Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Florida State University
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials Training
computer engineering, industrial engineering,materials and civil engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Okenwa O Okoli
(850) 410-6352
okoli@eng.fsu.edu
Secondary: Arda Vanli
(850) 410-6354
oavanli@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced materials and entrepreneurship
Comments: In addition to Engineering, the research could also fit under Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, and Physics, depending on the specific research project involved.
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials TrainingAbstract of Award
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Venkat Bhethanabotla
(813) 974-3041
bhethana@usf.edu
Secondary: John Kuhn
(813) 974-6498
jnkuhn@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, manufacturing, nanomaterials, composites, sensors, materials science, materials engineering
REU Site: REU in Functional Materials and Manufacturing at University of South FloridaAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Aaron Levine
aaron.levine@pubpolicy.gatech.edu
Secondary: Erin Bryant
(404) 894-2645
CMaT-REU@mail.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell manufacturing, biomedical engineering, biosciences, biomanufacturing, therapeutic cells
Cell Manufacturing Technologies (CMaT) Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology, NNCI Coordinating Office
National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (11 sites)
Georgia
Primary: Nancy Healy
(404) 385-4307
nancy.healy@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O'Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering
Comments: Eleven of the 16 sites of the NNCI have a summer REU program. The focus at each site varies but involves nanoscale science and engineering. The URL will take you to a central location where you can
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INC
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
College of Engineering
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Georgia Southern University Research and Service Foundation
REU Site: Propulsion, Aerodynamics, Materials and Controls of Aerial Vehicles
Mechanical Engineering
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Valentin Soloiu, Professor
(912) 478-2293
vsoloiu@georgiasouthern.edu
Secondary: Dr. Mosfequr Rahman, Assoc.-Professor
(912) 478-5004
mrahman@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Blade-vortex interaction,Synthetic jets,Negative Temp.,Coefficient Region,Double Winglet Aerodyn.,Thermo-acoustic instabilities, Human-UAV interaction, Ballistic impact on anisotropic mtls
REU Site: Propulsion, Aerodynamics, Materials and Controls of Aerial VehiclesAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Chun (Chuck) Zhang
(404) 894-3280
czhang343@isye.gatech.edu
Secondary: John Morehouse
(404) 385-0866
john.morehouse@gatech.edu
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Southeastern Undergraduate Internship in Nanotechnology
Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Quinn Spadola
(404) 894-2194
Quinn.spadola@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O’Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering, physics, chemistry, engineering, biomedical engineering, materials science
REU Site: Southeastern Undergraduate Internship in NanotechnologyAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-Robotics
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Leyla Conrad
(404) 385-0439
leyla.conrad@ece.gatech.edu
Secondary: Prof. Ayanna Howard
(404) 385-6450
ah260@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: robotics, interactive computing, biomechanics, bio robotics, assistive robotics, healthcare robotics
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-RoboticsAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site:Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
School of Electrical and Computer
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Dr. Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology; biomedicine, interdisciplinary research; microfluidics;cancer; regenerative medicine; bioimaging; cell;microfabrication; microscopy
REU Site:Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and BiomedicineAbstract of Award
Bedford Park, Illinois
Primary: Kathiravan Krishnamurthy
(708) 563-8272
kkrishn2@iit.edu
Secondary: Satish Parulekar
(312) 567-3044
parulekar@iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: food safety, food engineering, nutrition, food science and technology
REU Site: An Interdisciplinary Research Experience for Undergraduates in Food Safety, Food Engineering, and NutritionAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Discoveries in Bioimaging
Beckman Institute
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Stephen A. Boppart
(217) 244-7479
boppart@illinois.edu
Secondary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 333-2187
smi@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioimaging
REU Site: Discoveries in BioimagingAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging
Department of Bioengineering
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 300-5638
smi@illinois.edu
Secondary: Marina Marjanovic
(217) 244-6221
marinam@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioengineering,medicine,microscopy,microscope,spectroscopy,tomography,molecule,cell,tissue,cancer,oncology,neuron,brain,analysis,diagnostics,diagnosis,simulation,clinical,conference
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical ImagingAbstract of Award
Northwestern University
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)
Center for Synthetic Biology
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Michael Jewett
(847) 467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, biotechnology, engineering biology, bioengineering, systems biology, metabolic engineering, engineering
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Mangilal Agarwal
(317) 278-9792
agarwal@iupui.edu
Secondary: Dr. Rajesh Sardar
(317) 278-2511
rsarder@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomtls, Nanofab, Future Mfg, Nanobiosensors, Batteries, Fuel Cells, Nanofluidics, Paper-based Analytical Devices, Phase Change Magnetic Nanomaterials, Biomaterials, Machine Learning
REU Site: Multidisciplinary Research for Undergraduates in Nanomaterials for Energy and Biological ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
REU Site: Biological Materials and Processes (BioMaP)
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Monica H. Lamm
(515) 294-6533
mhlamm@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemical engineering, biological engineering, biomedical engineering, biological materials, biological processing, biochemical processing
REU Site: Biological Materials and Processes (BioMaP)Abstract of Award
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Benjamin Ahn
(515) 294-6491
bahn@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Systems(UAS),System Health Mgmt. of UAS,Dynamic Geofencing,UAS Swarm Behavior,UAS Apps.(Sensors,Inductive Charging System,Spray System),UAS Impact(ethics, safety societal, environ.)
