Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Newark, Delaware
Primary: Jill Higginson
(302) 831-6622
higginson@udel.edu
Secondary: Xin Lu
(302) 831-3581
xlu@udel.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomechanical engineering, osteoarthritis, quantitative analysis, computational skills, physical therapy, connective tissue biomechanics, cellular mechanobiology, molecular transport,rehabilitation
Dare to BE FIRST - Biomechanical Engineering Foundations in Impactful Research, Science & TechnologyAbstract of Award
University of Denver (Colorado Seminary)
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Power and Energy Systems for Smart Cities
Electrical and Computer Engineering / Daniel Felix Ritchie School of Engineering and Computer Scienc
Denver, Colorado
Primary: David Wenzhong Gao, PhD
(303) 871-3570
Wenzhong.Gao@du.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Power System Resiliency, Transportation Electrification, Energy Economy, Community Microgrids, Data Analytics, Renewable Energy, Smart Grid, Power Systems, Energy Systems, Smart Cities
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Power and Energy Systems for Smart CitiesAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Engineering for Healthcare
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Douglas Spearot
(352) 392-6747
REUEngineeringforhealthcare@mae.ufl.edu
Secondary: Malisa Sarntinoranont
(352) 392-8404
REUEngineeringforhealthcare@mae.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Surface engineering, Biofluids and Biotransport, Thin films, Biomedical photonics, Rehabilitative Engineering, Biomechanics, Mechanobiology, Soft Tissue Mechanics, Hydrogels
REU Site: Engineering for HealthcareAbstract of Award
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Carlos Rinaldi
(352) 392-0881
reu@che.ufl.edu
Secondary: Emily Lopez
(352) 392-0881
admin@che.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Catalysis, reaction engineering, nanomanufacturing, nanoscale engineering, complex flows, interfacial phenomena, chemical engineering, biomedical engineering
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Chemical Engineering at the University of FloridaAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site:Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
School of Electrical and Computer
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Dr. Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology; biomedicine, interdisciplinary research; microfluidics;cancer; regenerative medicine; bioimaging; cell;microfabrication; microscopy
REU Site:Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and BiomedicineAbstract of Award
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INC
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
College of Engineering
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jose L. Contreras-Vidal, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4429
jlcontreras-vida@uh.edu
Secondary: Stuart Long, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4445
long@uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neurotechnology,neuroscience,computational neuroscience,brain imaging,medical devices,neuroprostheses,neural interfaces,robotics,neural engineering,rehabilitation,brain-computer-interfaces
REU Site:Neurotechnologies to Help the Body Move, Heal, and Feel AgainAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Discoveries in Bioimaging
Beckman Institute
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Stephen A. Boppart
(217) 244-7479
boppart@illinois.edu
Secondary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 333-2187
smi@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioimaging
REU Site: Discoveries in BioimagingAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging
Department of Bioengineering
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 300-5638
smi@illinois.edu
Secondary: Marina Marjanovic
(217) 244-6221
marinam@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioengineering,medicine,microscopy,microscope,spectroscopy,tomography,molecule,cell,tissue,cancer,oncology,neuron,brain,analysis,diagnostics,diagnosis,simulation,clinical,conference
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical ImagingAbstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: Amanda J. Haes
(319) 384-3695
amanda-haes@uiowa.edu
Secondary: C. Allan Guymon
(319) 335-5015
allan-guymon@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical & Biochemical Engineering, Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, Biomaterials
REU Site:Undergraduate Research in nanoscience and NanotechnologyAbstract of Award
University of Kansas Center for Research, Inc.
REU SITE: IDEA Incubator for Porous Materials: Integrating Discovery, Engineering and Art
Chemical&Petroleum Engineering/Center for Environmental Benefical Catalysis
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Mark B. Shiflett
(785) 864-6719
mark.b.shiflett@ku.edu
Secondary: Claudia Bode
(785) 864-1647
bode@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical engineering,materials science,biomedical engineering,tissue engineering, biomaterials,electrochemistry,catalysis,renewable chemicals,design,innovation
REU SITE: IDEA Incubator for Porous Materials: Integrating Discovery, Engineering and ArtAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-9844
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomaterials, Biological systems, Membranes, Interfaces, Devices
REU Site: A Multidisciplinary Research Experience in Engineered Bioactive Interfaces and DevicesAbstract of Award
Louisville, Kentucky
Primary: Ana Sanchez Galiano
(502) 852-1568
ana.sanchez@louisville.edu
Secondary: Kevin Walsh
(502) 852-0826
walsh@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotech,Advanced Mfg,Eng,MEMS,Additive Mfg,3D Printing,Micro-fluidics, Nano-mfg, Microelectronics,Sensors,Optics, Electrokinetics,Energy Transfer,Micro-robots,Nanomtls, Microfab, Nanofab,NEMS
REU SITE: Interdisciplinary Micro/nano/additive-manufacturing Program Addressing Challenges Today – Next Generation (IMPACT-NG)Abstract of Award
Orono, Maine
Primary: Douglas J. Gardner
(207) 581-2846
douglasg@maine.edu
Secondary: David Neivandt
(207) 581-2288
david.neivandt@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable, Forest, Bioproducts, Engineering, Nanomaterials, Feedstock Modification
REU Site: Explore it! Building the Next Generation of Sustainable Forest Bioproduct ResearchersAbstract of Award
University of Maine
REU Site:Sensor Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
Orono, Maine
Primary: Nuri W. Emanetoglu
(207) 581-2233
nuri.emanetoglu@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensor science and engineering
REU Site:Sensor Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Ian White
(301) 405-6230
ianwhite@umd.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Stroka
(301) 314-1813
kstroka@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioengineering, engineering cell, tissues, organs
REU Site: New approaches to engineering cells, tissues, and organsAbstract of Award
University of Michigan-Dearborn
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Sustainable Energy (U-RISE)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dearborn, Michigan
Primary: Wencong Su
(313) 593-5314
wencong@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable energy, power systems, power electronics, renewable energy, smart grid
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Sustainable Energy (U-RISE)Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
REU Site: Neural Systems Engineering
Biomedical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Tay Netoff
(612) 625-3618
tnetoff@umn.edu
Secondary: Matt Johnson
(612) 626-6492
john5101@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering, Neural Engineering, Computational Modeling, Biomedical Devices
Comments: Research projects relate to advancing engineering approaches to study and interact with the central and peripheral nervous systems.
