Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Alabama Tuscaloosa
REU Site: Re-IMAGiNE Life, Exploring Function through Adaptation
Department of Biological Sciences
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Julie Olson
(205) 348-1807
jolson@ua.edu
Secondary: Michael McKain
(205) 348-1826
mrmckain@ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; functional adaptation; changing environments; genomic variation
REU Site: Re-IMAGiNE Life, Exploring Function through AdaptationAbstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Michael Johnson
(520) 626-3779
NSURPorg@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Virtual, Microbiology, Remote, Immunology
REU Site: The National Summer Undergraduate Research Project (NSURP)Abstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Michael Johnson
(520) 626-3779
mdljohnson@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, microbiology, immunology, virtual, remote
Comments: Coordinator: Holly Lopez NSURP@arizona.edu
REU Site: The National Summer Undergraduate Research ProjectAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Microbial Symbioses and Diversity Research Experience at the University of Arizona
School of Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Gayatri Vedantam
(520) 620-6839
gayatri@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, microbiology, microbial symbiosis, bacteria, viruses, environmental microbiology, food microbiology, plant-microbe association, animal microbiome, genetics, biochemistry, microbiome
Comments: Contact: Ms. Allison Sullivan; allisonsullivan@arizona.edu
REU Site: Microbial Symbioses and Diversity Research Experience at the University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle EvansWhite
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, ecosystem services, biogeochemistry, sustainability, resiliency, green chemistry, biological and agricultural engineering, agricultural economics
Comments: Program email contact: ecoreu@uark.edu
REU Site: Assessment and Sustainable Management of Ecosystem Services at the nexus of food, energy, and water systemsAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Indigenous America to Indigenous Mekong (Vietnam and Thailand) - Adventures in Biology and Biodiversity
Department of Biological Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Ruben Ceballos
(479) 575-5643
ceballos@uark.edu
University of California, Davis
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Response to Rapid Environmental Change
Evolution and Ecology
Davis, California
Primary: Richard Grosberg
(530) 219-2468
rkgrosberg@ucdavis.edu
Secondary: Anne Todgham
(530) 752-1897
todgham@ucdavis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Response to Rapid Environmental Change
Comments: Program coordinator: Carole Hom / clhom@ucdavis.edu
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Response to Rapid Environmental ChangeAbstract of Award
University of California, Los Angeles
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for Undergraduates
Institute for Quantitative and Computational Biology
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Hilary Coller
(310) 825-3483
hcoller@ucla.edu
Secondary: Alexander Hoffmann
(310) 794-9925
ahoffmann@ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, quantitative biology, computational biology, next generation sequencing, computer programming, statistics
Comments: Coordinator: Beverlee Turner, baturner@g.ucla.edu
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of California Berkeley
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Gian Garriga
(510) 642-5859
garriga@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Tyrone Hayes
(510) 643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of California Irvine
REU SITE: Summer Institute in Neuroscience
Center for the Neurobiology of Learning and Memory
Irvine, California
Primary: Luis Colon-Perez
(949) 824-3919
lcolonpe@uci.edu
Secondary: Manuella Yassa
(949) 824-5193
manuella.yassa@uci.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, learning and memory, neuroscience, computational biology, neuroimaging, behavioral neuroscience, genetics, epigenetics
REU SITE: Summer Institute in NeuroscienceAbstract of Award
Riverside, California
Primary: Carolyn Rasmussen
(951) 827-4415
carolyn.rasmussen@ucr.edu
Secondary: Thomas Eulgem
(951) 827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
University of California San Francisco
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
(415) 476-4161
cgross@cgl.ucsf.edu
Secondary: Elizabeth Silva
(415) 502-2927
elizabeth.silva@ucsf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular biosciences, immunology, biochemistry, molecular biology, Cell Biology, Genetics, and Genomics
Comments: Contact for student applications: Zachary Smith, zachary.smith@ucsf.edu
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
REU Site: Conservation, Restoration and Communication
Biology
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Linda Walters
(407) 823-2148
linda.walters@ucf.edu
Secondary: Kate Mansfield
(407) 823-4432
kate.mansfield@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biodiversity, conservation, restoration, communication, ecology, evolution, vertebrates, invertebrates, plants, endangered species, invasive species, animal behavior, animal tracking
Comments: UCF REU Coordinator: Darya Farsinejad, email: darya.farsinejad@ucf.edu, phone: 407-823-1797
REU Site: Conservation, Restoration and CommunicationAbstract of Award
Edmond, Oklahoma
Primary: Charlotte Simmons
(405) 974-2538
cksimmons@uco.edu
Secondary: Charles Abramson
(405) 744-7492
charles.abramson@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Behavioral Studies; Biodiversity; Physiological Ecology, and Biological Invasions; Ecosystem Change
Comments: Inquiries: reu@uco.edu
REU Site: Pollinators, Climate Change, and the Aegean ArchipelagoAbstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Chicago
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of Chicago
Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Aaron Turkewitz
(773) 702-4374
apturkew@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Lucia B Rothman-Denes
(773) 702-1083
lbrd@uchicago.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, cell biology, developmental biology, molecular biology, plant biology, host-parasite, prokaryotic biology, computational biology, systems biology