REU Site: Launching Aerospace's Underrepresented Students into the Next Chapter-Unmanned Aerial Systems (LAUNCH-UAS)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Ms. Hallie Golay
(515) 294-0838
mosaic@iastate.edu
Secondary: Sriram Sundararajan
srirams@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensors, nanomaterials, advanced manufacturing, smart materials, renewable energy, reliability, machine learning, medical diagnostics, food security, engineering
REU Site: Research and Education in Multiscale Sensing and ImagingAbstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: Amanda J. Haes
(319) 384-3695
amanda-haes@uiowa.edu
Secondary: C. Allan Guymon
(319) 335-5015
allan-guymon@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical & Biochemical Engineering, Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, Biomaterials
REU Site:Undergraduate Research in nanoscience and NanotechnologyAbstract of Award
University of Kansas Center for Research, Inc.
REU SITE: IDEA Incubator for Porous Materials: Integrating Discovery, Engineering and Art
Chemical&Petroleum Engineering/Center for Environmental Benefical Catalysis
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Mark B. Shiflett
(785) 864-6719
mark.b.shiflett@ku.edu
Secondary: Claudia Bode
(785) 864-1647
bode@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical engineering,materials science,biomedical engineering,tissue engineering, biomaterials,electrochemistry,catalysis,renewable chemicals,design,innovation
REU SITE: IDEA Incubator for Porous Materials: Integrating Discovery, Engineering and ArtAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-9844
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomaterials, Biological systems, Membranes, Interfaces, Devices
REU Site: A Multidisciplinary Research Experience in Engineered Bioactive Interfaces and DevicesAbstract of Award
Louisville, Kentucky
Primary: Ana Sanchez Galiano
(502) 852-1568
ana.sanchez@louisville.edu
Secondary: Kevin Walsh
(502) 852-0826
walsh@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotech,Advanced Mfg,Eng,MEMS,Additive Mfg,3D Printing,Micro-fluidics, Nano-mfg, Microelectronics,Sensors,Optics, Electrokinetics,Energy Transfer,Micro-robots,Nanomtls, Microfab, Nanofab,NEMS
REU SITE: Interdisciplinary Micro/nano/additive-manufacturing Program Addressing Challenges Today – Next Generation (IMPACT-NG)Abstract of Award
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Michael Benton
(225) 578-1426
benton@lsu.edu
Secondary: Adam Melvin
(225) 578-3062
melvin@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: entrepreneurship,energy storage,catalysis,biofuels,biocatalysis,photocatalysis,biomaterials,soft matter,genetic engineering,protein eng.,bioengineering systems biology,polymers
REU Site: Developing entrepreneurs in energy storage, catalysis, and biofuelsAbstract of Award
Orono, Maine
Primary: Douglas J. Gardner
(207) 581-2846
douglasg@maine.edu
Secondary: David Neivandt
(207) 581-2288
david.neivandt@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable, Forest, Bioproducts, Engineering, Nanomaterials, Feedstock Modification
REU Site: Explore it! Building the Next Generation of Sustainable Forest Bioproduct ResearchersAbstract of Award
University of Maine
REU Site:Sensor Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
Orono, Maine
Primary: Nuri W. Emanetoglu
(207) 581-2233
nuri.emanetoglu@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensor science and engineering
REU Site:Sensor Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Muyinatu Bell
(410) 516-7854
mledijubell@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science
Computational Sensing & Medical Robotics REUAbstract of Award
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Ian White
(301) 405-6230
ianwhite@umd.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Stroka
(301) 314-1813
kstroka@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioengineering, engineering cell, tissues, organs
REU Site: New approaches to engineering cells, tissues, and organsAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Suchi Saria
(410) 516-8668
suchi.saria@gmail.com
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Kofi Nyarko
(443) 885-3476
kofi.nyarko@morgan.edu
Secondary: Michel Reece
(443) 885-4732
michel.reece@morgan.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things,Hardware Security,Visible Light Communication,Microgrid,Photovoltaics,Battery storage,Bio-gas Production,Nanotechnology,Wearable Sensors,Smartphone Apps,Human-Machine Interaction
REU Site:Research Experiences for Undergraduates and Teachers in Smart and Connected CitiesAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.