Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Boise State University
Data-driven Security
Computer Science Department
Boise, Idaho
Primary: Francesca Spezzano
(208) 426-2491
francescaspezzano@boisestate.edu
Secondary: Edoardo Serra
(208) 426-2492
edoardoserra@boisestate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: National and cyber security: counter-terrorism, online misbehavior and misinformation detection and mitigation, intrusion detection systems, side-channel attacks, lightweight cryptography
Data-driven SecurityAbstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme Scales
Computer Science & Computation Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Ioan Raicu
(312) 567-5704
iraicu@cs.iit.edu
Secondary: Kyle Hale
(312) 567-5147
khale@cs.iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data sciences, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with the University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Kyle Chard
(773) 702-4107
chard@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Justin Wozniak
(630) 252-3351
wozniak@mcs.anl.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems, many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data science, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with Illinois Institute of Technology
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Daniela Raicu
(312) 362-5512
draicu@cti.depaul.edu
Secondary: Jacob Furst
(312) 362-5158
jfurst@cti.depaul.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Medical informatics, image processing, computer vision, artificial intelligence, machine learning, data mining, knowledge discovery
Medical Informatics Experiences (MedIX) in undergraduate researchAbstract of Award
Urbana, IL, Illinois
Primary: Volodymyr Kindratenko
(217) 265-0209
kindrtnk@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine Learning (ML), Open-Source Software and ML Models, Artificial Intelligence, ML Applications and Algorithms
REU Site: The future of discovery: training students to build and apply open source machine learning models and toolsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Notre Dame
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research Experiences
Electrical Engineering
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Bertrand Hochwald
(574) 631-8875
bhochwald@nd.edu
Secondary: Tiffanie Sammons
(574) 631-8264
tsammon1@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Millimeter-wave wireless communications, circuits, antennas, sensing, spectrum, WIFI, networking, robotics, optical, microwave, communication, systems, radar, signal, processing, drones
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Data Science of Risk and Human Activity
Computer and Information Science Department
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: George Mohler
(805) 252-0656
gmohler@iupui.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Al Hasan
(317) 274-3862
alhasan@cs.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, machine learning, statistics, applications to risk and human activity
Data Science of Risk and Human ActivityAbstract of Award
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud and DataSecurity
Department of Computer Information and Graphics Technology
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Feng Li
(317) 278-8391
fengli@iupui.edu
Secondary: Xiao Luo
(317) 278-7330
luo25@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber security, mobile computing, wireless communication, mobile cloud
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud and DataSecurityAbstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Katie Siek
(812) 856-0598
ksiek@indiana.edu
Secondary: Lamara Warren
(812) 856-0703
ldwarren@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Human computer interaction, pervasive computing (mobile or wearable), environmental sensing (ambient and on-body), machine learning (vision recognition and signal processing)
Proactive Health Informatics Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Iowa
Primary: Elizabeth Kleiman
uicsreu@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: computer science, computing for health and well-being
Iowa State University
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface Technologies
Human Computer Interaction / Virtual Reality Applications Center
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Stephen B. Gilbert
(515) 294-6782
gilbert@iastate.edu
Secondary: Eliot Winer
(515) 989-1750
ewiner@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: human computer interaction, interface design, interaction design, human centered computing, virtual reality, haptics, usability, augmented reality, multitouch, social computing, robotics, information
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Wichita State University
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Networked Cyber-Physical Systems
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Wichita, Kansas
Primary: Vinod Namboodiri
(316) 978-3922
vinod.namboodiri@wichita.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless localization, indoor mapping and navigation, UAV multimedia networking, cognitive radio networks, secure manufacturing, cloud computing, security and privacy of wearable devices
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Networked Cyber-Physical SystemsAbstract of Award
Kentucky
Primary: Wei Zhang
wei.zhang@louisville.edu
Secondary: Nihat Altiparmak
nihat.altiparmak@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computing Systems, Data Storage Systems, Parallel and Distributed Systems, Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Mobile Systems, Data-Intensive Computing
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in Computer Systems at University of LouisvilleAbstract of Award
Louisiana State University
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational Sciences
Center for Computation and Technology
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Juana Moreno
(225) 578-7586
moreno@lsu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Allison
(225) 578-5572
jtallison@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyberinfrastructure, High Performance Computing, Computational Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Civil Engineering, Oceanography and Coastal Sciences, Petroleum Engineering, Mechanical
