Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Secondary: Yier Jin
(407) 823-5321
yier.jin@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things (IoT), security and privacy, sensor design and fabrication, social networks and IoT, energy efficient devices, medical applications of IoT
Research Experiences in the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Kyle Chard
(773) 702-4107
chard@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Justin Wozniak
(630) 252-3351
wozniak@mcs.anl.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems, many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data science, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with Illinois Institute of Technology
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Machine Learning in Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision
Computer Science Department
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Primary: Jugal Kalita
(719) 255-3432
jkalita@uccs.edu
Secondary: Kristen Walcott-Justice
(719) 255-3670
kjustice@uccs.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Natural language processing, syntax, semantics, information retrieval, computer vision, face recognition, incremental learning, large-scale learning, artificial neural networks, deep learning
Machine Learning in Natural Language Processing and Computer VisionAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Bio-Grid REU Site
Computer Science and Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Chun-Hsi Huang
860-486-5472
huang@cse.uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bio-Grid: High-Performance Computing, Computational Biology, Life-Science Informatics, Cluster/Grid/Cloud Computing
Bio-Grid REU SiteAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Connecticut
Trustable Embedded Systems Security Research
Computer Science & Engineering Department, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Bing Wang
(860) 486-0582
bing@uconn.edu
Secondary: John Chandy
(860) 486-5047
john.chandy@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure hardware, secure processor architectures, secure embedded systems, secure voting systems, secure mobile computing, secure mobile information systems
Trustable Embedded Systems Security ResearchAbstract of Award
University of Florida
Undergraduate Research in Intelligent Multimodal Human-Computer Interaction
Computer & Information Science & Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Kristy Boyer
keboyer@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual agents for teaching and training; voice interfaces, dialogue, spherical displays, and brain-computer interfaces; digital games for physical activity and for learning problem solving
Undergraduate Research in Intelligent Multimodal Human-Computer InteractionAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Data-Centric Computing.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data-centric computing, data analytics, big data, cybersecurity
Undergraduate Research Experience in Data-Centric Computing.Abstract of Award
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
URBANA, Illinois
Primary: Daniel S. Katz
(217) 244-8000
dskatz@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: open source software, software development, collaborative, interdisciplinary, social impact
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: Samir Khuller
(301) 405-2712
samir@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Crytography, graph algorithms, combinatorics, probability, programming games, algorithms for problems from AI and database
CARR: Combinatorics and Algorithms Applied to Real ProblemsAbstract of Award
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex DatasetsAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: George Karypis
(612) 625-7524
karypis@umn.edu
Secondary: Kate Jensen
(612) 406-2658
katej@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big DataAbstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking for eldercare, body-area sensing and emotion recognition
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking TechnologiesAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and Applications
Computer Science and Engineering Department
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Sebastian Elbaum
(402) 472-6748
nimbus-reu@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial systems, attitude control of nanosatellites, robots in complex environments, vehicles for atmospheric profiling, asset management during wildfires
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Heather Lipford
(704) 687-8376
heather.lipford@uncc.edu
Secondary: Aubrae Collins
(704) 687-8954
aubrae.collins@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things, makerspace, human computer interaction, visualization, security, networking
Making Future Communities:Infrastructure and Interaction Design for Cyber-Physical SystemsAbstract of Award
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
REU Site: Research Experience in Developing Software for Mission Critical Space SystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Secondary: Hassan Takabi
(940) 565-2385
Hassan.Takabi@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software Testing, Security, Web Applications, Mobile Applications
REU Site: Secure Software Testing for Web and Mobile Applications: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific Computing
Center for Research Computing
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Laura Kresnak
(574) 631-2401
lkresnak@nd.edu
Secondary: Douglas Thain
(574) 631-6845
dthain@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: scientific computing, high performance computing, big data analytics, particle physics, astrophysics, bioinformatics, gene sequencing, computational epidemiology
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific ComputingAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research Experiences
Electrical Engineering
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Bertrand Hochwald
(574) 631-8875
bhochwald@nd.edu
Secondary: Tiffanie Sammons
(574) 631-8264
tsammon1@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Millimeter-wave wireless communications, circuits, antennas, sensing, spectrum, WIFI, networking, robotics, optical, microwave, communication, systems, radar, signal, processing, drones
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
University of Rochester
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and Minds
Goergen Institute for Data Science
Rochester, New York
Primary: Ajay Anand
(585) 276-3149
gids-reu@rochester.edu
Secondary: Lisa Altman
(585) 275-5288
lisa.altman@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, audio engineering, data science, computer vision, music
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and MindsAbstract of Award
University of South Carolina
Applied Computational Robotics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Jason O'Kane
(803) 777-1791
jokane@cse.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Field robotics, robotic perception and planning, human-robot interaction, security, software engineering
Applied Computational RoboticsAbstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Evan Suma
(310) 448-5311
suma@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual ExperiencesAbstract of Award
University of Southern California
Human Communication in a Connected World
Information Sciences Institute
Marina del Rey, California
Primary: Jelena Mirkovic
(310) 448-9170
sunshine@isi.edu
Secondary: Christophe Hauser
(310) 448-8225
hauser@isi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Information flow and structure of social networks, information extraction and summarization, cybersecurity and communication networks and protocols
Human Communication in a Connected WorldAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
REU Site: SCEC Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)
Southern California Earthquake Center Undergraduate Laboratory
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Gabriela Noriega
(213) 821-1117
gnoriega@usc.edu
Secondary: Thomas Jordan
(213) 821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Grand challenge problems in earthquake system science, High Performance Computing, Visualization and Data Analysis Tools
REU Site: Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Earth Sciences, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Southern California
Robotics and Autonomous Systems
Computer Science Department
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Nora Ayanian
(213) 740-5377
ayanian@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cooperative robotics, bio-inspired robots, robotic networks, socially assistive robots, software-defined radars for UAVs, perception-action-learning systems, autonomy for aquatic robots
Robotics and Autonomous SystemsAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
REU Site on Ubiquitous SensingAbstract of Award
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
CSURE, Computational Sciences for Undergraduate Research Experiences
Joint Institute for Computational Sciences (JICS)
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Kwai Wong
(865) 974-8833
kwong@utk.edu
Secondary: Gregory Peterson
(865) 241-0080
gdp@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry and materials sciences, systems biology, engineering mechanics, atmospheric sciences, and parallel solvers on emergent platforms,computational modeling
CSURE, Computational Sciences for Undergraduate Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Texas at Arlington
REU Program at the University of Texas at Arlington: Assistive Technologies for People with Disabilities
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Arlington, Texas
Primary: Ishfaq Ahmad
(817) 272-3605
iahmad@cse.uta.edu
Secondary: Pam Mcbride
(817) 272-3604
mcbride@cse.uta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Assistive technologies, vision, sensors, sign language, facial recognition, emotion and behavior analysis, smart augmented reality, data analytics, robots, human-machine interaction
REU Program at the University of Texas at Arlington: Assistive Technologies for People with DisabilitiesAbstract of Award
University of Texas - Austin
Extensible Undergraduate Research Experience in Communications Applications (EURECA)
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Sriram Vishwanath
(512) 471-1190
sriram@ece.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless networking, communications, signal processing, image and video processing, control systems
Extensible Undergraduate Research Experience in Communications Applications (EURECA)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Richardson, Texas
Primary: Eric Wong
(972) 883-6619
ewong@utdallas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software safety and reliability, quality assurance, verification and validation, cost effectiveness, safety standard and evolution, reliability modeling and prediction
REU Site: Software Safety and Reliability: Research and ApplicationAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Show 30 number of items per page.