Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Suchi Saria
(410) 516-8668
suchi.saria@gmail.com
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Michael Benton
(225) 578-1426
benton@lsu.edu
Secondary: Adam Melvin
(225) 578-3062
melvin@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: entrepreneurship,energy storage,catalysis,biofuels,biocatalysis,photocatalysis,biomaterials,soft matter,genetic engineering,protein eng.,bioengineering systems biology,polymers
REU Site: Developing entrepreneurs in energy storage, catalysis, and biofuelsAbstract of Award
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Cristinel Ababei
(414) 288-5720
cristinel.ababei@marquette.edu
Secondary: Majeed Hayat
(414) 288-6820
majeed.hayat@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environment monitoring, water, air, drone design, wireless communications, machine learning based analytics
REU Site: Hardware, Embedded Software, and Analytics for Environment Quality MonitoringAbstract of Award
Massachusetts General Hospital
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical Optics
Wellman Center for Photomedicine
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Walfre Franco
(617) 724-6083
wfranco@mgh.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biophotonics, Biomedical Engineering, Implantable and Wearable Photonic Devices, Optical Imaging, Optical Biomechanics, Nanotechnologies for Light Therapy and Diagnostics
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical OpticsAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Sociomobility
Engineering and Social Science
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Peter T. Savolainen
(517) 432-1825
pete@msu.edu
Secondary: Eva Kassens-Noor
(517) 432-8085
ekn@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mobility, engineering, urban planning, social science, autonomous vehicles, automated, politics, law, economics, equity, accessibility, public health, safety, workforce development, environment
REU Site: SociomobilityAbstract of Award
Montana State University
Oberving our World with Light and Sound
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Kevin Repasky
(406) 994-6082
respasky@montana.edu
Secondary: Wataru Nakagawa
(406) 994-5956
nakagawa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, acoustics, bioengineering, computer engineering, signal processing, remote sensing, sensors
Oberving our World with Light and SoundAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Observing our world with light and sound
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bozeman, Montana, Montana
Primary: Dr. Kevin Repasky
(406) 994-6082
repasky@montana.edu
Secondary: Dr. Wataru Nakagawa
(406) 994-5956
nakagawa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics,Photonics,Imaging,Remote Sensing,Optical Mtls,Acoustics, Soundscapes, Microfab, Nano-Optics, Nanotech., MEMS,Machine Learning,Image Processing,Biomedical Optics,Renewable Energy
REU Site: Observing our world with light and soundAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Exploring the Limits of Life - Understanding Biofilms in Extreme Environments
Thermal Biology Institute + Center for Biofilm Engineering
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Brent Peyton
(406) 994-7419
bpeyton@montana.edu
Secondary: Dana Skorupa
(262) 358-0510
dana.skorupa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Extremophile, Yellowstone, bioengineering, microbiology, biofilm
REU Site: Exploring the Limits of Life - Understanding Biofilms in Extreme EnvironmentsAbstract of Award
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Kofi Nyarko
(443) 885-3476
kofi.nyarko@morgan.edu
Secondary: Michel Reece
(443) 885-4732
michel.reece@morgan.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things,Hardware Security,Visible Light Communication,Microgrid,Photovoltaics,Battery storage,Bio-gas Production,Nanotechnology,Wearable Sensors,Smartphone Apps,Human-Machine Interaction
REU Site:Research Experiences for Undergraduates and Teachers in Smart and Connected CitiesAbstract of Award
New Jersey Institute of Technology
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and Devices
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Abdallah Khreishah
(973) 596-3528
abdallah@njit.edu
Secondary: Durga Misra
(973) 596-5739
dmisra@njit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: optics, photonics, optical communications, visible light communications, LEDs, optical coherence tomography, fiber optics for biomedical applications
Comments: Keywords (continued) optical image processing, nanostructures for optoelectronics
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and DevicesAbstract of Award
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (New Mexico Tech)
Intelligent Energetic Systems Engineering (INTENSE) REU
Mechanical Engineering
Socorro, New Mexico
Primary: Dr. Michael Hargather
(575) 835-5326
michael.hargather@nmt.edu
Secondary: Dr. David Grow
(575) 835-5109
david.grow@nmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Energetic materials, robotics, mechanical engineering, shock waves, compressible flow, haptics, smart materials, impact dynamics, shock physics, high speed, propulsion, explosive engineering
Intelligent Energetic Systems Engineering (INTENSE) REUAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Mehmet Ozturk
mco@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Elena Veety
enicole@ncsu.edu
North Carolina State University
REU Site: From the body to the grid: Joint ERC REU explores energy from nano-scale harvesting to smart grid technology
College of Engineering-Electrical and Computer Engineering
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Pam Carpenter FREEDM Systems Center
(919) 513-8335
ppcarpen@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Elena Veety ASSIST
(919) 513-0178
enicole@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nano-enabled, body powered, wearable health and environmental monitoring systems, body energy harvesters, sensors, electronics
Comments: Keywords (continued) smart grid, electric grid, renewable energy, power systems, power electronics
REU Site: From the body to the grid: Joint ERC REU explores energy from nano-scale harvesting to smart grid technologyAbstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Claire Duggan
(617) 373-2036
c.duggan@neu.edu
Secondary: Brad Lehman
(617) 373-3052
lehman@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research, undergraduate, energy, renewable energy, power solar, wind, storage, smart grid
REU Site: REU-POWER-"Pathways Opening World Energy Resources"Abstract of Award
Northwestern University
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)
Center for Synthetic Biology
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Michael Jewett
(847) 467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, biotechnology, engineering biology, bioengineering, systems biology, metabolic engineering, engineering
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Laila Guessous
(248) 370-2183
guessous@oakland.edu
