Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Oakland University
REU Site: Undergraduate Computer Research (UnCoRe) in Cybersecurity
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Huirong Fu
(248) 370-4456
fu@oakland.edu
Secondary: Lunjin Lu
(248) 370-2231
l2lu@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Security and privacy of autonomous driving, software security, system security, cloud security, IoT security, and digital forensics
REU Site: Undergraduate Computer Research (UnCoRe) in CybersecurityAbstract of Award
North Dakota State University
REU Site: Research Experience in Cyber-Security for Cyber-Physical System
Department of Computer Science
Fargo, North Dakota
Primary: Jeremy Straub
(701) 231-8196
jeremy.straub@ndsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cybersecurity, cyber-physical systems, robotics, automated attack, automated defense, side-channel attack
REU Site: Research Experience in Cyber-Security for Cyber-Physical SystemAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
North Carolina State University
Socially Relevant Computing and Analytics
Department of Computer Science
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Tiffany Barnes
(919) 523-1353
tiffany.barnes@gmail.com
Secondary: Veronica Catete
(919) 820-2578
vmcatete@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytics & machine learning for education, healthcare, and graph-based learning; serious games; narrative & interactive visual media; tools for computational creativity; canine-computer interaction
Socially Relevant Computing and AnalyticsAbstract of Award
New York Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research on Security of Mobile Devices and Wireless Networks at NYIT
College of Engineering and Computing Sciences
New York, New York
Primary: Sertac Artan
(212) 261-1732
nartan@nyit.edu
Secondary: Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong
(646) 273-6129
ziqian.dong@nyit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mobile device and wireless network security including active authentication, biometrics, cryptography, botnets, emotional analysis, mobile malware, privacy, medical data and vehicular security
REU Site: Research on Security of Mobile Devices and Wireless Networks at NYITAbstract of Award
New Mexico State University
BIGDatA - Big Data Analytics for Cyber-physical Systems
Computer Science Department
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Primary: Huiping Cao
(575) 646-4600
hcao@nmsu.edu
Secondary: Tuan Le
(575) 646-3723
tuanle@nmsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Big data, machine learning, data mining, data sciences, cyber-physical systems (CPS), smart grids, smart homes, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), wireless sensor networks, CPS security, visualization
BIGDatA - Big Data Analytics for Cyber-physical SystemsAbstract of Award
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Research Experiences for Undergraduates - Emerging Issues in Cybersecurity
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Socorro, New Mexico
Primary: Jun Zheng
(575) 835-6182
jun.zheng@nmt.edu
Secondary: Dongwan Shin
(575) 835-6459
dongwan.shin@nmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Malware detection, botnet detection, smart grid security, mobile security and privacy, human factors in cybersecurity, network security, usable security
Research Experiences for Undergraduates - Emerging Issues in CybersecurityAbstract of Award
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Zhi Wei
(973) 642-4497
zhiwei@njit.edu
Secondary: Lian Duan
(516) 463-4220
lian.duan@hofstra.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, data mining, machine learning, statistical modeling
Comments: Collaborative with Hofstra University
Research Experience for Undergraduates on Computational Data Analytics for Advancing Human ServicesAbstract of Award
Montana State University
Research Experiences in Cybersecurity Algorithms
Computer Science Department
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Clemente Izurieta
(406) 994-3720
clemente.izurieta@montana.edu
Secondary: Brendan Mumey
(406) 994-7811
brendan.mumey@montanta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cybersecurity algorithms with a focus on software engineering, machine learning, vulnerability analysis, attack detection, network threats, blockchain
Research Experiences in Cybersecurity AlgorithmsAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Michigan State University
Advanced Computational Research Experience (ACRES)
Department of Computational Mathematics, Science, and Engineering
Lansing, Michigan, Michigan
Primary: Brian O’Shea
(517) 432-0331
oshea@msu.edu
Secondary: Arjun Krishnan
(517) 432-0372
arjun@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational science, computational modeling, simulation, data science, machine learning applications & algorithms, high performance computing, computational mathematics, scientific computing
Advanced Computational Research Experience (ACRES)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Marquette University
Data Science Across Disciplines
Math, Statistics, and Computer Science Department
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Praveen Madiraju
(414) 288-6340
praveen.madiraju@marquette.edu
Secondary: Dennis Brylow
(414) 288-6342
dennis.brylow@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Science, Machine Learning, Health Informatics, Exercise Analytics, Spatial Analytics, Data Science Ethics
Data Science Across DisciplinesAbstract of Award
Louisiana State University
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational Sciences
Center for Computation and Technology
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Juana Moreno
(225) 578-7586
moreno@lsu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Allison
(225) 578-5572
jtallison@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyberinfrastructure, High Performance Computing, Computational Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Civil Engineering, Oceanography and Coastal Sciences, Petroleum Engineering, Mechanical
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational SciencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Lehigh University
Intelligent and Scalable Systems
Computer Science and Engineering
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Primary: Brian Davison
(610) 758-3453
davison@cse.lehigh.edu
Secondary: Michael Spear
(610) 758-3285
spear@cse.lehigh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, parallel computing, data mining, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, data science, cybersecurity, privacy
Intelligent and Scalable SystemsAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface Technologies
Human Computer Interaction / Virtual Reality Applications Center
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Stephen B. Gilbert
(515) 294-6782
gilbert@iastate.edu
Secondary: Eliot Winer
(515) 989-1750
