Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Brajendra Mishra
(508) 831-5711
bmishra@wpi.edu
Secondary: R. Brodeur
(508) 831-5003
rbrodeur@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials engineering, recover, recycle and reuse of materials
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Site: Developing a Clean Energy Future with Underserved Students
Energy Research Group
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Lyubov Titova
gr-erg-reu@wpi.edu
Secondary: N. Aaron Deskins
Research Topics/Keywords: physics, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, photonics, renewable energy, photovoltaics, biofuels, solar cells, catalysis, hydrochar, nanotechnology, photonic integrated circuits
REU Site: Developing a Clean Energy Future with Underserved StudentsAbstract of Award
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Zoe Reidinger, PhD
(508) 831-6735
azreidinger@wpi.edu
Secondary: Kris Billiar, PhD
(508) 831-5384
kbilliar@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomedical engineering, regenerative medicine, biomechanics, anti-microbial, biomaterials
REU Site: Integrated Bioengineering Research, Education, and Outreach Experiences for Females and Underrepresented Minorities at WPIAbstract of Award
Boston University
REU Site: Integrated Nanomanufacturing
Mechanical Engineering
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Xin Zhang
(617) 358-2702
Xinz@bu.edu
Secondary: Helen Fawcett
(857) 753-1719
hfawcett@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomanufacturing
REU Site: Integrated NanomanufacturingAbstract of Award
Trustees of Boston University
REU Site: Integrated Nanomanufacturing
Photonics Center
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Helen Fawcett
(857) 753-1719
hfawcett@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology,neurophotonics,nanophotonics,materials,nanomanufacturing,nanosystems,engineering
REU Site: Integrated NanomanufacturingAbstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Claire Duggan
(617) 373-2036
c.duggan@neu.edu
Secondary: Brad Lehman
(617) 373-3052
lehman@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research, undergraduate, energy, renewable energy, power solar, wind, storage, smart grid
REU Site: REU-POWER-"Pathways Opening World Energy Resources"Abstract of Award
Massachusetts General Hospital
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical Optics
Wellman Center for Photomedicine
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Walfre Franco
(617) 724-6083
wfranco@mgh.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biophotonics, Biomedical Engineering, Implantable and Wearable Photonic Devices, Optical Imaging, Optical Biomechanics, Nanotechnologies for Light Therapy and Diagnostics
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical OpticsAbstract of Award
Oakland University
REU Site: Applied Research Experience in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ApREECE)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Brian Dean
(248) 370-2822
bkdean@oakland.edu
Secondary: Osamah Rawashdeh
(248) 370-2866
rawashd2@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Vehicles, Robotics, Signal Processing, Biomedical Instrumentation, Image Processing, Power Systems, Computer Architecture, GPU Computing, Systems and Controls
REU Site: Applied Research Experience in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ApREECE)Abstract of Award
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Laila Guessous
(248) 370-2183
guessous@oakland.edu
Secondary: Qian Zou
(248) 370-2271
qzou@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Automotive and Engery Tribology, Optical methods, Fuel Cells, Batteries, IC Engines, Heat Transfer
REU Site: Automotive and Energy Research and Industrial Mentorship (AERIM) Prom at Oakland UniversityAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Sociomobility
Engineering and Social Science
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Peter T. Savolainen
(517) 432-1825
pete@msu.edu
Secondary: Eva Kassens-Noor
(517) 432-8085
ekn@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mobility, engineering, urban planning, social science, autonomous vehicles, automated, politics, law, economics, equity, accessibility, public health, safety, workforce development, environment
REU Site: SociomobilityAbstract of Award
Detroit, Michigan
Primary: Jeremy L. Rickli
(313) 577-1752
jlrickli@wayne.edu
Secondary: Yinlun Huang
(313) 577-3771
yhuang@wayne.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Manufacturing, sustainability, lightweight materials manufacturing, energy storage materials, remanufacturing, chemical-energy-water nexus
REU Site: Summer Academy in Sustainable ManufacturingAbstract of Award
University of Michigan-Dearborn
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Sustainable Energy (U-RISE)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dearborn, Michigan
Primary: Wencong Su
(313) 593-5314
wencong@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable energy, power systems, power electronics, renewable energy, smart grid
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Sustainable Energy (U-RISE)Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
REU Site in mechanical Engineering :Energy and the Environment(ME)
Mechanical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Susan Mantell
(612) 625-0705
umn-me-reu@umn.edu
Secondary: Alex Dausch
(612) 625-5326
adausch@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mechanical engineering, energy, environment, sustainability, design, Modeling, simulation, experiment, engines, plasmas, solar, materials, sensors, aerosols, manufacturing
REU Site in mechanical Engineering :Energy and the Environment(ME)Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
REU Site: Neural Systems Engineering
Biomedical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Tay Netoff
(612) 625-3618
tnetoff@umn.edu
Secondary: Matt Johnson
(612) 626-6492
john5101@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering, Neural Engineering, Computational Modeling, Biomedical Devices
Comments: Research projects relate to advancing engineering approaches to study and interact with the central and peripheral nervous systems.