Secondary: Qian Zou
(248) 370-2271
qzou@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Automotive and Engery Tribology, Optical methods, Fuel Cells, Batteries, IC Engines, Heat Transfer
REU Site: Automotive and Energy Research and Industrial Mentorship (AERIM) Prom at Oakland UniversityAbstract of Award
Oakland University
REU Site: Applied Research Experience in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ApREECE)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Brian Dean
(248) 370-2822
bkdean@oakland.edu
Secondary: Osamah Rawashdeh
(248) 370-2866
rawashd2@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Vehicles, Robotics, Signal Processing, Biomedical Instrumentation, Image Processing, Power Systems, Computer Architecture, GPU Computing, Systems and Controls
REU Site: Applied Research Experience in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ApREECE)Abstract of Award
Oklahoma State University
REU Site: Research Experiences in information Centric Engineering (ICE)
Industrials Engineering
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: J. Cecil
(405) 744-9131
j.cecil@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Industrial/Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
REU Site: Research Experiences in information Centric Engineering (ICE)Abstract of Award
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Dr. Xiaoyu Zhang
(757) 683-4913
x1zhang@odu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Sandeep Kumar
(757) 683-3898
skumar@odu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biofuel synthesis and upgrade, hydrogen production, catalyst development, fuel cell components and contamination, solar fuel production
REU SiteTraining Undergraduates in Electrochemical Technologies for Clean Fuels (Biofuels and Hydrogen) Production and Applications:Abstract of Award
Oregon State University
REU Site: Engineering for Bouncing Back
College of Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Dr. Meghna Babbar-Sebens
(541) 737-8536
meghna@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Resilience, Adaptation, Natural and Anthropogenic Hazards, Climate Change, Infrastructure, Natural Resources, Community Systems Thinking
REU Site: Engineering for Bouncing BackAbstract of Award
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Keefe B. Manning
(814) 863-6318
kbm10@psu.edu
Secondary: Margaret J. Slattery Ph.D
(814) 865-8092
mjsbio@engr.psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cardiovascular, biomaterials, devices, translational, tissue engineering, creativity
REU Site: Penn State Cardiovascular Research: Engineering A Translational Experience (CREATE)Abstract of Award
Pennsylvania State University
REU Site: Integration of Biology and Materials in Chemical Engineering
Chemical Engineering
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Esther Gomez
(814) 867-4732
ewg10@psu.edu
Secondary: Manish Kumar
(814) 865-7519
mxk64@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomaterials, biomimetics, bioinspiration, bioderivation, biosourcing
REU Site: Integration of Biology and Materials in Chemical EngineeringAbstract of Award
Pennsylvania State University
REU Site: Scalable Nanomanufacturing of Complex Materials REU Program
Materials Research Institute/Nanofabrication Facility and 2D Crystal Consortium
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Kathleen Gehoski
(814) 865-7443
kag31@psu.edu
Secondary: Ronald Redwing
rdr10@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: 2D materials, nanofabrication, complex materials, next generation electronics, piezoelectrics, wearable devices, internet of things, adjustable optics
REU Site: Scalable Nanomanufacturing of Complex Materials REU ProgramAbstract of Award
Glassboro, New Jersey
Primary: Mary Staehle, Ph.D
(856) 256-5338
staehle@rowan.edu
Secondary: Mark Byrne, Ph.D
(856) 256-5773
byrnem@rowan.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering,Biomaterials Engineering,Bionanotechnology,Medical Devices,Pharmaceutical Engineering&Therapeutics,Nanomanufacturing, Regenerative Medicine,Transcriptomics,Mechanobiology
REU Site: Biomedical Materials, Devices, Therapeutics, and Emerging FrontiersAbstract of Award
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
REU Site: Cellular Bioengineering --From Biomaterials to Stem Cells
Biomedical Engineering/School of Engineering
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: David I. Shreiber
(848) 445-6589
celleng@soe.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Linda Johnson
(848) 445-6869
lindalj@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, drug delivery, imaging, translational research, innovation, entrepreneurship, MEMS, biomaterials, stem cells, bioengineering, biomedical engineering
REU Site: Cellular Bioengineering --From Biomaterials to Stem CellsAbstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Zhaoshuo Jiang
(415) 338-7741
zsjiang@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Juan M. Caicedo
(803) 777-1925
caicedo@cec.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Civil Engineering, Smart Structure Technology, Academia-Industry Collaboration, Structural Control, Structural Health Monitoring, Smart Sensing, Optimization, Innovative Experimental Methods
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Integrated Academia-Industry Research Experience for Undergraduate in Smart Structure TechnologyAbstract of Award
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
REU Site: Bringing Us Together, Improving communications and Lives
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Rapid city, South Dakota
Primary: Thomas P. Montoya
(605) 394-2459
tmontoya@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical and computer Engineering
REU Site: Bringing Us Together, Improving communications and LivesAbstract of Award
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting Technology
Materials and Metallurgical Engineering Department
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Grant Crawford
(605) 394-5133
Grant.Crawford@sdsmt.edu
Secondary: Jon Kellar
(605) 394-2343
Jon.Kellar@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: anti-counterfeiting,nanomaterials,materials science&engineering,chemistry,operations engineering,social/behavior science,mathematics and computer science,security printing,ink formulation.
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting TechnologyAbstract of Award
South Dakota State University
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting Technology
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Brian Logue
(605) 688-6698
brian.logue@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Grant Crawford
(605) 394-5133
grant.crawford@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Anti-counterfeiting,nanomaterials,materials science&engineering,chemistry,operations engineering,social/behavior science,mathematics and computer science,security printing,ink formulation.
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting TechnologyAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.