monolayers via Second Harmonic Generation $99,999
14 0103470 SUNY-Stony Brook Vladimir Samuilov
vsamuilov@notes.cc. sunysb.edu
(631) 632-3209
A Novel Concept of Electrophoretic Separation of Long DNA Moleules with High Resolution at the Nanoscale Dimensions $100,000
FY 2002 NIRT Awards
15 0210777 U of Pennsylvania Eric Boder
boder@seas.upenn.edu
(215) 898-5658
Combinatorial Engineering of Nanomachines: Building Novel Membrane Proteins via De Novo Design and Directed Evolution $1,395,000
16 0210807 U of CA Davis Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague
gervay@chem.ucdavid.edu
(530) 754-9577
Probing Viral Adhesion with Nanoengineered Biomembranes and Quantum Dots $1,132,232
17 0210690 U of CA Los Angeles Leonard Rome
lrome@mednet.ucla.edu
(310) 825-0709
The Development of Vault Nano-Capsules $1,750,000
FY 2002 NER Awards
18 0210854 Univ of Arizona Raymond
Goldsteingold@physics.arizona. edu
(520) 621-1065
Dynamics of Flagellar Polymorphism $99,911
19 0209687 PA St Univ University Park William
Hancockwoh1@psu.edu
(814) 863-0492
Oligonucleotide-directed alignment of cytoskeletal filaments for nanoscale assembly $95,000
20 0210365 Virginia Commonwealth Univ Jae-Hoon
Junjun_77845@yahoo.com
(804) 827-1777
Nanoengineering and Characterization of Electrospun Collagen Matrix $90,479
21 0210384 Oregon State University Gregory Rorrer
rorrerfl@che.orst.edu
(541) 737-3370
Biosynthesis of Germanium Oxide Nanoparticles $100,000
22 0210005 Iowa State University Vladimir Tsukruk
Alex_Smirnov@ncsu. edu
515-294-6904
Multi-nanolayered bio-inspired membranes $10,000
23 0210656 North Carolina State Univ Orlin Velev
odvelev@unity.ncsu.edu
919-513-4318
Bioelectronic interfacing of living cells via self-assembled microwires $90,000
24 0210220 Johns Hopkins University Michael Yu
yu@jhu.edu
410-516-8935
Biotemplate Directed Assembly of Nanocrystal Arrays $100,000
FY 2003 NIRT Awards
25 0304055 Rensselaer Polytech Inst George Belfort
belfog.rpi@edu
518-276-6948
Inteins as Nanoswitches for Biotechnology: Linking Molecular Modeling with Biophysical and Genetic Methods (F co-PIs) $1,215,191
26 0304316 University of Michigan Ronald Larson
rlarson@engin.umich edu
734-936-0772
Manipulation of DNA-Protein Interactions at the Nano-Scale (F co- PI) $1,400,000
27 0304494 Univ of Nebraska Lincoln Randolph Lewis
silk@uwyo.edu
307-766-2147
Spider Silk Proteins $999,668
28 0304062 Johns Hopkins University Mathias Loesche
loesche@physick.unileipzig.de
410-516-4772
Nanoscale Engineering of Bilaterally Accessible Biomembrane Mimics $1,100,069
29 0304569 University of Florida Weihong Tan
tan@chem.ufl.edu
352-846-2410
Nanoscale arrays for direct RNA profiling in single cells and their compartments $1,735,727
FY 2003 NER Awards
30 0304657 University of Southern California Ching-An Peng
capeng@usc.edu
213-740-2067
Ultrasonic Standing Wave Manipulation of Retroviral Gene Delivery to Hematopoietic Cells $100,000
31 0303442 University of Texas Austin Christine Schmidt
schmidt@che.utexas. edu
512-471-1690
Directed Microelectronic Interfacing with Living Cells via Nanocrystal Quantum Dots $100,000
32 0303808 Rutgers University New Brunswick Maria Tomassone
silvina@soemail. rutgers.edu
732-445-2972
Continuous Flow Induced Phase Inversion: a New Method for Manufacturing Drug Delivery Biopolymer Nanoparticles $1,000,000
33 0304051 University of Delaware Eric Furst
furst@che.udel.edu
302-831-0102
New Nanoscale Probes of Molecular Motors $100,000
34 0304521 Purdue University Thomas Webster
twebster@ecn.purdue.edu
765-494-2995
Design, Synthesis, and Evaluation of Novel Biologically- Inspired Nanostructured Materials as Bone Prostheses $100,000
35 0304675 Harvey Mudd College Shenda Baker
shenda_baker@hmc.edu
909-621-8643
Templated Antibody Nanoarrays For Biosensor Applications $99,828
36 0304149 University of Illinois Urbana Champaign Leslie Allen
1-allen9@uiuc.edu
217-333-7918
Nanoliter Biocalorimetry on a Chip for Ultrafast Combinatorial Analysis of Proteins $99,999
  Total awards (examples): $20,158,853