Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Stanley May
(605) 677-5487
Stanley.May@usd.edu
Secondary: Grant Crawford
(605) 394-5133
grant.crawford@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Anti-counterfeiting,nanomaterials,materials science&engineering,chemistry,operations engineering,social/behavior science,mathematics and computer science,security printing,ink formulation.
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Secrity Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting TechnologyAbstract of Award
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Venkat Bhethanabotla
(813) 974-3041
bhethana@usf.edu
Secondary: John Kuhn
(813) 974-6498
jnkuhn@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, manufacturing, nanomaterials, composites, sensors, materials science, materials engineering
REU Site: REU in Functional Materials and Manufacturing at University of South FloridaAbstract of Award
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Primary: Daniel Loveless
(423) 425-2353
daniel-loveless@utc.edu
Secondary: Donald Reising
(423) 425-5843
donald-reising@utc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, mechanical engineering, physics, small satellites, CubeSat, space science
REU Site: An Interdisciplinary CubeSat Research and STEM Education Platform at the University of Tennessee at Chattanoog (UTChattSat)Abstract of Award
Austin, Texas
Primary: Roger T. Bonnecaze
(512) 471-1497
rtb@che.utexas.edu
Secondary: S.V Sreenivasan
(512) 471-6546
sv.sreeni@mail.utexas.edu
University of Texas at Austin
REU Site: BME Community of Undergradute Research Scholar
Biomedical Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Mia K. Markey
(512) 471-6424
mia.markey@utexas.edu
Secondary: Laura Suggs
(512) 232-1671
suggs@utexas.edu
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Timothy E. Allen
(434) 982-6751
teallen@virginia.edu
Secondary: Hannah Moore
(434) 924-5102
hmoore@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Systems bioengineering, biomedical engineering, Systems biology, biomedical data science, biology, bioinformatics, computational biology
REU Site: Multi-Scale Systems Bioengineering and Biomedical Data SciencesAbstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Center for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Eric Chudler
(206) 616-6899
chudler@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Rajesh Rao
(206) 685-9141
rao@cs.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, neural engineering
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
University of Washington Bothell
REU Site: Next-generation health monitoring systems with flexible electronics, novel algorithms and secure communication
Division of Engineering & Mathematics, Electrical Engineering Program
Bothell, Washington
Primary: Tadesse Ghirmai
(425) 352-3873
tadg@uw.edu
Secondary: Hung Cao
(425) 352-5194
hungcao@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical devices, flexible electronics, signal processing, data security
REU Site: Next-generation health monitoring systems with flexible electronics, novel algorithms and secure communicationAbstract of Award
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Prof. Clare McCabe
(615) 322-6853
c.mccabe@vanderbilt.edu
Secondary: Prof. Sandra Rosenthal
(615) 322-2633
sandra.j.rosenthal@vanderbilt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanoscale materials and engineering
REU Site: Nanoscale Materials Science and Engineering at Vanderbilt UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Virginia Commonwealth University
REU Site: Mechanobiology at VCU
Biomedical Engineering
Richmond, Virginia
Primary: Rebecca Heise
(804) 828-3496
rlheise@vcu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanobiology, cell mechanics, cell engineering, tissue engineering, drug delivery
REU Site: Mechanobiology at VCUAbstract of Award
Virginia Commonwealth University
REU Site: Pharmaceutical Engineering at Virginia Commonwealth University
College of Engineering and School of Pharmacy
Richmond, Virginia
Primary: Thomas Roper, Ph.D
(804) 828-5568
tdroper@vcu.edu
Secondary: Sandro da Rocha, Ph.D.
(804) 828-0985
srdarocha@vcu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pharmaceutical Engineering, Drug Delivery, Drug Manufacturing; Formulation, Active Pharmaceutical Ingredient
REU Site: Pharmaceutical Engineering at Virginia Commonwealth UniversityAbstract of Award
Virginia Tech
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Water Science and Engineering
Inst. for Critical Technology and Applied Science (ICTAS) and Dept. of Engr. Education
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Dr. Vinod K. Lohani
(540) 231-0019
vlohani@vt.edu
Secondary: Jennifer Cacciola
(540) 231-5244
jcacciola@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Urbanization Impacts, Chemical and Microbial Water Quality, Real-time Water Monitoring, Flint Study, Waste Water Treatment, Wetland Studies, International Water Issues, Drinking Water
Comments: This is an interdisciplinary site and students from various disciplinary backgrounds are welcome. We strongly encourage students from underrepresented minorities to apply. This Site includes an intern
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Water Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Jan Helge Bohn
(540) 231-3276
bohn@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Automotive Engineering, International, Europe, Germany, Technische Universitaet Darmstadt
REU Site: Collaborative International Automotive Engineering in Germany and the USAAbstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
REU Site: Imaging and mechanics-based Projects on Accidental Cases of Trauma(IMPACT)
Biomedical Engineering
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Primary: Ashley A. Weaver
(336) 716-0944
asweaver@wakehealth.edu
Secondary: Elaheh ( Ellie) Rahbar
(336) 713-1553
erahbar@wakehealth.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomechanics, biomedical engineering, cancer, computing, finite element Modeling, fracture, human, injury, medical imaging, military, motor vehicle crash, robotics, sensors, spaceflight,sports, TBI
REU Site: Imaging and mechanics-based Projects on Accidental Cases of Trauma(IMPACT)Abstract of Award
Washington University in St. Louis
REU Site: Thermal Management on Multiple Scales
Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Emily Boyd
(314) 935-6193
ejboyd@wustl.edu
Secondary: J. Mark Meacham
(314) 935-3821
meachamjm@wustl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Thermal management, heat transfer, energy, mechanical engineering, chemical engineering
REU Site: Thermal Management on Multiple ScalesAbstract of Award
Detroit, Michigan
Primary: Jeremy L. Rickli
(313) 577-1752
jlrickli@wayne.edu
Secondary: Yinlun Huang
(313) 577-3771
yhuang@wayne.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Manufacturing, sustainability, lightweight materials manufacturing, energy storage materials, remanufacturing, chemical-energy-water nexus
REU Site: Summer Academy in Sustainable ManufacturingAbstract of Award
William Marsh Rice University
REU Site: Nanotechnology REU with Focus on Community Colleges
Office of STEM Engagement (R-STEM)
Houston, Texas
Primary: Carolyn A. Nichol
(713) 348-2672
cnichol@rice.edu
Secondary: Rafael Verduzco
(713) 348-6492
rafaelv@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology , Community College
REU Site: Nanotechnology REU with Focus on Community CollegesAbstract of Award
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Zoe Reidinger, PhD
(508) 831-6735
azreidinger@wpi.edu
Secondary: Kris Billiar, PhD
(508) 831-5384
kbilliar@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomedical engineering, regenerative medicine, biomechanics, anti-microbial, biomaterials
REU Site: Integrated Bioengineering Research, Education, and Outreach Experiences for Females and Underrepresented Minorities at WPIAbstract of Award
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Brajendra Mishra
(508) 831-5711
bmishra@wpi.edu
Secondary: R. Brodeur
(508) 831-5003
rbrodeur@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials engineering, recover, recycle and reuse of materials
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Site: Developing a Clean Energy Future with Underserved Students
Energy Research Group
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Lyubov Titova
gr-erg-reu@wpi.edu
Secondary: N. Aaron Deskins
Research Topics/Keywords: physics, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, photonics, renewable energy, photovoltaics, biofuels, solar cells, catalysis, hydrochar, nanotechnology, photonic integrated circuits
REU Site: Developing a Clean Energy Future with Underserved StudentsAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.