Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Cristinel Ababei
(414) 288-5720
cristinel.ababei@marquette.edu
Secondary: Majeed Hayat
(414) 288-6820
majeed.hayat@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environment monitoring, water, air, drone design, wireless communications, machine learning based analytics
REU Site: Hardware, Embedded Software, and Analytics for Environment Quality MonitoringAbstract of Award
University of Washington Bothell
REU Site: Next-generation health monitoring systems with flexible electronics, novel algorithms and secure communication
Division of Engineering & Mathematics, Electrical Engineering Program
Bothell, Washington
Primary: Tadesse Ghirmai
(425) 352-3873
tadg@uw.edu
Secondary: Hung Cao
(425) 352-5194
hungcao@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical devices, flexible electronics, signal processing, data security
REU Site: Next-generation health monitoring systems with flexible electronics, novel algorithms and secure communicationAbstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Center for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Eric Chudler
(206) 616-6899
chudler@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Rajesh Rao
(206) 685-9141
rao@cs.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, neural engineering
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Jan Helge Bohn
(540) 231-3276
bohn@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Automotive Engineering, International, Europe, Germany, Technische Universitaet Darmstadt
REU Site: Collaborative International Automotive Engineering in Germany and the USAAbstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Virginia Tech
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Water Science and Engineering
Inst. for Critical Technology and Applied Science (ICTAS) and Dept. of Engr. Education
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Dr. Vinod K. Lohani
(540) 231-0019
vlohani@vt.edu
Secondary: Jennifer Cacciola
(540) 231-5244
jcacciola@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Urbanization Impacts, Chemical and Microbial Water Quality, Real-time Water Monitoring, Flint Study, Waste Water Treatment, Wetland Studies, International Water Issues, Drinking Water
Comments: This is an interdisciplinary site and students from various disciplinary backgrounds are welcome. We strongly encourage students from underrepresented minorities to apply. This Site includes an intern
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Water Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Virginia Commonwealth University
REU Site: Mechanobiology at VCU
Biomedical Engineering
Richmond, Virginia
Primary: Rebecca Heise
(804) 828-3496
rlheise@vcu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanobiology, cell mechanics, cell engineering, tissue engineering, drug delivery
REU Site: Mechanobiology at VCUAbstract of Award
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Timothy E. Allen
(434) 982-6751
teallen@virginia.edu
Secondary: Hannah Moore
(434) 924-5102
hmoore@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Systems bioengineering, biomedical engineering, Systems biology, biomedical data science, biology, bioinformatics, computational biology
REU Site: Multi-Scale Systems Bioengineering and Biomedical Data SciencesAbstract of Award
Virginia Commonwealth University
REU Site: Pharmaceutical Engineering at Virginia Commonwealth University
College of Engineering and School of Pharmacy
Richmond, Virginia
Primary: Thomas Roper, Ph.D
(804) 828-5568
tdroper@vcu.edu
Secondary: Sandro da Rocha, Ph.D.
(804) 828-0985
srdarocha@vcu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pharmaceutical Engineering, Drug Delivery, Drug Manufacturing; Formulation, Active Pharmaceutical Ingredient
REU Site: Pharmaceutical Engineering at Virginia Commonwealth UniversityAbstract of Award
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Dr. Xiaoyu Zhang
(757) 683-4913
x1zhang@odu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Sandeep Kumar
(757) 683-3898
skumar@odu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biofuel synthesis and upgrade, hydrogen production, catalyst development, fuel cell components and contamination, solar fuel production
REU SiteTraining Undergraduates in Electrochemical Technologies for Clean Fuels (Biofuels and Hydrogen) Production and Applications:Abstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site on Cybermanufacturing
Engineering Technology/Industrial and System Engineering/Mechanical Engineering
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Bimal Nepal
(979) 845-2230
nepal@tamu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Satish Bukkapatnam
(979) 458-2348
satish@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced manufacturing, design and planning, in situ prognostics and process control, and enterprise-wide optimization and coordination, and cyber security in manufacturing
REU Site on CybermanufacturingAbstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Jacques C. Richard
(979) 574-3907
Richard@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: UAV, Plasma modeling, Autonomous Control of Flapping Fin Dirigible, Pulsed Hypersonic Expansion Facility, Turbulent Wedges from Roughness Elements
Comments: Keywords (continued) Detailed Chemistry Computations Of Supersonic Reacting Flow
REU Site: Aerospace Engineering Research Opportunities for Undergraduates (AEERO-U)Abstract of Award
University of Texas at Austin
REU Site: BME Community of Undergradute Research Scholar
Biomedical Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Mia K. Markey
(512) 471-6424
mia.markey@utexas.edu
Secondary: Laura Suggs
(512) 232-1671
suggs@utexas.edu
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Reesarch Experiences in Metrology & Non-Destructive Inspection
Manufacturing & Mechanical Engg. Tech., Materials Science & Engg.
