Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sites with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://chemnsfreu.com/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to molson@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Northern Illinois University
REU Site: Integrated Experimental and Computational REU Site at Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
DeKalb, Illinois
Primary: James R. Horn
(815) 753-8654
jrhorn@niu.edu
Secondary: Ralph A. Wheeler
rwheeler5@niu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined computational and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
REU Site: Molecular BiophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: Greg Michalski
(765) 494-3704
gmichals@purdue.edu
Secondary: Guarav Chopra
gchopra@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical chemistry, drug discovery, mass spectrometry, environmental science
NY, New York
Primary: Michael Sponsler
(315) 443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
Secondary: April LePage
(315) 443-4109
amlepage@syr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, materials, theoretical
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Chemistry at Syracuse UniversityAbstract of Award
Syracuse, New York
Primary: Karin Ruhlandt-Senge
(315) 443-1306
kruhland@syr.edu
Secondary: Michael Sponsler
(315) 443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
College Station, Texas
Primary: Holly Gaede
(979) 845-0520
hgaede@mail.chem.tamu.edu
Secondary: Marylin Warren
(979) 845-0520
reu@chem.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, catalysis, computational chemistry, energy, environment, enzymes, green chemistry, materials chemistry,continued below...
Comments: Additional Key Words: mechanism, metal-organic frameworks, metabolism, nanotechnology, polymers, sensing, solar, surface, synthesis
REU Site: Biological, Environmental, and Materials Chemistry Research at Texas A&M UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Secondary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, developmental biology, gene expression, genomics, enzymology, membrane structure, microbiology, molecular biology, phage biology, proteomics
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in BiochemistryAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Texas State University
REU Site: A Chemistry REU on Molecular Innovation and Entrepreneurship (CheMIE)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Cory Holland
(512) 245-6869
ch51639@txstate.edu
Secondary: William Brittain
(512) 245-3308
wb20@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: innovation, collaboration, entrepreneurial, business, industry
REU Site: A Chemistry REU on Molecular Innovation and Entrepreneurship (CheMIE)Abstract of Award
Washington DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Stephen Boyes
(202) 994-5663
sboyes@gwu.edu
Secondary: Adelina Voutchkova-Kostal
(202) 994-6477
avoutchkova@gwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Green Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Sustainability, Science Policy, Organic, Polymer Chemistry, Physical, Analytical, Inorganic, Biochemistry, Medicinal Chemistry, Computational
Advancing Chemistry Research by Integrating Green Chemistry and Science PolicyAbstract of Award
The Pennsylvania State University
Penn State Chemistry REU: Catalysis and Motion
Chemistry
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Squire J. Booker
(814) 865-8793
sjbooker@mac.com
Secondary: Amber Schoenauer
(814) 865-3014
ami5019@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Antibiotic Resistance, Catalysis, Cellular Trafficking, Chemotaxis, Computation, Dynamics, Electron Microscopy, Electrochemistry....see Additional Comments
Comments: Additional Keywords: Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Spectroscopy, Energy, Iron-Sulfur Clusters, Macromolecular Dynamics, Molecular Motors, Mössbauer Spectroscopy, Natural Product Biosynthesis, Net
Penn State Chemistry REU: Catalysis and MotionAbstract of Award
The University of Southern Mississippi
REU Site: Polymer Innovation for a Sustainable Future
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Primary: Anna Patterson
(601) 266-6852
Anna.L.Patterson@usm.edu
Secondary: Prof. Sarah Morgan
sarah.morgan@usm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Design for Recyclability and Degradability; Polymers from Renewable Feedstocks; Enhancing Process Efficiency; Materials for Sustainable Energy
Comments: Interdisciplinary research in materials sustainability with field trips to local industry and national labs.