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational SciencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: John Dickerson
(301) 405-2774
john@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, cryptography, security, allocation problems, quantum computing
CARR: Combinatorics and Algorithms Applied to Real ProblemsAbstract of Award
Salisbury University
REU Site: EXERCISE - Explore Emerging Computing in Science and Engineering
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Salisbury, Maryland
Primary: Enyue (Annie) Lu
(410) 543-6144
ealu@salisbury.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Parallel computing,cloud computing,GPU computing, MapReduce,data mining,cybersecurity,image processing, concurrent software,multiprocessor architectures, machine learning, natural language processing
REU Site: EXERCISE - Explore Emerging Computing in Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
REU Site: Online Interdisciplinary Big Data Analytics in Science and Engineering
Information Systems
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Jianwu Wang
(410) 455-3883
jianwu@umbc.edu
Secondary: Matthias K. Gobbert
(410) 455-2404
gobbert@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Online REU, Data Science, Machine Learning, GPU Programing, Parallel Computing, Interdisciplinary Research, Applied AI, Applications in Science & Engineering, Computational Science
REU Site: Online Interdisciplinary Big Data Analytics in Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Data Science Research for Healthy Communities in the Digital Age
Computer Science Department (Data Science Program)
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Elke Rundensteiner
(508) 831-5815
rundenst@wpi.edu
Secondary: Neil Heffernan
NTH@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, smart and connected communities, health analytics, sustainability, cybersecurity, social media, data mining, machine learning, big data management, visualization, statistical learning
Data Science Research for Healthy Communities in the Digital AgeAbstract of Award
Massachusetts
Primary: Ming C Shao
mshao@umassd.edu
Secondary: Jiawei Yuan
jyuan@umassd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: artificial intelligence, system engineering, cyber security
Michigan State University
Advanced Computational Research Experience (ACRES)
Department of Computational Mathematics, Science, and Engineering
Lansing, Michigan, Michigan
Primary: Brian O’Shea
(517) 432-0331
oshea@msu.edu
Secondary: Arjun Krishnan
(517) 432-0372
arjun@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational science, computational modeling, simulation, data science, machine learning applications & algorithms, high performance computing, computational mathematics, scientific computing
Advanced Computational Research Experience (ACRES)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Oakland University
REU Site: Undergraduate Computer Research (UnCoRe) in Cybersecurity
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Huirong Fu
(248) 370-4456
fu@oakland.edu
Secondary: Lunjin Lu
(248) 370-2231
l2lu@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Security and privacy of autonomous driving, software security, system security, cloud security, IoT security, and digital forensics
REU Site: Undergraduate Computer Research (UnCoRe) in CybersecurityAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Evan Suma Rosenberg
suma@umn.edu
Secondary: Kate Jensen
(612) 406-2658
katej@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big DataAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis
Big Data Analytics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Douglas Shook
dshook@wustl.edu
Secondary: Sanmay Das
(314) 935-4274
sanmay@wustl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, data science, artificial intelligence, parallel computing for big data, big data in computer vision, computational biology, and multi-agent systems applications
Big Data AnalyticsAbstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking/virtualization, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking, body-area sensing and environment recognition
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Montana State University
Research Experiences in Cybersecurity Algorithms
Computer Science Department
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Clemente Izurieta
(406) 994-3720
clemente.izurieta@montana.edu
Secondary: Brendan Mumey
(406) 994-7811
brendan.mumey@montanta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cybersecurity algorithms with a focus on software engineering, machine learning, vulnerability analysis, attack detection, network threats, blockchain
Research Experiences in Cybersecurity AlgorithmsAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and Applications
Computer Science and Engineering Department
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Brittany Duncan
(402) 472-5073
nimbus-reu@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial systems, attitude control of nanosatellites, robots in complex environments, vehicles for atmospheric profiling, asset management during wildfires
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada, Reno
Collaborative Human-Robot Interaction
Computer Science and Engineering
Reno, Nevada
Primary: David Feil-Seifer
(775) 784-6469
dave@cse.unr.edu
Secondary: Ashley Ricks
(775) 784-6974
ashleyricks@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous underground robotic inspection, socially-appropriate interaction, language-based human-robot collaboration, network management of heterogeneous robotics, paths for dirt cleaning robots
Collaborative Human-Robot InteractionAbstract of Award
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Eric Allender
(848) 445-7296
allender@cs.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, algorithms, computer science theory, complexity, data science, cyber security, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications
DIMACS REU in Algorithms from Foundations to ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Zhi Wei
(973) 642-4497
zhiwei@njit.edu
Secondary: Lian Duan
(516) 463-4220
lian.duan@hofstra.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, data mining, machine learning, statistical modeling
Comments: Collaborative with Hofstra University
Research Experience for Undergraduates on Computational Data Analytics for Advancing Human ServicesAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.