REU Site: Neural Systems EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Fluid Power
Mechanical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Kim A. Stelson
(612) 625-6528
kstelson@me.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid power, Sub-fields:hydraulics, pneumatics, power supplies,tribology, wind power, pneumatic medical devices, noise-vibration-harshness, fluids
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Fluid PowerAbstract of Award
Washington University in St. Louis
REU Site: Thermal Management on Multiple Scales
Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Emily Boyd
(314) 935-6193
ejboyd@wustl.edu
Secondary: J. Mark Meacham
(314) 935-3821
meachamjm@wustl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Thermal management, heat transfer, energy, mechanical engineering, chemical engineering
REU Site: Thermal Management on Multiple ScalesAbstract of Award
Montana State University
Oberving our World with Light and Sound
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Kevin Repasky
(406) 994-6082
respasky@montana.edu
Secondary: Wataru Nakagawa
(406) 994-5956
nakagawa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, acoustics, bioengineering, computer engineering, signal processing, remote sensing, sensors
Oberving our World with Light and SoundAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Exploring the Limits of Life - Understanding Biofilms in Extreme Environments
Thermal Biology Institute + Center for Biofilm Engineering
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Brent Peyton
(406) 994-7419
bpeyton@montana.edu
Secondary: Dana Skorupa
(262) 358-0510
dana.skorupa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Extremophile, Yellowstone, bioengineering, microbiology, biofilm
REU Site: Exploring the Limits of Life - Understanding Biofilms in Extreme EnvironmentsAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Observing our world with light and sound
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bozeman, Montana, Montana
Primary: Dr. Kevin Repasky
(406) 994-6082
repasky@montana.edu
Secondary: Dr. Wataru Nakagawa
(406) 994-5956
nakagawa@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics,Photonics,Imaging,Remote Sensing,Optical Mtls,Acoustics, Soundscapes, Microfab, Nano-Optics, Nanotech., MEMS,Machine Learning,Image Processing,Biomedical Optics,Renewable Energy
REU Site: Observing our world with light and soundAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Sustainability of Horizontal Civil Networks in Rural Areas
Department of Civil Engineering
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Shannon Bartelt-Hunt
(402) 554-3868
sbartelt2@unl.edu
Secondary: Alisha Hanshaw
(402) 472-2869
alisha.hanshaw@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sustainability, infrastructure, civil engineering, environmental and water resources engineering, structures, civil engineering materials, transportation engineering
REU Site: Sustainability of Horizontal Civil Networks in Rural AreasAbstract of Award
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Greg Bashford
(402) 472-1745
gbashford2@unl.edu
Secondary: Carl Nelson
(402) 472-4128
cnelson5@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering; Biomedical Devices; Bioengineering
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Biomedical Devices at the University of Nebraska-LincolnAbstract of Award
Reno, Nevada
Primary: Yantao Shen
(775) 784-6918
ytshen@unr.edu
Secondary: Jennifer L Hoy
(775) 784-6049
jhoy@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomimetics, Soft Crawling Robots, 3D Printed Soft Robots, Neuro Based Soft Robots, Electroactive Polymers and Applications, Supercoiled Polymer Actuators, Smart Materials Enabled Compliant Devices
REU Site: Biomimetic and Soft Robotics (BioSoRo): from Biological Inspirations to Engineered MechanismsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
REU Site: Smart Cities: Intelligent, Safe, and Secure Mobility
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Las Vegas, Nevada
Primary: Brendan Morris
(702) 774-1480
brendan.morris@unlv.edu
Secondary: Sarah Harris
(702) 895-4518
sarah.harris@unlv.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Smart cities, intelligent transportation systems, connected and autonomous vehicles, V2X communication, IoT, deep learning, machine learning, AI, electrical eng., computer eng., computer science