REU Site: Polymer Innovation for a Sustainable FutureAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Tulane University
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)
Multidisciplinary
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Professor Hank Ashbaugh
(504) 865-5772
sgrayson@tulane.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary program focusing on materials for health, energy and environment applications
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)Abstract of Award
Chapel Hill, Kansas
Primary: Noelle-Erin Romero
(919) 843-9070
nromero@email.unc.edu
Secondary: Gerald Meyer
(919) 962-6320
gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cutting-edge research, state-of-the-art facilities, collaborative environment, career development
Summer Undergraduate Ressearch Opportunity in Chemistry (SUROC)Abstract of Award
Buffalo, New York
Primary: Jason Benedict
(716) 645-4276
jbb6@buffalo.edu
Secondary: Tim Cook
(716) 645-4327
trcook@buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research, Career Development, Industrial, Social media, Chemistry
Chemistry 360 degrees: A Comprehensive Research and Career Development Experience @UBChemistryAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
Encouraging Students in Science
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: David Paul
(479) 575-5190
dpaul@uark.edu
Secondary: Leslie Johnson
(479) 575-7942
ljohnson@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU
Encouraging Students in ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of California, Irvine
UCI Chemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (Chem-SURF)
Department of Chemistry
Irvine, California
Primary: Sergey Nizkorodov
(949) 824-1262
nizkorod@uci.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Types of Chemistry (Analytical,Atmospheric,Computational,Inorganic Nuclear,Organic,Organometallic,Physical,Polymers,Synthetic,Theoretical)
UCI Chemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (Chem-SURF)Abstract of Award
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: Anna Gudmundsdottir
(513) 556-9238
gudmunad@email.uc.edu
Secondary: Ruxandra Dima
(513) 556-3961
Ruxandra.Dima@uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: analytical chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and physical chemistry. Big data and data science and machine learning in chemistry
Chemistry REU Site at the University of CincinnatiAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: José Gascón
(860) 486-0591
jose.gascon@uconn.edu
Secondary: Alfredo Angeles-Bosa
(860) 486-6718
alfredo.angeles-boza@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Inorganic, Organic, Materials, Analytical, Physical, Computational Chemistry
REU Site: Chemistry at the University of ConnecticutAbstract of Award
University of Delaware
Science & Engineering Leadership Initiative
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Newark, Delaware
Primary: Professor Sharon RozovskyPhone
(302) 831-7028
rozovsky@udel.edu
Secondary: Professor Karl S. Booksh
(302) 831-7028
kbooksh@udel.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Disability, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Biology, structural Biology, Biophysics, and Disabilities
Science & Engineering Leadership InitiativeAbstract of Award
University of Florida/Université L. Pasteur, Université Pierre and Marie Curie, Université Paul Saba
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st Century
Chemistry
Strasbourg, Paris, Toulouse, Florida
Primary: Valeria D. Kleiman
(352) 392-4656
reu@chem.ufl.edu
Secondary: Adrian Roitberg
(352) 392-6972
roitberg@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry (all areas), international, France
Comments: Additional Primary Contact Information: Name: Valeria D. Kleiman Email: kleiman@ufl.edu
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Mikhail Barybin
(785) 864-4106
mbarybin@ku.edu
Secondary: David R. Benson
(785) 864-4090
drb@ku.edu
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Advanced Chemical Sensing and Imaging
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Zeev Rosenzweig
(410) 455-2521
zrosenzw@umbc.edu
Secondary: Marcin Ptaszek
(410) 455-2264
mptaszek@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, spectroscopy, imaging
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Advanced Chemical Sensing and ImagingAbstract of Award
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Ruthanne Paradise
(413) 545-7202
curereu@chem.umass.edu
Secondary: Kevin Kittilstved
(413) 545-6096
kittilstved@chem.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Photovoltaics, Biofuels, Fuel Cells
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
University of Michigan REU Site in the Chemical Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Brian P. Coppola
734-764-7329
bcoppola@umich.edu
University of Minnesota
Molecular Interactions Virtual REU
Chemistry
Virtual, Minnesota
Primary: Jarrod French
mivreu@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, biochemistry, molecular interactions, structure-activity relationships, docking, molecular modeling, online, flexible
University of Minnesota
Challenges of the 21st Century
Department of Chemistry
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Nick Erickson
(612) 624-0026
chmlando@umn.edu
Secondary: Steven Kass
(612) 625-7513
kass@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry research, 10 week summer program, open area
Challenges of the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
University of Mississippi
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research Program
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Oxford, Mississippi
Primary: Nathan Hammer
(662) 915-3989
nhammer@olemiss.edu
Secondary: Gregory S. Tschumper
(662) 915-7301
tschumpr@olemiss.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Theory, Spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Energy, Biophysics
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research ProgramAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
(402) 472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
(402) 472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
REU Site: Training in Redox BiologyAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Mark Griep
(402) 472-3429
mgriep1@unl.edu
Secondary: Peta-Gaye Stara-Clachar
(402) 472-4453
pclachar2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: organic radicals, medical imaging agents, protein-DNA interactions, enzyme-assisted organic synthesis, catalytic nanoparticles, and drug-protein interactions
University of North Dakota (UND)
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry (IREC)
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Grand forks, North Dakota
Primary: Alena Kubatova
(701) 777-0348
alena.kubatova@und.edu
Secondary: Frank Bowman
(701) 777-4245
frank.bowman@engr.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Chemistry, Environmental, Biofuels, Biomass, Atmospheric Chemistry
Show 30 items per page.