Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Dr. Xiaoyu Zhang
(757) 683-4913
x1zhang@odu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Sandeep Kumar
(757) 683-3898
skumar@odu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biofuel synthesis and upgrade, hydrogen production, catalyst development, fuel cell components and contamination, solar fuel production
REU SiteTraining Undergraduates in Electrochemical Technologies for Clean Fuels (Biofuels and Hydrogen) Production and Applications:Abstract of Award
Oklahoma State University
REU Site: Research Experiences in information Centric Engineering (ICE)
Industrials Engineering
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: J. Cecil
(405) 744-9131
j.cecil@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Industrial/Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
REU Site: Research Experiences in information Centric Engineering (ICE)Abstract of Award
Oakland University
REU Site: Applied Research Experience in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ApREECE)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Brian Dean
(248) 370-2822
bkdean@oakland.edu
Secondary: Osamah Rawashdeh
(248) 370-2866
rawashd2@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Vehicles, Robotics, Signal Processing, Biomedical Instrumentation, Image Processing, Power Systems, Computer Architecture, GPU Computing, Systems and Controls
REU Site: Applied Research Experience in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ApREECE)Abstract of Award
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Laila Guessous
(248) 370-2183
guessous@oakland.edu
Secondary: Qian Zou
(248) 370-2271
qzou@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Automotive and Engery Tribology, Optical methods, Fuel Cells, Batteries, IC Engines, Heat Transfer
REU Site: Automotive and Energy Research and Industrial Mentorship (AERIM) Prom at Oakland UniversityAbstract of Award
Northwestern University
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)
Center for Synthetic Biology
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Michael Jewett
(847) 467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, biotechnology, engineering biology, bioengineering, systems biology, metabolic engineering, engineering
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Claire Duggan
(617) 373-2036
c.duggan@neu.edu
Secondary: Brad Lehman
(617) 373-3052
lehman@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research, undergraduate, energy, renewable energy, power solar, wind, storage, smart grid
REU Site: REU-POWER-"Pathways Opening World Energy Resources"Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: From the body to the grid: Joint ERC REU explores energy from nano-scale harvesting to smart grid technology
College of Engineering-Electrical and Computer Engineering
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Pam Carpenter FREEDM Systems Center
(919) 513-8335
ppcarpen@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Elena Veety ASSIST
(919) 513-0178
enicole@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nano-enabled, body powered, wearable health and environmental monitoring systems, body energy harvesters, sensors, electronics
Comments: Keywords (continued) smart grid, electric grid, renewable energy, power systems, power electronics
REU Site: From the body to the grid: Joint ERC REU explores energy from nano-scale harvesting to smart grid technologyAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Mehmet Ozturk
mco@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Elena Veety
enicole@ncsu.edu
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (New Mexico Tech)
Intelligent Energetic Systems Engineering (INTENSE) REU
Mechanical Engineering
Socorro, New Mexico
Primary: Dr. Michael Hargather
(575) 835-5326
michael.hargather@nmt.edu
Secondary: Dr. David Grow
(575) 835-5109
david.grow@nmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Energetic materials, robotics, mechanical engineering, shock waves, compressible flow, haptics, smart materials, impact dynamics, shock physics, high speed, propulsion, explosive engineering
Intelligent Energetic Systems Engineering (INTENSE) REUAbstract of Award
New Jersey Institute of Technology
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and Devices
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Abdallah Khreishah
(973) 596-3528
abdallah@njit.edu
Secondary: Durga Misra
(973) 596-5739
dmisra@njit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: optics, photonics, optical communications, visible light communications, LEDs, optical coherence tomography, fiber optics for biomedical applications
Comments: Keywords (continued) optical image processing, nanostructures for optoelectronics
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and DevicesAbstract of Award
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Kofi Nyarko
(443) 885-3476
kofi.nyarko@morgan.edu
Secondary: Michel Reece
(443) 885-4732
michel.reece@morgan.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things,Hardware Security,Visible Light Communication,Microgrid,Photovoltaics,Battery storage,Bio-gas Production,Nanotechnology,Wearable Sensors,Smartphone Apps,Human-Machine Interaction
REU Site:Research Experiences for Undergraduates and Teachers in Smart and Connected CitiesAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Exploring the Limits of Life - Understanding Biofilms in Extreme Environments
Thermal Biology Institute + Center for Biofilm Engineering
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Brent Peyton
(406) 994-7419
bpeyton@montana.edu
Secondary: Dana Skorupa
(262) 358-0510
dana.skorupa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Extremophile, Yellowstone, bioengineering, microbiology, biofilm
REU Site: Exploring the Limits of Life - Understanding Biofilms in Extreme EnvironmentsAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Observing our world with light and sound
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bozeman, Montana, Montana
Primary: Dr. Kevin Repasky
(406) 994-6082
repasky@montana.edu
Secondary: Dr. Wataru Nakagawa
(406) 994-5956
nakagawa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics,Photonics,Imaging,Remote Sensing,Optical Mtls,Acoustics, Soundscapes, Microfab, Nano-Optics, Nanotech., MEMS,Machine Learning,Image Processing,Biomedical Optics,Renewable Energy
REU Site: Observing our world with light and soundAbstract of Award
Montana State University
Oberving our World with Light and Sound
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Kevin Repasky