ewiner@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: human computer interaction, interface design, interaction design, human centered computing, virtual reality, haptics, usability, augmented reality, multitouch, social computing, robotics, information
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Data Science of Risk and Human Activity
Computer and Information Science Department
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: George Mohler
(805) 252-0656
gmohler@iupui.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Al Hasan
(317) 274-3862
alhasan@cs.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, machine learning, statistics, applications to risk and human activity
Data Science of Risk and Human ActivityAbstract of Award
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud and DataSecurity
Department of Computer Information and Graphics Technology
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Feng Li
(317) 278-8391
fengli@iupui.edu
Secondary: Xiao Luo
(317) 278-7330
luo25@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber security, mobile computing, wireless communication, mobile cloud
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud and DataSecurityAbstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Katie Siek
(812) 856-0598
ksiek@indiana.edu
Secondary: Lamara Warren
(812) 856-0703
ldwarren@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Human computer interaction, pervasive computing (mobile or wearable), environmental sensing (ambient and on-body), machine learning (vision recognition and signal processing)
Proactive Health Informatics Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme Scales
Computer Science & Computation Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Ioan Raicu
(312) 567-5704
iraicu@cs.iit.edu
Secondary: Kyle Hale
(312) 567-5147
khale@cs.iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data sciences, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with the University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
Harvey Mudd College
REU Site in Computer Systems
Computer Science
Claremont, California
Primary: Zachary Dodds
(909) 607-1813
dodds@cs.hmc.edu
Secondary: Julie Medero
(909) 621-8072
julie@cs.hmc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algorithms for active transportation, kinetic typography, human gaze response to feature films, human-robot learning
REU Site in Computer SystemsAbstract of Award
Georgia State University
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Immersive Media Computing
Department of Computer Science and Creative Media Industries Institute
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Zhisheng Yan
(404) 413-5120
zyan@gsu.edu
Secondary: Ying Zhu
(404) 413-5784
yzhu@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Augmented reality, virtual reality, computer vision, video communication and networking, GPU rendering, parallel computing, image processing
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Immersive Media ComputingAbstract of Award
Georgia State University
Developing Smart and Autonomous Internet-of-Things Systems
Department of Computer Science
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Ashwin Ashok
(404) 413-6657
aashok@gsu.edu
Secondary: Anu Bourgeois
(404) 413-5723
abourgeois@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things (IoT), artificial intelligence, computer vision, robotics, mobile computing, sensor networks, visible light communication
Developing Smart and Autonomous Internet-of-Things SystemsAbstract of Award
George Mason University
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data Mining
Computer Science Department
Fairfax, Virginia
Primary: Mark Snyder
(703) 993-5624
msnyde14@gmu.edu
Secondary: Huzefa Rangwala
(703) 993-3826
rangwala@cs.gmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Educational data mining, data mining, visualization, learning technologies, data analytics
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data MiningAbstract of Award
Gallaudet University
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)
Department of Science, Technology, and Mathematics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Raja Kushalnagar
(202) 750-2458
raja.kushalnagar@gallaudet.edu
Secondary: Christian Vogler
(202) 250-2795
christian.vogler@gallaudet.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Accessible computing, human-computer interaction, multimodal interaction, automatic-speech-recognition, automatic-sign-recognition
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)Abstract of Award
Florida International University
REU Site: Security of Smart Things
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Miami, Florida
Primary: Kemal Akkaya
(305) 348-3017
kakkaya@fiu.edu
Secondary: A. Selcuk Uluagac
(305) 348-3710
auluagac@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, security of smart things, security of critical infrastructures, user privacy, cybersecurity, hardware security
REU Site: Security of Smart ThingsAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
Sensing and Smart Systems
Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering (I-SENSE)
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: Jason O. Hallstrom
(561) 297-4748
jhallstrom@fau.edu
Secondary: Andrea Gonzalez
(561) 297-4759
agonzalez@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: IoT security, battery-free computing, emotion sensing, robotic prosthetics, cardiac analysis, traffic control, vehicle-based sensing, data embedding in media, smart energy systems, underwater sensing
Sensing and Smart SystemsAbstract of Award
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
Department of Electrical, Computer, Software, and Systems Engineering
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Eduardo Rojas
(386) 226-7701
rojase1@erau.edu
Secondary: Remzi Seker
(386) 226-7409
sekerr@erau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial vehicles, cybersecurity, data privacy, network security, secure UAV control
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial VehiclesAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Daniela Raicu
(312) 362-5512
draicu@cti.depaul.edu
Secondary: Jacob Furst
(312) 362-5158
jfurst@cti.depaul.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Medical informatics, image processing, computer vision, artificial intelligence, machine learning, data mining, knowledge discovery
Medical Informatics Experiences (MedIX) in undergraduate researchAbstract of Award
Dakota State University
REU Site in IoT Security
Beacom College of Computer and Cyber Sciences
Madison, South Dakota
Primary: Yong Wang
(605) 256-5690
yong.wang@dsu.edu
Secondary: Ashley Podhradsky
(605) 256-5821
ashley.podhradsky@dsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: IoT security, vulnerability discovery, malware analysis, ethical hacking, cloud vulnerability exploitation, IoT forensics, risk mitigation, access control, IoT and user privacy, security remediation
REU Site in IoT SecurityAbstract of Award
New York
Primary: Oyewole Oyekoya
oyewole.oyekoya@hunter.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Immersive 3D Visualization, Virtual, Augmented or Mixed Reality
Show 30 items per page.