Comments: coordinator: Catherine Will (cwill@bsd.uchicago.edu)
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of ChicagoAbstract of Award
University of Cincinnati
REU Site: Sensory Ecology: An Integrative Approach
Biological Sciences
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: Stephanie Rollmann
(513) 556-9729
stephanie.rollmann@uc.edu
Secondary: John Layne
(513) 556-9718
john.layne@uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biology, animal behavior, behavioral ecology, ecology, evolution, neurobiology, neuroscience, molecular, sensory ecology
REU Site: Sensory Ecology: An Integrative ApproachAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Plankton to Whales: Consequences of Global Change within Marine EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
(860) 486-6169
xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Anastasios Tzingounis
(860) 486-7916
anastasios.tzingounis@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, physiology, developmental neurobiology, respiratory physiology, synaptic plasticity, neural circuits, molecular and cell biology, bioinformatics, computational biology
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONNAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 201-8426
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 201-8449
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behaviorAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Molecular and Synthetic Microbiology
Microbiology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Vincent Starai
(706) 542-5755
vjstarai@uga.edu
Secondary: Timothy Hoover
(706) 542-2675
trhoover@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, microbiology, genomics, biochemistry, marine biology, ecology
Comments: Coordinator: Kimberly Brown; reumibo@uga.edu; 706-542-2045
REU Site: Molecular and Synthetic MicrobiologyAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious Diseases
Odum School of Ecology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: John Drake
(706) 583-5539
jdrake@uga.edu
Secondary: Michael Strand
(706) 583-8237
mrstrand@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, infectious disease, mathematics, ecology, modeling, biostatistics, epidemiology, evolutionary biology, vector biology, parasitology
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious DiseasesAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Secondary: David Logan
(404) 880-6830
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: genomics, computational biology, systems biology
Comments: contact arnold@uga.edu for questions
REU site: Genomics and Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
University of Hawaii
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in DNA-based discoveries in Hawaii's Biodiversity
Microbiology, Biology
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stuart Donachie
(808) 956-5336
donachie@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, genomics, bioinformatics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in DNA-based discoveries in Hawaii's BiodiversityAbstract of Award
Hilo, Hawaii
Primary: Rebecca Ostertag
(808) 932-7573
ostertag@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Noelani Puniwai
(808) 284-2844
npuniwai@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biocultural, conservation, resource management, biology, ecology
Comments: Program Director: Sharon Ziegler-Chong, ziegler@hawaii.edu
REU Site: Kaʻao: Telling the Stories of Hawaiian EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific Islanders
Pacific Biosciences Research Center
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Matthew Medeiros
(808) 956-8187
mcmedeir@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Kiana Frank
(808) 539-7312
klfrank@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Sustainability Science, Microbiome Science, Molecular Ecology, Marine Biology, Natural Resource Management, Community Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Coral Reef Ecology, Fisheries Sciences
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific IslandersAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
REU Site: DNA-Based Discoveries in Hawaii's Biodiversity
Microbiology, Biology
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Peter Marko
(808) 956-6146
pmarko@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, DNA, biodiversity, barcoding, metabarcoding, endemism, environmental DNA, speciation, genomics, bioinformatics, phylogenetics, coral reefs, climate change, invasive species
REU Site: DNA-Based Discoveries in Hawaii's BiodiversityAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College Students
Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Nathan Schroeder
(217) 244-6128
nes@illinois.edu
Secondary: Britt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, evolution, adaptation, environment, genetics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Britt Carlson ccarlson@parkland.edu
REU Site: Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College StudentsAbstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: Andrew Forbes
(319) 335-3006
andrew-forbes@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Maurine Neiman
(319) 384-1814
maurine-neiman@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, evolution, ecology, anthropology, disease, behavior, paleontology, bacteria, entomology, viruses, geography
REU Site: Engaging Undergraduates in Interdisciplinary Evolutionary ScienceAbstract of Award
University of Iowa
REU Site: Microbiology at the University of Iowa
Microbiology & Immunulogy
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Aloysius Klingelhutz
(319) 335-7788
al-klingelhutz@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
REU Site: Microbiology at the University of IowaAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Maine
REU Site: Accelerating New Environmental Workskills (ANEW)
School of Food and Agriculture
Orono, Maine
Primary: Anne Lichtenwalner
(207) 581-2789
anne.lichtenwalner@maine.edu
Secondary: Kristina Cammen
(207) 581-2820
kristina.cammen@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; environmental health; animal health; disease ecology; resource management and economics; environmental policy
REU Site: Accelerating New Environmental Workskills (ANEW)Abstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.