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Mathew Kuttolamadom
(979) 862-8472
mathew@tamu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Jyhwen Wang
(979) 845-4903
jwang@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Non-Destructive Inspection, Manufacturing, Materials Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Reesarch Experiences in Metrology & Non-Destructive InspectionAbstract of Award
Kingsville, Texas
Primary: Dr. Hua Li
(361) 593-4057
hua.li@tamuk.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kai Jin
(361) 593-2135
kai.jin@tamuk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Civil and Environment Engineering, Sustainable Energy, Energy Management, Air Quality, Energy Efficiency, Pollution Control and Reduction, Energy Policy, Clean Conventional Energy
Comments: This REU Site provides interdisciplinary research opportunities and welcomes both community college and undergraduate students in all the levels in engineering and science majors.
REU Site: Intergrating Research in Sustainable Energy and the Environment across Disciplines (IR-SEED)Abstract of Award
Austin, Texas
Primary: Roger T. Bonnecaze
(512) 471-1497
rtb@che.utexas.edu
Secondary: S.V Sreenivasan
(512) 471-6546
sv.sreeni@mail.utexas.edu
William Marsh Rice University
REU Site: Nanotechnology REU with Focus on Community Colleges
Office of STEM Engagement (R-STEM)
Houston, Texas
Primary: Carolyn A. Nichol
(713) 348-2672
cnichol@rice.edu
Secondary: Rafael Verduzco
(713) 348-6492
rafaelv@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology , Community College
REU Site: Nanotechnology REU with Focus on Community CollegesAbstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Energy and Propulsion
College of Engineering
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Eric Petersen
(979) 845-1257
epetersen@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: energy, propulsion, combustion, fluid mechanics, materials science, thermodynamics, laser diagnostics, mechanical engineering
Comments: Keywords (continued) aerospace engineering, turbomachinery, gas turbines, rockets, energy storage
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Energy and PropulsionAbstract of Award
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jose L. Contreras-Vidal, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4429
jlcontreras-vida@uh.edu
Secondary: Stuart Long, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4445
long@uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neurotechnology,neuroscience,computational neuroscience,brain imaging,medical devices,neuroprostheses,neural interfaces,robotics,neural engineering,rehabilitation,brain-computer-interfaces
REU Site:Neurotechnologies to Help the Body Move, Heal, and Feel AgainAbstract of Award
Tennessee Tech University
Manufacturing and Techno-Entrepreneurship
College of Engineering
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Joe Rencis
(931) 372-3172
jlrencis@tntech.edu
Secondary: Michelle Davis
(931) 372-6386
mdavis@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Manufacturing, Entrepreneurship, Techno-entrepreneurship, Engineering, Robotics, Additive, 3D Printing, Mechanical, Electrical, Chemical
Manufacturing and Techno-EntrepreneurshipAbstract of Award
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Primary: Daniel Loveless
(423) 425-2353
daniel-loveless@utc.edu
Secondary: Donald Reising
(423) 425-5843
donald-reising@utc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, mechanical engineering, physics, small satellites, CubeSat, space science
REU Site: An Interdisciplinary CubeSat Research and STEM Education Platform at the University of Tennessee at Chattanoog (UTChattSat)Abstract of Award
Tennessee Tech University
REU Site: Immersive Research in Energy Generation, Storage/Conversion and Power Transmission
Electrical Engineering,Chemical Engineering,Mechanical Engineering,Physics and Chemistry
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Indranil Bhattacharya
(931) 372-3352
ibhattacharya@tntech.edu
Secondary: Joseph Biernacki
(931) 372-3367
jbiernacki@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Cells,Biomass Pyrolysis,Fuel Cells,Lithium-ion Batteries,Piezoelectric Energy,Solar Thermal,Vehicle to Grid Integration,Photovoltaic Engineering and Maximum Power Point Tracking.