REU Site: Smart Cities: Intelligent, Safe, and Secure MobilityAbstract of Award
Glassboro, New Jersey
Primary: Mary Staehle, Ph.D
(856) 256-5338
staehle@rowan.edu
Secondary: Mark Byrne, Ph.D
(856) 256-5773
byrnem@rowan.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering,Biomaterials Engineering,Bionanotechnology,Medical Devices,Pharmaceutical Engineering&Therapeutics,Nanomanufacturing, Regenerative Medicine,Transcriptomics,Mechanobiology
REU Site: Biomedical Materials, Devices, Therapeutics, and Emerging FrontiersAbstract of Award
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
REU Site: Cellular Bioengineering --From Biomaterials to Stem Cells
Biomedical Engineering/School of Engineering
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: David I. Shreiber
(848) 445-6589
celleng@soe.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Linda Johnson
(848) 445-6869
lindalj@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, drug delivery, imaging, translational research, innovation, entrepreneurship, MEMS, biomaterials, stem cells, bioengineering, biomedical engineering
REU Site: Cellular Bioengineering --From Biomaterials to Stem CellsAbstract of Award
New Jersey Institute of Technology
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and Devices
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Abdallah Khreishah
(973) 596-3528
abdallah@njit.edu
Secondary: Durga Misra
(973) 596-5739
dmisra@njit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: optics, photonics, optical communications, visible light communications, LEDs, optical coherence tomography, fiber optics for biomedical applications
Comments: Keywords (continued) optical image processing, nanostructures for optoelectronics
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and DevicesAbstract of Award
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (New Mexico Tech)
Intelligent Energetic Systems Engineering (INTENSE) REU
Mechanical Engineering
Socorro, New Mexico
Primary: Dr. Michael Hargather
(575) 835-5326
michael.hargather@nmt.edu
Secondary: Dr. David Grow
(575) 835-5109
david.grow@nmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Energetic materials, robotics, mechanical engineering, shock waves, compressible flow, haptics, smart materials, impact dynamics, shock physics, high speed, propulsion, explosive engineering
Intelligent Energetic Systems Engineering (INTENSE) REUAbstract of Award
University of New Mexico
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Nanoscience and Microsystems Engineering
Center for Microengineered Materials & Materials & Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Primary: Abhaya K. Datye
(505) 277-0477
datye@unm.edu
Secondary: Nora Akram
(505) 277-2833
reu@unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanomaterials, biomaterials, nanoparticles, energy conversion, catalysts, fuel cells, imaging, flow cytometry, drug delivery, Self assembly, Optoelectronic devices, solar cells, sensors
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Nanoscience and Microsystems EngineeringAbstract of Award
State University of New York at Buffalo
Environmental Engineering Solutions for Pollution Prevention
Civil, Structural , and Environmental Engineering
Buffalo, New York
Primary: John D. Atkinson
(716) 645-4001
AtkJDW@buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Engineering, Environmental Science, Chemical Engineering, Sustainability, Pollution Prevention, Air Pollution, Water Pollution
Environmental Engineering Solutions for Pollution PreventionAbstract of Award
State University of New York at Buffalo
Environmental Engineering Solutions for Pollution Prevention (EESPP)
Environmental Engineering
Buffalo, New York
Primary: Dr. John D. Atkinson
(716) 645-4001
AtkJDW@buffalo.edu
Secondary: Dr. Alan Rabideau
(716) 645-4003
rabideau@buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Engineering, Sustainability, Pollution, Remediation, Water Treatment, Air Pollution, Water Pollution, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Biology, Geology, Great Lakes, Interdisciplinary
Environmental Engineering Solutions for Pollution Prevention (EESPP)Abstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.