REU Site: Neural Systems EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota
REU Site in mechanical Engineering :Energy and the Environment(ME)
Mechanical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Susan Mantell
(612) 625-0705
umn-me-reu@umn.edu
Secondary: Alex Dausch
(612) 625-5326
adausch@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mechanical engineering, energy, environment, sustainability, design, Modeling, simulation, experiment, engines, plasmas, solar, materials, sensors, aerosols, manufacturing
REU Site in mechanical Engineering :Energy and the Environment(ME)Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Fluid Power
Mechanical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Kim A. Stelson
(612) 625-6528
kstelson@me.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid power, Sub-fields:hydraulics, pneumatics, power supplies,tribology, wind power, pneumatic medical devices, noise-vibration-harshness, fluids
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Fluid PowerAbstract of Award
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Greg Bashford
(402) 472-1745
gbashford2@unl.edu
Secondary: Carl Nelson
(402) 472-4128
cnelson5@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering; Biomedical Devices; Bioengineering
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Biomedical Devices at the University of Nebraska-LincolnAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Sustainability of Horizontal Civil Networks in Rural Areas
Department of Civil Engineering
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Shannon Bartelt-Hunt
(402) 554-3868
sbartelt2@unl.edu
Secondary: Alisha Hanshaw
(402) 472-2869
alisha.hanshaw@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sustainability, infrastructure, civil engineering, environmental and water resources engineering, structures, civil engineering materials, transportation engineering
REU Site: Sustainability of Horizontal Civil Networks in Rural AreasAbstract of Award
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
REU Site: Smart Cities: Intelligent, Safe, and Secure Mobility
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Las Vegas, Nevada
Primary: Brendan Morris
(702) 774-1480
brendan.morris@unlv.edu
Secondary: Sarah Harris
(702) 895-4518
sarah.harris@unlv.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Smart cities, intelligent transportation systems, connected and autonomous vehicles, V2X communication, IoT, deep learning, machine learning, AI, electrical eng., computer eng., computer science
REU Site: Smart Cities: Intelligent, Safe, and Secure MobilityAbstract of Award
Reno, Nevada
Primary: Yantao Shen
(775) 784-6918
ytshen@unr.edu
Secondary: Jennifer L Hoy
(775) 784-6049
jhoy@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomimetics, Soft Crawling Robots, 3D Printed Soft Robots, Neuro Based Soft Robots, Electroactive Polymers and Applications, Supercoiled Polymer Actuators, Smart Materials Enabled Compliant Devices
REU Site: Biomimetic and Soft Robotics (BioSoRo): from Biological Inspirations to Engineered MechanismsAbstract of Award
University of New Mexico
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Nanoscience and Microsystems Engineering
Center for Microengineered Materials & Materials & Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Primary: Abhaya K. Datye
(505) 277-0477
datye@unm.edu
Secondary: Nora Akram
(505) 277-2833
reu@unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanomaterials, biomaterials, nanoparticles, energy conversion, catalysts, fuel cells, imaging, flow cytometry, drug delivery, Self assembly, Optoelectronic devices, solar cells, sensors
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Nanoscience and Microsystems EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of New York at Stony Brook
REU Site: Nanotechnology for Health, Energy and the Environment
Materials Science and Engineering
Stony Brook, New York
Primary: Gary P. Halada
631-632-8526
ghalada@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology for Health, Energy and Environment
REU Site: Nanotechnology for Health, Energy and the EnvironmentAbstract of Award
University of Pennsylvania
REU Site: SUNFEST: Susmmer Undergraduate Research in Sensor Technologi
School of Engineering and Applied Science
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Jan Van der Spiegel
(215) 898-7116
sunfest@seas.upenn.edu
Secondary: Colleen Kennedy
(215) 746-1445
colk@seas.upenn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensors, Sensor Technology, Sensors for Robotics, Imagers, Biomedical, Biosensors, Chemical Sensing, Nanotechnology, Bio-inspired sensing, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engr, Material Engr
REU Site: SUNFEST: Susmmer Undergraduate Research in Sensor TechnologiAbstract of Award
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph McCarthy
(412) 624-7362
jjmcc@pitt.edu
Secondary: Taryn Bayles
(412) 383-9970
tbayles@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, energy, biomedicine, sustainability, nanoparticles, multi-phase systems, particle processing, chemical engineering
REU Site: Enhancing Knowledge Integration Through Undergraduate Research-Particle-based Functional Materials for Energy, Sustainability, and BiomedicineAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: American Student Placements in Rehabilitation Engineering
Rehabilitation Science & Technology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rory A. Cooper
(412) 383-6596
rcooper@pitt.edu
Secondary: Alicia M. Koontz
(412) 365-4850
akoontz@pitt.edu
Rochester, New York
Primary: Andrew Berger
(585) 273-4724
andrew.berger@rochester.edu
Secondary: Nick Vamivakas
(585) 275-2089
nick.vamivakas@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, Photonics, Physics, Engineering, Nano, Quantum, Biophotonics
REU Site: Nano-, Bio-, and Quantum Photonics at University of RochesterAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.