(406) 994-6082
respasky@montana.edu
Secondary: Wataru Nakagawa
(406) 994-5956
nakagawa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, acoustics, bioengineering, computer engineering, signal processing, remote sensing, sensors
Oberving our World with Light and SoundAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Sociomobility
Engineering and Social Science
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Peter T. Savolainen
(517) 432-1825
pete@msu.edu
Secondary: Eva Kassens-Noor
(517) 432-8085
ekn@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mobility, engineering, urban planning, social science, autonomous vehicles, automated, politics, law, economics, equity, accessibility, public health, safety, workforce development, environment
REU Site: SociomobilityAbstract of Award
Massachusetts General Hospital
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical Optics
Wellman Center for Photomedicine
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Walfre Franco
(617) 724-6083
wfranco@mgh.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biophotonics, Biomedical Engineering, Implantable and Wearable Photonic Devices, Optical Imaging, Optical Biomechanics, Nanotechnologies for Light Therapy and Diagnostics
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical OpticsAbstract of Award
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Cristinel Ababei
(414) 288-5720
cristinel.ababei@marquette.edu
Secondary: Majeed Hayat
(414) 288-6820
majeed.hayat@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environment monitoring, water, air, drone design, wireless communications, machine learning based analytics
REU Site: Hardware, Embedded Software, and Analytics for Environment Quality MonitoringAbstract of Award
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Michael Benton
(225) 578-1426
benton@lsu.edu
Secondary: Adam Melvin
(225) 578-3062
melvin@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: entrepreneurship,energy storage,catalysis,biofuels,biocatalysis,photocatalysis,biomaterials,soft matter,genetic engineering,protein eng.,bioengineering systems biology,polymers
REU Site: Developing entrepreneurs in energy storage, catalysis, and biofuelsAbstract of Award
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Suchi Saria
(410) 516-8668
suchi.saria@gmail.com
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Muyinatu Bell
(410) 516-7854
mledijubell@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science
Computational Sensing & Medical Robotics REUAbstract of Award
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Benjamin Ahn
(515) 294-6491
bahn@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Systems(UAS),System Health Mgmt. of UAS,Dynamic Geofencing,UAS Swarm Behavior,UAS Apps.(Sensors,Inductive Charging System,Spray System),UAS Impact(ethics, safety societal, environ.)
REU Site: Launching Aerospace's Underrepresented Students into the Next Chapter-Unmanned Aerial Systems (LAUNCH-UAS)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Ms. Hallie Golay
(515) 294-0838
mosaic@iastate.edu
Secondary: Sriram Sundararajan
srirams@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensors, nanomaterials, advanced manufacturing, smart materials, renewable energy, reliability, machine learning, medical diagnostics, food security, engineering
REU Site: Research and Education in Multiscale Sensing and ImagingAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
REU Site: Biological Materials and Processes (BioMaP)
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Monica H. Lamm
(515) 294-6533
mhlamm@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemical engineering, biological engineering, biomedical engineering, biological materials, biological processing, biochemical processing
REU Site: Biological Materials and Processes (BioMaP)Abstract of Award
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Mangilal Agarwal
(317) 278-9792
agarwal@iupui.edu
Secondary: Dr. Rajesh Sardar
(317) 278-2511
rsarder@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomtls, Nanofab, Future Mfg, Nanobiosensors, Batteries, Fuel Cells, Nanofluidics, Paper-based Analytical Devices, Phase Change Magnetic Nanomaterials, Biomaterials, Machine Learning
REU Site: Multidisciplinary Research for Undergraduates in Nanomaterials for Energy and Biological ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Bedford Park, Illinois
Primary: Kathiravan Krishnamurthy
(708) 563-8272
kkrishn2@iit.edu
Secondary: Satish Parulekar
(312) 567-3044
parulekar@iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: food safety, food engineering, nutrition, food science and technology
REU Site: An Interdisciplinary Research Experience for Undergraduates in Food Safety, Food Engineering, and NutritionAbstract of Award
Georgia Southern University Research and Service Foundation
REU Site: Propulsion, Aerodynamics, Materials and Controls of Aerial Vehicles
Mechanical Engineering
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Valentin Soloiu, Professor
(912) 478-2293
vsoloiu@georgiasouthern.edu
Secondary: Dr. Mosfequr Rahman, Assoc.-Professor
(912) 478-5004
mrahman@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Blade-vortex interaction,Synthetic jets,Negative Temp.,Coefficient Region,Double Winglet Aerodyn.,Thermo-acoustic instabilities, Human-UAV interaction, Ballistic impact on anisotropic mtls
REU Site: Propulsion, Aerodynamics, Materials and Controls of Aerial VehiclesAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Southeastern Undergraduate Internship in Nanotechnology
Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Quinn Spadola
(404) 894-2194
Quinn.spadola@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O’Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering, physics, chemistry, engineering, biomedical engineering, materials science
REU Site: Southeastern Undergraduate Internship in NanotechnologyAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Chun (Chuck) Zhang
(404) 894-3280
czhang343@isye.gatech.edu
Secondary: John Morehouse
(404) 385-0866
john.morehouse@gatech.edu
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-Robotics
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Leyla Conrad
(404) 385-0439
leyla.conrad@ece.gatech.edu
Secondary: Prof. Ayanna Howard
(404) 385-6450
ah260@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: robotics, interactive computing, biomechanics, bio robotics, assistive robotics, healthcare robotics
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-RoboticsAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.