REU Site: Immersive Research in Energy Generation, Storage/Conversion and Power TransmissionAbstract of Award
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Prof. Clare McCabe
(615) 322-6853
c.mccabe@vanderbilt.edu
Secondary: Prof. Sandra Rosenthal
(615) 322-2633
sandra.j.rosenthal@vanderbilt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanoscale materials and engineering
REU Site: Nanoscale Materials Science and Engineering at Vanderbilt UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Stanley May
(605) 677-5487
Stanley.May@usd.edu
Secondary: Grant Crawford
(605) 394-5133
grant.crawford@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Anti-counterfeiting,nanomaterials,materials science&engineering,chemistry,operations engineering,social/behavior science,mathematics and computer science,security printing,ink formulation.
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Secrity Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting TechnologyAbstract of Award
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting Technology
Materials and Metallurgical Engineering Department
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Grant Crawford
(605) 394-5133
Grant.Crawford@sdsmt.edu
Secondary: Jon Kellar
(605) 394-2343
Jon.Kellar@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: anti-counterfeiting,nanomaterials,materials science&engineering,chemistry,operations engineering,social/behavior science,mathematics and computer science,security printing,ink formulation.
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting TechnologyAbstract of Award
South Dakota State University
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting Technology
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Brian Logue
(605) 688-6698
brian.logue@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Grant Crawford
(605) 394-5133
grant.crawford@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Anti-counterfeiting,nanomaterials,materials science&engineering,chemistry,operations engineering,social/behavior science,mathematics and computer science,security printing,ink formulation.
Collaborative Research: REU Site: Security Printing and Anti-Counterfeiting TechnologyAbstract of Award
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
REU Site: Bringing Us Together, Improving communications and Lives
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Rapid city, South Dakota
Primary: Thomas P. Montoya
(605) 394-2459
tmontoya@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical and computer Engineering
REU Site: Bringing Us Together, Improving communications and LivesAbstract of Award
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Juan M. Caicedo
(803) 777-1925
caicedo@cec.sc.edu
Secondary: Zhaoshuo Jiang
(415) 338-7741
zsjiang@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Civil Engineering, Smart Structure Technology, Academia-Industry Collaboration, Structural Control, Structural Health Monitoring, Smart Sensing, Optimization, Innovative Experimental Methods
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Integrated Academia-Industry Research Experience for Undergraduate in Smart Structure TechnologyAbstract of Award
Clemson University
REU Site: Solid-State Devices for Electronics, Photonics, and Magnetics Technology
Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: William R. Harrell
(864) 656-5918
wharrel@clemson.edu
Secondary: Chad E. Sosolik
(864) 656-0310
sosolik@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical & Computer , and Bio-Engineering; Materials Science; Physics
REU Site: Solid-State Devices for Electronics, Photonics, and Magnetics TechnologyAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: American Student Placements in Rehabilitation Engineering
Rehabilitation Science & Technology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rory A. Cooper
(412) 383-6596
rcooper@pitt.edu
Secondary: Alicia M. Koontz
(412) 365-4850
akoontz@pitt.edu
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph McCarthy
(412) 624-7362
jjmcc@pitt.edu
Secondary: Taryn Bayles
(412) 383-9970
tbayles@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, energy, biomedicine, sustainability, nanoparticles, multi-phase systems, particle processing, chemical engineering
REU Site: Enhancing Knowledge Integration Through Undergraduate Research-Particle-based Functional Materials for Energy, Sustainability, and BiomedicineAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.